Author Topic: Altus (Innobright tech) denoising tests by Vlado @ chaosforum  (Read 18171 times)

2015-10-31, 02:31:51

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3435
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Anyone checking on this ? I am absolutely impressed.

http://forums.chaosgroup.com/showthread.php?84980-Altus-denoiser/page6

1 min render (need two of them)



1 minute Altus pass and voila




LeLe's test. 30 second render, 18 second Altus pass:





Another Vlado's scene:










« Last Edit: 2015-10-31, 02:45:35 by Juraj_Talcik »
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik    My Behance portfolio
lysfaere.com   Something new

2015-10-31, 03:48:22
Reply #1

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 452
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
I saw Vlado doing some test last Wednesday, amazing stuff! I just love when Lele joins the threads :)
I feel the renders get that painterly feel, wonder if that ever goes away.
« Last Edit: 2015-10-31, 03:56:32 by dubcat »
             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 / https://dubcatshideout.com  ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

2015-10-31, 04:08:33
Reply #2

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3435
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I feel the renders get that painterly feel, wonder if that ever goes away.

95 perc. of those renders in thread have less than few passes or 2 AA subdivs. Literally zero information to hold on, the fact they can still get something out it, and in this type of quality is pretty bomb.

Also wonder if the altus is somehow adjustable, if it needs to do 100perc. denoising all the time, which can look a bit unnatural even with perfectly preserved AA.

I find the artifacts less severe than even the slightest denoise in Photoshop (which does shit anyway, since denoising noise only creates blurred noise..."wonderful" look)


talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik    My Behance portfolio
lysfaere.com   Something new

2015-10-31, 04:16:01
Reply #3

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 452
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
I find the artifacts less severe than even the slightest denoise in Photoshop
I'm with you all the way :)
             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 / https://dubcatshideout.com  ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

2015-10-31, 09:34:45
Reply #4

Paul Jones

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
To have that kind of technology built in would be fantastic

2015-10-31, 09:45:21
Reply #5

atelieryork

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
    • Atelier York
Impressive stuff.
Alex York
Atelier York
www.atelieryork.co.uk
max 2016 sp1, corona 1.3 final, win 8.1. pro

2015-10-31, 12:42:49
Reply #6

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5514
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Nice. Someone should do a proper test in at least 4K resolution, with detailed textures and compare it with normal rendering. Nevertheless, for animations it should be a bomb.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
R.I.P. Niki Lauda

2015-10-31, 17:42:07
Reply #7

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
The software is already out, and it supports Corona, so someone should give it a try http://www.innobright.com/

2015-10-31, 17:54:20
Reply #8

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1490
    • View Profile

2015-10-31, 19:57:29
Reply #9

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1437
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
I'd love to test this thing. I registered and tried to log in via several different browsers but I just doesn't work here - bummer.
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2015-10-31, 19:59:14
Reply #10

Paul Jones

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Downloaded here, will give it a go later

2015-10-31, 20:36:39
Reply #11

denisgo22

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 669
    • View Profile
Whats Render elements i need from Corona for this?

Albedo
Beauty
World Position

Its clear

But What is this?:
VIS
NOR - what kind of normal map?
CAU Caustic -where is it in Elements?


2015-10-31, 20:47:05
Reply #12

Paul Jones

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
The required AOVs are as follows:
RGB: This is the beauty render
ALB: This is an albedo AOV, unshaded texture AOV
VIS: This is the visibility of the geometry to the lights, a suitable AOV for this would be a
shadow AOV
NOR: Forward Facing Normals with bump map preservation
POS: World Position
CAU: Caustics AOV

from the pdf. Not sure how we get the caustics

2015-10-31, 21:00:46
Reply #13

denisgo22

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 669
    • View Profile
Ok
Yes, I also read the PDF
But how exactly this called in Corona Render Elements?
« Last Edit: 2015-10-31, 21:05:21 by denisgo22 »

2015-10-31, 21:08:24
Reply #14

twcg

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Just did a small test:

Just 4 passes
GI/AA: 24
MSI: 10
You need to unlock the sampling pattern
Elemtents: Beauty, CGeometry_NormalsShading, CShading_SourceColor (Albedo?!), CShading_Shadows (VIS?!)
(Not 100% sure if these are the best passes for the AOVs)

Rendertime: 1:40 min per image
Filtering Time: 43Sec

Edit: tried to process a 4960x3508 Image, but there is not enough ram on my gtx 970 und the CPU-Mode does not work for me...
« Last Edit: 2015-10-31, 21:12:00 by tobiasweisercg »