Corona Renderer Forum

General Category => General CG discussion => Topic started by: Alex Abarca on 2016-03-17, 19:10:14

Title: Does phtotoshop have a paper space?
Post by: Alex Abarca on 2016-03-17, 19:10:14
Maybe some of you know what I am talking about. I usually render squared, and bring all my channels into PS, and thats where I decide on my composition...But I hate saving the file just before I crop and save the JPG. Its not really a big deal, but sometimes i F up and saved a cropped PS version.

Title: Re: Does phtotoshop have a paper space?
Post by: Frood on 2016-03-17, 19:23:31
I usually add a "Mask" layer at the very top:

- choose your crop as selection (be sure to have feather value of zero)
- invert selection
- fill with black

then always work with the full resolution. And when it comes to export:

- Ctrl + Click on the "Mask" layer (you get the opacity selection from that layer)
- invert selection
- Edit -> copy merged
- File -> New (this creates a fitting, empty document)
- Paste
- Then save to to web (maybe after change bit depth to 16 or 8)

This sounds complicated but if you know the shortcuts it´s a matter of seconds.

Another option is to work with Photoshops smart objects but I find it cumbersome.

Good Luck

P.S.: This should go to "General CG discussion"
Title: Re: Does phtotoshop have a paper space?
Post by: maru on 2016-03-17, 19:35:16
I am not 100% sure if I understand the question correctly, but if you move the image onto a new layer (just double click on "background" layer), or use smart objects, the cropped image should not be really cropped, you should be able to move it around, or resize the canvas again.
Title: Re: Does phtotoshop have a paper space?
Post by: Frood on 2016-03-17, 19:42:21
You are right, it´s not really cropped when you change the image size until you do a real crop. But the problem is: you cannot anymore just paste your updated content (new rendering/passes etc.), you have to move it around manually. No reasonable work possible like this if it´s more than one layer and one pass.

Good Luck

Title: Re: Does phtotoshop have a paper space?
Post by: fco3d on 2016-03-17, 22:22:15
For what I understand there is a option to not delete when cropping.
I remember using it a few times.
Title: Re: Does phtotoshop have a paper space?
Post by: Juraj Talcik on 2016-03-18, 08:24:31
For what I understand there is a option to not delete when cropping.
I remember using it a few times.

This :- ).

And it does, the concept for 'paper space' in Photoshop is called 'Canvas'. As long as none of your layers are 'backgroud' (as Maru said).