Corona Renderer Forum

General Category => I need help => Topic started by: loocas on 2016-06-16, 14:59:25

Title: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: loocas on 2016-06-16, 14:59:25
Hi,

when I use the 2013 plugins in Max 2014 I'm getting a "Procedure couldn't be found" error on startup.

Is there anything special needed for Max 2014 to get Corona working? I thought Max 2013 and 2014 shared the same SDK version, no?

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: maru on 2016-06-16, 15:13:08
Do you have the official 1.4 installed?
Have you tried using the 2015 files? I do not remember which ones could be swapped...
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: PROH on 2016-06-16, 16:46:32
Hi. For max2014 you shall use the 2013 package. I copy and rename the two files that goes into the plugin folder from 2013 to 2014. This step is not absolutely needed, but I think it makes it easier and avoids mistakes.

Hope it helps
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: loocas on 2016-06-16, 16:50:33
Well, renaming the files does absolutely nothing.

And I'm still getting the start up error.

I used to do this regularly without any issues. Just copy over the dlls and the 2013 plugins and be done with it. But this build is giving me errors.
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: maru on 2016-06-16, 16:54:41
Maybe this build is somehow different? Does it work ok if you use 2013 files in your 2014 Max from the 1.4 version?
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: Frood on 2016-06-16, 17:12:47
And I'm still getting the start up error.

There have been a lot issues like this recently - most if not all were solved by applying all pending windows updates.

Good Luck


Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: loocas on 2016-06-16, 17:15:44
Thank you, but I will be not applying pending windows updates. I'd rather use 3ds Max 8 and Scanline. :)
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: Frood on 2016-06-16, 17:27:31
Thank you, but I will be not applying pending windows updates. I'd rather use 3ds Max 8 and Scanline. :)

If it´s Win7, I have a script residing on a server here to remove those specific "updates" you (really, really) don´t want to have (and hide them in the wu-applet) if necessary. Alternatively you can go through the list of updates manually and check each entry. It has to be some runtime lib update missing and you can ignore the others maybe.

Good Luck

Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: maru on 2016-06-16, 17:32:24
There have been a lot issues like this recently - most if not all were solved by applying all pending windows updates.
There have been a lot of "error code 126 module not found" (https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000650509) vs "127 procedure not found" (https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000658064-error-loading-plug-in-dll-error-code-127-procedure-not-found) here. The first one means that some shit is fucked, while the latter means that some shit is mixed up.
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: PROH on 2016-06-16, 17:58:34
You didn't tell if you did install v1,4 before updating with 1,5 daily builds? If not then:

- first use the 1,4 installer to uninstall all
- check if any 2013 are left in the plugin folder (that why I rename them)
- use the 1,4 installer to install v1,4
- open Max and run corona
- close Max and install manually v1,5 daily

Does it work now?
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: loocas on 2016-06-16, 18:03:23
I did install (deployment copied) 1.4 which works without issues.

The VC redistributables are all installed.

I have a custom plugin structure and I only load what I need, so I don't need to uninstall anything. So far, everything has worked without issues.

copying over the 1.5 daily builds doesn't work, I end up with this exact error.
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: PROH on 2016-06-16, 19:15:42
If you doesn't rename the files for the plugin folder, then you're not "copying over". And then you got a mix-error.
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: loocas on 2016-06-16, 22:22:13
If you doesn't rename the files for the plugin folder, then you're not "copying over". And then you got a mix-error.

I keep the DLLs and the plugin files in separate (versioned) directories which I source on startup. This setup has always worked. Doesn't work now.
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: Ondra on 2016-06-20, 13:49:06
I did install (deployment copied) 1.4 which works without issues.

The VC redistributables are all installed.

I have a custom plugin structure and I only load what I need, so I don't need to uninstall anything. So far, everything has worked without issues.

copying over the 1.5 daily builds doesn't work, I end up with this exact error.

if 1.4 works, then it is a mismatch between Corona_Release or CoronaLib_release and Corona201x.dlr/dlt; doublecheck that. 2013 plugins can still be loaded into max 2014 and we did not change any CRT/windows components dependencies after 1.4.
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: loocas on 2016-06-20, 16:19:22
So, what am I supposed to do?

I downloaded the daily build. Copied the 2013 plugins to my custom folder structure for Max, the DLLs that came with the daily build into my DLL repo, where other Corona DLLs reside as well and overwrote those with the same name.

That's it. But then I get this error.

1.4, I installed the very same way and works absolutely fine without any issues.
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: Ondra on 2016-06-20, 17:29:54
Did you delete the Corona2014.dlr and CoronaUtils2014 from the /plugins/ folder? And made sure there were only 2013 versions?
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: loocas on 2016-06-20, 19:36:59
Did you delete the Corona2014.dlr and CoronaUtils2014 from the /plugins/ folder? And made sure there were only 2013 versions?

I don't even source the 3ds max plugins folder at startup. I only use my own custom paths.
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: Ondra on 2016-06-20, 19:38:52
well still, same thing applies - the error message is from Corona2014.dlr, there should be no such file if you install the daily build correctly
Title: Re: Daily build from 2016-06-12 - no Max 2014 version?
Post by: loocas on 2016-06-20, 19:44:30
well still, same thing applies - the error message is from Corona2014.dlr, there should be no such file if you install the daily build correctly

The name of the plugin in my error picture should be irrelevant. I tried renaming it as suggested by someone here (I doubted you'd reference the assembly by a name, that doesn't make much sense, but still, what if? :) ).