Author Topic: 3DS MAX 1017: new UI (new icons, again?!) and new "ART" renderer engine...  (Read 18142 times)

2016-03-29, 17:34:46

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1490
    • View Profile
Hello,

--- LINK ---

--- ART RENDERER ---


iray is now a rental only plugin.
looks like mental ray is an 'optional rendrer' for installing
ART renderer seem to be the new default renderer (path tracing, "similar" to Corona).

- offset controllers
- some UV color modifiers
- a lot of new tools in curve editor + buffer curves
- camera sequencer
- physical material
- multitile map
- Local Aligned coordinate system - local coord sys for subobjects. Finaly, vertices and edges have their local coordinate systems.
- Scene converter - converts scenes to ART renderer.
- viewport navigation: Orbit point of interest / Orbit subobject
- mirror tool now has geometry mode - adds geometry modifier
- slate mateditor now can pick mats from legacy editor sample slots via RMB

 UV editor:
-UV paint movement
-flatten by material id
-flatten by smoothing groups















« Last Edit: 2016-03-29, 18:23:14 by cecofuli »

2016-03-29, 18:56:26
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5514
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I don't like those silly coloured icons. Will wait for official anouncement to make my mind on new features, though.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
R.I.P. Niki Lauda

2016-03-29, 19:46:57
Reply #2

guest_guest

  • Guest
only 3dsmax 2013 ... pure!! modern!! stable!!

in above image ... 23 min for rendering an simple cube with simple sky?? that's a joke xD (Modern scanline renderer?!?)
« Last Edit: 2016-03-29, 21:28:40 by guest_guest »

2016-03-30, 01:00:02
Reply #3

jaco graaff

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
The Noise-filter in the render dialogue looks interesting - I would like to try it on animation and see what it does. _ I did some previews of a file I am currently working on - did 1 minute low-sample render and the noise-filter did a good job cleaning it up.

I know we are getting a noise filter for corona in the up-coming version. I downloaded the latest nightly build but not yet in. Can't wait to see what your filter does.

Personally I am again disappointed by this release - there are new features but in my view not enough for a year's work and the cost. I would love to see them adding more modelling, sculpting (as much as Maya at least) etc..

One plus is my test-file saved so much faster. My files sometimes starts to get slow when saving (without adding significant data) and I then have to merge back in to new file.
 

2016-03-30, 01:27:14
Reply #4

Sintel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Corona 1.3 cannot be installed for 3ds Max 2017

2016-03-30, 01:28:46
Reply #5

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1490
    • View Profile
There isn't any Corona version for Max 2017...

2016-03-30, 01:44:32
Reply #6

Sintel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
I know but Corona 1.0 can be installed for 3ds Max 2016 by checking 'Just unpack' option although 3ds Max 2016 was released later. I also know 3ds Max 2015 and 2016 can share almost plugin, like 2013 and 2014 did. Just hope Corona 1.4 will support 3ds Max 2017 be cause it will be released soon :))

2016-03-30, 09:01:07
Reply #7

tomislavn

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 693
  • Lightbringer
    • View Profile
    • My 3docean Portolio
Corona 1.4 should be released in 2 days (if nothing changed?) so we will know quite soon :) Probably it won't support Max 2017. just yet, but I might be wrong.
My 3d stock portfolio - http://3docean.net/user/tomislavn

2016-03-30, 09:32:07
Reply #8

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1226
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
One plus is my test-file saved so much faster.

Maybe because file compression has always been off by default and you have it usually activated?
(Preference Settings -> Files -> Compress on Save)

Good Luck


Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2016-03-30, 11:09:16
Reply #9

shadowman

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
There isn't any Corona version for Max 2017...

As Ondra already mentoined:
there is already 2017 daily build posted at the AD beta forums

2016-03-30, 12:32:55
Reply #10

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8663
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Why quality is expressed in Decibels for the ART renderer? Is it running on sound card?

Those icons look horrible. I hope it will be easy to get used to them...

