Corona Renderer Forum

General Category => I need help => Topic started by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-11, 18:24:04

Title: [solved] dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-11, 18:24:04
hello, I try to update corona 3 (hotfix1) on my slave to use the DR ... after the setting, I can not find the icon of the DR server, in my taskbar it disappeared and I can not find installation location ...
could you help me?
thank you.
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: TomG on 2019-03-11, 18:34:19
Did you choose Custom, and ensure that DR Server was checked? It will also show you there what the installation path is.

(by default it should be "C:\Program Files\Corona\DR Server")
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-11, 18:41:46
yep... no I didn't remember about custom... Thank you TomG, I'll try.
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-11, 18:48:14
I just try again. I am encountering a problem.
(see the picture)
I just restart the computer, I restart the .exe installation in custom mode, no other program has been started ....
I do not understand.
Thank you again for your help.
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-11, 18:54:34
if I try the .exe again, here is what appears.
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-11, 18:56:14
and if I turn on the DrServer.exe in the folder.
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-12, 07:15:52
can someone help me please?
tahnk you
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Frood on 2019-03-12, 12:06:34
It's obvious that you have a running drserver.exe (plus 3dsmax.exe instance) after a reboot. Do you have it placed in some autostart folder? Or have you installed drserver as service previously? You would be able to find the running drserver.exe in taskmanger at the "Processes" ("Processus") tab.

Additionally: Have a look into your %ProgramFiles%\Corona directory. Is there still a drserver.exe in it? Or just one in the sub directory "DR Server"?


Good Luck



Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-12, 17:16:18
hello, thank you for your help.
there is actually DrServie.exe in the required tab. even when I dismiss it, it comes back automatically.
and actually yesterday following the poorly done update (I had not used 'custom') while searching on the internet I found this:

https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000007896-how-to-run-dr-server-and-licensing-server-as-services

so I installed drserver as service
is this a good thing? should i uninstall it? If yes, how?

there is a DrServer.exe file only in the "DR Server" directory

thank you.
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: maru on 2019-03-12, 18:08:28
To uninstall DR server and/or licensing server services, just run the adequate bat files: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000007896
To fix DR, you will most probably have to set up inbound/outbound rules: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000050816
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-12, 18:26:15
It works!
 I uninstall DrSrver service ...
 ... thank you very much!!
:)
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Frood on 2019-03-13, 08:56:54
I uninstall DrSrver service ...

You would not need to uninstall the service itself when updating: Just stop the service (Computer Management -> Services and Applications > Services), run the installer and start it again (happens automatically at a reboot too).


Good Luck



Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-13, 17:06:45
ok, thank you Frood!
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: maru on 2019-03-14, 15:50:51
So everything is fine now after uninstalling the DR server service?
Title: Re: dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Yanosh HRDY on 2019-03-14, 16:02:54
yes.. it works well...
Title: Re: [solved] dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: zules on 2019-03-21, 12:02:27
Well, i've got the same pb here.... very weird.

After updating Corona on v3 hf1 on my WS on W10, no pb, but when updating the other one on W7, same error as Yanosh and I got it working.
BUT, the DR is still in v3 and not tne v3 hotfix 1... even when executing the DRserver.exe from the folder, it stays under v3....

Any idea ?

Thx
Title: Re: [solved] dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Frood on 2019-03-21, 16:38:32
After updating Corona on v3 hf1 on my WS on W10, no pb, but when updating the other one on W7, same error as Yanosh and I got it working.

Don't quite get it. You updated from v2 to v3.1? And you are running DrServer as windows service?


Good Luck


Title: Re: [solved] dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: zules on 2019-03-25, 15:47:54
Nope, from v3 to v3 hf1, and I uninstalled the windows service but didnt change nothing...
Title: Re: [solved] dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Frood on 2019-03-26, 08:29:02
So you run the installer for 3.1, you get no errors (any more) and as a result you have DrServer v. 3.0 and not v.3.1?


Good Luck



Title: Re: [solved] dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: zules on 2019-03-26, 14:13:10
Yes exactly...!
Title: Re: [solved] dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: Frood on 2019-03-26, 14:43:41
The installer skips stuff as you see. I would do now:

1. Uninstall (additionally you may manually delete the %programfiles%\Corona directory)
2. Install again.


Good Luck



Title: Re: [solved] dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: zules on 2019-03-26, 16:57:49
've got this now...
Title: Re: [solved] dr sever missing after UPDATE
Post by: zules on 2019-03-26, 17:07:00
Ok weel, i've done a "kill 'm all" inside the temp folder, erasing dll, exe files & services from windows panel... it works now !

Thanks !!