Author Topic: Forest Limit to Visibility when cursor moves away from VFB causing errors  (Read 1109 times)

2017-03-21, 18:36:49

alexyork

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 499
  • Partner at Recent Spaces
    • View Profile
    • RECENT SPACES
Ok so this is a very bad bug, and consistently repeatable, but complicated, and very specific.............

We have a scene with a forest pack pro scattered over a plane, with Limit to Visibility enabled in the Camera tab of the Forest object. The material of the geometry loaded into the forest is a Forest Color. The Tint Override tab of this Forest Color is Enabled, and we have it set to Get Color from Map. In here we load a diffuse map (a simple PNG). It is set to "As texture on Surface".

When we render, if we do not move the cursor AND we keep the cursor on the VFB, everything renders fine, for as many passes as we want. However, as soon as we move the cursor off the VFB and over ANY viewport (NOT any other part of the max UI, JUST viewports), what happens next is strange...

The forest geometry appears to render correctly, as in it doesn't change, however the map that we have in the Override "As Texture on Surface" slot is somehow... wrong. Like the UVW map is wrong/changed and the colours on the forest are completely incorrect. This starts to creep through into the render as the passes resolve.

The issue is solvable by DISABLING "Limit to Visibility" on the Forest object in the Camera tab. However this is going to cause major headache with ram and render speed of course...

So just to summarise, the bug appears to be with Limit to Visibility and Forest Color Tint Override. When LtV is enabled it looks like the UVW (or something else..) for the tint override map is somehow ignored/wrong, and this is all driven when the user moves their cursor off the VFB and onto a viewport.

Latest corona 1.5.2 and latest FPP, max 2016.
Alex York
Partner
RECENT SPACES
recentspaces.com

2017-03-23, 11:23:42
Reply #1

alexyork

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 499
  • Partner at Recent Spaces
    • View Profile
    • RECENT SPACES
Sent a scene for testing.
Alex York
Partner
RECENT SPACES
recentspaces.com

2017-03-23, 12:01:29
Reply #2

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9036
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Sorry for the lack of response, I have it on my todo, and I am sure Ondra too. I can also see the email in my inbox, so we will definitely get to this soon.

2017-03-23, 12:12:44
Reply #3

alexyork

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 499
  • Partner at Recent Spaces
    • View Profile
    • RECENT SPACES
Cheers Marcin ;)

Just FYI I can't re-create this myself in a fresh scene. So I think it might be some weirdness going on with the geometry or the FPP or maps or something that's in the actual scene. Merging it all into a fresh scene carries the problem across as well.
Alex York
Partner
RECENT SPACES
recentspaces.com

2017-03-24, 10:46:23
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9036
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Official answer from Itoo here is that the issue is somehow related to 3ds Max 2016 physical camera and the way Corona and FPP are working together.
We will discuss this with Itoo and see if some improvements are possible.

2017-03-24, 11:12:42
Reply #5

alexyork

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 499
  • Partner at Recent Spaces
    • View Profile
    • RECENT SPACES
Thanks Maru we're looking into the shift lens and if that's causing it.
Alex York
Partner
RECENT SPACES
recentspaces.com

2017-04-26, 14:50:57
Reply #6

alexyork

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 499
  • Partner at Recent Spaces
    • View Profile
    • RECENT SPACES
Just for anyone reading this, the current best workaround is to go to Corona > System > System Settings button > Lock Max during Rendering.

Or, don't use perspective correction, if that's more feasible.

Hope for a proper fix for this, unless it's made it's way out of 1.6?
Alex York
Partner
RECENT SPACES
recentspaces.com