Author Topic: My Corona SSS playground  (Read 35822 times)

2015-12-11, 16:40:02

plopalou

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Hey everyone!

I'm a hobbyist 3D artist working in the mobile game industry. I haven't done any real 3D in almost 3 years I've been mostly involved with realtime mobile game graphics... but now it's time to get back in business. This thread will be mainly for Corona / Max SSS tests etc. Currently I'm using the trial version of Corona and I'm loving every minute of it ;)

Let's start with some test renders with the Eisko head. There is some wonky things happening in some areas because of the geometry and refraction. Also some of the textures are not gamma corrected properly so there might some strange values. The HDR is from sIBL archive. I hope u like it.

The render is straight up raw. No post processing etc. The render time is about 48h because I accidentally left the computer on. :)

edit. swapped thumbnail edit2. swapped thumbnail again. edit3. swapped thumb.
« Last Edit: 2016-04-08, 17:02:16 by plopalou »

2015-12-11, 17:16:38
Reply #1

plopalou

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Some eye shader tests. Definately not 100% physically accurate, but it gets the job done. Also I'm noticing that there is some weirdness going on how to Scattering handles bump maps, but I'm not 100% sure what's wrong with it. Hmm...

2015-12-11, 17:58:01
Reply #2

plopalou

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Sorry for the spam. :) Some few days old test renders of my really really old character dug from the grave... The mesh is basically imported from Zbrush (no proper displacement maps) so it might look kinda blurry. The shader has few mix layers + layer masks.

I've never had the possibility to try out hair rendering because of my wooden computer back home. Corona seems fairly fast rendering hair and I don't need to use shadow maps anymore so I'm quite excited what I can do with it.

« Last Edit: 2015-12-11, 18:11:05 by plopalou »

2015-12-16, 09:16:39