Corona 1.4 should be released in 2 days (if nothing changed?) so we will know quite soon :) Probably it won't support Max 2017. just yet, but I might be wrong.
https://trello.com/b/EfPE4kPx/corona-road-map-3ds-max


2016-03-30, 12:37:18
Reply #11

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5514
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
So april 1st release date was april fools day's joke after all, or... postponed release date is a joke. I got confused :]

Why quality is expressed in Decibels for the ART renderer? Is it running on sound card?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Signal-to-noise_ratio
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
R.I.P. Niki Lauda

2016-03-30, 12:40:44
Reply #12

tomislavn

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 693
  • Lightbringer
    • View Profile
    • My 3docean Portolio
So april 1st release date was april fools day's joke after all, or... postponed release date is a joke. I got confused :]

Guess we got fooled :P But daaaamn, 1 month on top of the first date seems like there is quite some work left to be done before the release.
My 3d stock portfolio - http://3docean.net/user/tomislavn

2016-03-30, 14:05:58
Reply #13

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8858
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
We have 90% of the work done. We only need to do the other 90% and we can release ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-03-30, 14:29:04
Reply #14

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1437
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
So the yearly pre-release-something-has-leaked shitstorm is already rolling in all cg forums :)
As much as I like to read all the comments I'd suggest to wait until the full list of features has been released (You know, there's more substance in every rage posting if you have actually tested stuff yourself :D ).

I like my max 2014 :) Best release for years (..to come?)
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2016-03-30, 15:17:26
Reply #15

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8858
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
you cannot say just 2014, you need to add the SP version you are using in this release ;). If I remember correctly, 2014 was the "choose the least objectionable bug" when it came to service packs ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-03-30, 15:34:57
Reply #16

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5514
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
you cannot say just 2014, you need to add the SP version you are using in this release ;). If I remember correctly, 2014 was the "choose the least objectionable bug" when it came to service packs ;)

Isn't the same with max 2016? :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
R.I.P. Niki Lauda

2016-03-30, 15:49:41
Reply #17

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1437
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
you cannot say just 2014, you need to add the SP version you are using in this release ;). If I remember correctly, 2014 was the "choose the least objectionable bug" when it came to service packs ;)

That's fair. It's the "Ok, this should have been the release version" SP :) The last one (shortly before the 2015 release :D ).

Isn't the same with max 2016? :]

It's the same with every release of max :D At some point, 8 or 9 months after the initial release you can have a look if the last service pack now made it usable :)
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2016-03-30, 16:00:08
Reply #18

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8858
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
you cannot say just 2014, you need to add the SP version you are using in this release ;). If I remember correctly, 2014 was the "choose the least objectionable bug" when it came to service packs ;)

Isn't the same with max 2016? :]
2016 for me is just that one bug - crashes in viewport that are masked so user does not see them. But developers see them and it fucks up any debugging :/
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-03-30, 16:01:04
Reply #19

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8858
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
you cannot say just 2014, you need to add the SP version you are using in this release ;). If I remember correctly, 2014 was the "choose the least objectionable bug" when it came to service packs ;)

That's fair. It's the "Ok, this should have been the release version" SP :) The last one (shortly before the 2015 release :D ).


Afaik the last one is "Now backburner does not work properly" ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-03-30, 16:03:37
Reply #20

fellazb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 272
    • View Profile
Yea, crazy to see how many people (I think) stick to the old stable releases. I work with MAX (design) 2014 and for me it's the most stable version with external plugins I ever worked with (including SP's of course :) )

People forcing to pay yearly subscription, otherwise losing the "great amount of discount" is such a thread (not to mention the crazy currency strategy). Every time when subscription paying time kicks in I'm thinking of leaving it behind and work with my last paid version and perhaps get a new license after 5 years or so, but it's becoming too much of a gamble nowadays...

Looking forward to the 2017 release though :)

2016-03-30, 16:14:40
Reply #21

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1437
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
Afaik the last one is "Now backburner does not work properly" ;)

Backburner itself never worked properly - so there is not really much they could have screwed up :) . We're using Deadline (and every other sane person I know). If you render a couple of thousand frames a month it pays off quickly - especially since the bills for hospitals and broken furniture went down dramatically :)
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2016-03-30, 19:59:36
Reply #22

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
Why do I feel  Autodesk is killing Max  slowly even If it's used by a lot of companies and artists?
I feel like seeing an extension more than a complete new release, Maybe I'm wrong but reading comments in their forum like  a liquid sim (I guess Naida or something) will be implemented in Maya rather than Max and lot of people were hoping uselessly... The new UI reminds me of Microsoft and their win10 compared to win7 :/.

Anyway let's wait and see if they are hiding something we don't know that deserves our attention, because seriously I'm not impressed !

