Author Topic: Vray 3.0 open beta  (Read 23734 times)

2013-09-04, 10:14:52

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8796
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
http://www.v-ray.com/

Who may participate in the V-Ray 3.0 for 3ds Max beta?
The beta is open to licensed users of V-Ray for 3ds Max.

2013-09-04, 10:48:22
Reply #1

tavisual

  • Guest
I sent the request right now ;)

2013-09-04, 11:26:47
Reply #2

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
Meeeeh, already decided not to buy another upgrade.
They want 250 Euros now for 1 RENDERNODE LICENSE. It used to be free but isn't anymore. Way to pricey for me. No DR anymore, no network rendering anymore? No money from me anymore.
(yeah... i know... you could argue that this is standard with other engines and that this is normal for xyz and blabla softwares but I bought a vray lic with unlimited free rendernodes and now, when upgrading, i loose this feature)
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-09-04, 11:52:45
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8884
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
do they have some # of rendernodes included in the workstation licence for free?
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-09-04, 12:05:37
Reply #4

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
1

Quote
Unified Licensing
In V-Ray 3.0 the User license and Render Nodes are licensed separately. This allows for unified licensing across applications and reduces the cost for individual User licenses. The new price of V-Ray 3.0 for 3ds Max User license + 1 V-Ray 3.0 Render Node is $1050/ €750. Single V-Ray Render Nodes 3.0 cost $350 /€250.
http://vray.info/news/article.asp?ID=557
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-09-04, 12:41:18
Reply #5

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8884
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-09-04, 13:50:00
Reply #6

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
There's actually a lot more bullshit in there than I thought.
Quote
"V-Ray 2.x licenses will remain active for a 6-month grace period from the date of upgrade to V-Ray 3.0.
A special V-Ray 2.4 build will be available to provide compatibility with V-Ray 3.0 licenses."
Which sounds like it will not be possible to render "unlimited" with 2.4 either if you're going to update.

But anyways, still enough vray fanboys to just blindly buy it.

Feeling spoofed the second time by chaosgroup (2.0 upgrade was nonsense too) but I'm happy because it's a good thing for Corona.
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-09-04, 17:10:27
Reply #7

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
1 license per node...what a joke !

this is like the shit cloud thing of Adobe CC, customers were so damn angry :D

2013-09-04, 17:19:50
Reply #8

tavisual

  • Guest
This is a good news for Corona :) not for vray users, this pissed me off a lot. I don't kow if I'm gonna update it honestly..
How can you pretend something like that especially in a critical moment like that?

It's a good way to lose customers ;)

2013-09-04, 23:11:37
Reply #9

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3534
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Actually it's not that absurd, and hardly overpriced. Upgrade option provides pretty cheap price for nodes.
It's simply moving more into Entertainment market with studios that can easily afford this, and will compete with Arnold and so-likes, which have pretty much the same price politics on nodes. It's nothing new.

It's decent update imho, way more that I expected, but not that miraculous. Definitely plan on upgrade, as currently Corona and Vray compliments themselves well in our production.

1 license per node...what a joke !

this is like the shit cloud thing of Adobe CC, customers were so damn angry :D

Except that for most part, CC deal is pretty damn good. And while there won't be future CS continuation, current CS version will continue to exist and be possible to buy. Vocal groups were angry but world continues to turn. Due to discount from Behance, we run full cloud (every single Adobe app plus shit ton of bonuses) for 30 euros per month already including 10euros for ProSite. That's uber cheap compared to if I wanted to buy CS6.0 PS/AE/Premiere.
« Last Edit: 2013-09-04, 23:16:46 by Juraj_Talcik »
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2013-09-05, 00:12:10
Reply #10

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
Ok, wait... for an upgrade of a single User License and 6 universal Render Nodes, it would be $700.  An upgrade to 2 User Licenses and 22 universal Render Nodes would be around $1960.

2013-09-05, 01:06:00
Reply #11

Stan_Booth

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 525
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/archdizs

2013-09-05, 01:18:24
Reply #12

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
If you look better, the price isn't so high. VRay is very powerful renderer, complex. I used VRay 10 years and I only pay 2 times. For a small business, 6 nodes is ok. If you have 11 nodes, your business is not so little and you can pay 1300 euro for this license/nodes.