« Last Edit: 2016-03-30, 20:05:12 by Chakib »

2016-03-30, 20:13:37
Reply #23

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3435
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
The new UI reminds me of Microsoft and their win10

What :- D Windows10 might be the very best looking UI existing right now. If only Autodesk adopted some of those (flat design) principles when designing those icons, it wouldn't resemble something from WindowsXP era (which Win7 users apparently must be in love). Holy colors&gradients...

I do hope it really is 4k-ready/High PPI displays though at least.

I am very intrigued how the Physical material looks. Maybe if it's good implementation, there would be no need for dedicated CoronaPBR shader, we could just adopt that one. But the guy who made screenshot didn't bothered to click on the actual shader so we instead got to see the multi-tile...
Can anyone make screenshot of it please ?

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik    My Behance portfolio
lysfaere.com   Something new

2016-03-30, 20:38:07
Reply #24

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
What :- D Windows10 might be the very best looking UI existing right now. If only Autodesk adopted some of those (flat design) principles when designing those icons, it wouldn't resemble something from WindowsXP era (which Win7 users apparently must be in love). Holy colors&gradients...

I do hope it really is 4k-ready/High PPI displays though at least.

I am very intrigued how the Physical material looks. Maybe if it's good implementation, there would be no need for dedicated CoronaPBR shader, we could just adopt that one. But the guy who made screenshot didn't bothered to click on the actual shader so we instead got to see the multi-tile...
Can anyone make screenshot of it please ?

When I say win10 I know the UI is nice yes, but they forgot about stability when it was first released compared to win7 or even win8.1 ( I know that one is updated lol ), I've tried it and I was amazed by the dark style buttons  etc but after a single day total mess was happening to my softwares etc and lot of people was like going back to win7, So for me UI was like a new "fancy UI change" and that's it... I just don't want it to crash max even more  than being  beautiful that's just my two cents :D

Hope to see it released this week so I can test it and remove that fear :D


2016-03-30, 20:55:48
Reply #25

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3435
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Ah you meant stability. Always clean install :- ).

I too wonder how the claims of instability after any customization attempt of 2017 UI are exaggerated, hopefully it's not that bad.

It's going to be released so early this year ?
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik    My Behance portfolio
lysfaere.com   Something new

2016-03-30, 21:06:27
Reply #26

Paul Jones

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Trust me they've  put a lot of work into the UI, and yes the main reason is for 4K monitors etc. IIRC the icons are available somewhere in an AI file format so scaling should no longer be an issue.
Not sure of the reasons for the art renderer, I think it's time adesk just stuck with one thing and developed it. But you can now buy iray and mr so read into that what you will.


2016-03-30, 22:50:54
Reply #27

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 963
    • View Profile
No matter how cool or great ART is. If mr isn't free, but an add on to buy, then this could be a serious workflow/collaboration killer - directly against all the effort AD made the last 6 years.

There must be serious reasons for screwing costumers that way....l

2016-03-31, 00:06:04
Reply #28

Paul Jones

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
I think MR is actually included with 2017, but noticed on the mr/iray websites they are available for purchase which seems odd.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/iray-for-3ds-max.html
Mental ray is now installed separately (as a sub-component). so my mistake there.

2016-03-31, 08:33:59
Reply #29

tomislavn

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 693
  • Lightbringer
    • View Profile
    • My 3docean Portolio
Am I the only one that is kinda looking forward to that new UI / icons? :D

I was totally in love with Maya 2016 UI and so sad when I noticed that my Max 2016 didn't get the same update.

Other then that - I have a feeling they will occasionally merge Max and Maya to create one single 3D package - probably by "killing" off Max on the way.

I would be so sad if that happens since I have tried to use Maya so many times but because of it's workflow I would always come back to Max (it just wouldn't feel right after using Max since version 4..)
My 3d stock portfolio - http://3docean.net/user/tomislavn

2016-03-31, 13:27:06
Reply #30

chopmeister

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • Polymachine
Why quality is expressed in Decibels for the ART renderer? Is it running on sound card?

Those icons look horrible. I hope it will be easy to get used to them...


My guess would be because noise is often expressed in dB given that it's nothing more than a ratio between two values, and the quality parameter in ART is obviously on a logarithmic scale then.

On another subject, I don't get all the people talking about killing off max - exact same stuff always being said with every new max version. Max has the second largest user base out of all ADSK products after AutoCAD. According to people from Autodesk I talked to, and some other industry insiders, the ratio of Max to Maya users is anywhere between 4:1 and 8:1 depending on who you're talking to. Financially, and in which ever other way you put it, it would make zero sense to kill max. I'll wait until I get to test the release before I judge how much/little effort ADSK put into this one. :)




2016-03-31, 13:38:23
Reply #31

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1437
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
According to people from Autodesk I talked to, and some other industry insiders, the ratio of Max to Maya users is anywhere between 4:1 and 8:1 depending on who you're talking to.
Last thing I heard was 10:1 , but I think that's not making too much difference then :D . As long as max generates enough profit there is no logic reason to make it eol. Softimage was a different case - even with all those licenses sold before AD bought it. Autodesk is a stock market company, the stuff that's making the least amount of profit (not even talking about none) is dropped. CEOs then will be able to hold a great speech about maximizing efficiency this year and stock value goes up. Big corporations do that all the time - buy stuff, see what works, drop the products that do not contribute much to the profit.
The mere idea about integrating max into maya is so far off that I could not possible list all the reasons why this will never happen.
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2016-04-03, 18:43:47
Reply #32

SairesArt

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 657
  • Pizza | The Cheesen One
    • View Profile
    • SairesArt Portfolio
When I say win10 I know the UI is nice yes, but they forgot about stability when it was first released compared to win7 or even win8.1 ( I know that one is updated lol ), I've tried it and I was amazed by the dark style buttons  etc but after a single day total mess was happening to my softwares etc and lot of people was like going back to win7, So for me UI was like a new "fancy UI change" and that's it... I just don't want it to crash max even more  than being  beautiful that's just my two cents :D

Hope to see it released this week so I can test it and remove that fear :D
Switched to Win10 three days ago. Can't complain to be honest. The big issue is updates, that you have to kill through gpedit. Microsoft removed they ability for the average user to turn off updates, since now every thing is integrated through that service. Driver updates, programm patches, downloading prerequisites. Actually a nice feature, Windows autodetects whether the code calls for visual studio 2014 or .net framework 3.5 etc. and auto installs it.

If you do programming however, this is horrible horrible stuff. Installed a beta driver? Well fuck you we didnt sign it, lets revert everything you did back next time you restart because fuck you.

I came to the habit of a small windows setup routine since win7 and have a script for that, turning off superfetch, the whole prefetch subsystem, killing NTFS index and associated win search functions, updating once killing win updates, moving all cache functions and pagefile, mklink for swapfile to 2nd HDD, removing the whole app subsystem since win8 and now removing all cortana and xbox integration.

All that makes me a really happy Windows user.

Why do I feel  Autodesk is killing Max slowly even If it's used by a lot of companies and artists?
All IMO:
During the time when nCloth finished deving Autodesk may have put so much work into creating an integrated solution for all simulation needs, that it made it impossible to port it to a now very old programm architecture, that prides itself with year long compatibility and thus much much community side development of scripts, workflow enchancments, etc.
From their talks at cons I got the impression they want a magic do it all 3D package, which is why all the nHair, nCloth stuff was pushed so hard. So there is no justifiable reason to push development on an older plattform, that could never properly support it, what their vision is, which is why Softimage had to die.

Supporting Max from that standpoint makes zero sense, so the logical step is to kill it. But that's when reality hit Autodesk I believe, seeing the backlash after Softimage died, canceled the plan for a unified system and instead now they are being developed side by side again.

Which would explain the lackluster and down right aweful 2015, 2016 updates, which didnt bring anything new, but problems and shitty photoshop filters. So now, with the Art renderer there is a first new step, a first real feature and not a update "to not give the impression of intimidate death"

2016-04-14, 22:51:48
Reply #33

blank...

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
- Is layer manager now usable?
- Is zoom fixed?
- Is auto window / crossing selection fixed?

2016-04-21, 08:48:08
Reply #34

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5514
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Does anybody tried asset library yet? Is it any useful?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
R.I.P. Niki Lauda

2016-04-21, 13:27:19
Reply #35

Jann

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
So far I've only installed the trial on a small 10.6' tablet and can report that interface scales properly with Windows scaling.
So finally high resolution monitors or notebooks should be fine to work on :)

2016-04-21, 14:36:22
Reply #36

chopmeister

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • Polymachine
Installed the trial yesterday. It looks nice, but it somehow feels weird :D I gotta get used to it I think. Viewport performance seems very good, and the new UVW unwrapper is a dozen times faster. I did encounter something which seems like a memory leak, but I have to do some more testing to confirm.