2013-09-05, 11:10:32
Reply #13

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
Hm.... I'm not sure what this actually means but Vlado wrote this in the chaosgroup forums vray 3.0 beta thread

Quote
I'll put it this way (and it's painful to have to say it): we are not in a position to be able support free unlimited rendering in any form or shape anymore after the release of 3.0

Best regards,
Vlado
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-09-05, 11:45:48
Reply #14

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8796
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2013-09-05, 12:28:57
Reply #15

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3534
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Hm.... I'm not sure what this actually means but Vlado wrote this in the chaosgroup forums vray 3.0 beta thread

Quote
I'll put it this way (and it's painful to have to say it): we are not in a position to be able support free unlimited rendering in any form or shape anymore after the release of 3.0

Best regards,
Vlado

Maybe this might have something to do with commercial render-farms ? Or some pretty big studios abusing the licence model ? Just wild guess.

Anyway, it's very decent price for enthusiasts, and for professional studios, who really use upward of 10+ nodes, the price is good too. Hell, single picture will buy you 10+ nodes.
If someone should burn for price licencing, it's AutoDesk...

On professional entertainment level, they will compete with Arnold, which doesn't even differentiate between workstation/node model. And it costs way bit more, it's just that Vray enthuasiast users were spoiled by their overly generous past politics. It's hard to change without angering previous customers but I am pretty sure they know what they're doing.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2013-09-05, 13:15:51
Reply #16

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
it's just that Vray enthuasiast users were spoiled by their overly generous past politics. It's hard to change without angering previous customers but I am pretty sure they know what they're doing.

Yes, that's pretty much the point. I've bought a private license for home use and I was accustomed to using it with my old machines - which I can't do anymore now - it would cost me another 500 euro to do it again (which is a bit over the top for my budget). I'm pretty sure they knew exactly that the price change would anger a lot of people but hey.. let's face it, everyone will upgrade sooner or later. You can't keep using an old version forever.
I'm more concerned about the fact that it sounds a bit like "we don't want to but we need to do it or we will be fucked very soon".
I'm very quickly in joining a good rant but I've also been using Vray for more than a decade and many years as a professional (still doing it today) and it's a good, reliable and stable piece of software - way more than most of the other stuff I'm using. So, despite the fact that this move was not a quite clever one I'll be still dependent on this renderer for a while.
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-09-05, 13:23:02
Reply #17

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
I think they can afford it. The minority of users they will lose will be compensated (most probably even overcompensated) by income from upgrade and node licence sales. There is way too many people/studios dependent on Vray and if you manage to cut down both rendertimes and times artists need to tweak scene layout/shaders/lighting, the upgrade is going to pay off very quickly.

I am happy for this, that there is some competition going on at least on renderer field, unlike DCC software field. I am happy that Vray is now faster and easier to use, I am also happy they did some unpopular decisions which could turn more people to Corona, and i am also happy that Mental Ray is dead and it's corpse is stinky and rotting. Competition is always good...  always, and for everyone :)

2013-09-05, 14:33:40
Reply #18

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3534
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I think they can afford it. The minority of users they will lose will be compensated (most probably even overcompensated) by income from upgrade and node licence sales. There is way too many people/studios dependent on Vray and if you manage to cut down both rendertimes and times artists need to tweak scene layout/shaders/lighting, the upgrade is going to pay off very quickly.

I am happy for this, that there is some competition going on at least on renderer field, unlike DCC software field. I am happy that Vray is now faster and easier to use, I am also happy they did some unpopular decisions which could turn more people to Corona, and i am also happy that Mental Ray is dead and it's corpse is stinky and rotting. Competition is always good...  always, and for everyone :)

Is that so :- DD Funny.

I also like the fact that so many renderers seem evolving now faster. Very very curious how this will go. Some renderers were moving so slow (Maxwell,Fryrender) I was pretty astounded people kept on using them when they lacked impossible amount of features (scattering..) that Corona happened to integrate within weeks what took years elsewhere. Vray 2 with its subsequent updates was nice, but just polishing, nothing revolutionary, until now. Arion/iRay/Octane are outside of my interested due to GPU, but I like their advancement.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2013-09-05, 18:43:16
Reply #19

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
Vray 3.0 need to testing!!! While there is nothing to rejoice, bacause vray (2.4) shading core - very bad, and whether it was rewritten in Vray 3.0? And also that the same limitations, such as: Cutoff, RayDepth = 5, Clamping, SubPixel mapping ? If all of these restrictions are removed, will fast Vray 3.0?
« Last Edit: 2013-09-05, 19:29:23 by Polymax »
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-09-05, 19:16:54
Reply #20

lacilaci

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 757
    • View Profile
I'm somehow more curious about maxwell 3 than vray 3... They say.. simplified material editing and Great speed improvements... But only marketing move I see around it is that it will be a free update for newcomers that'll buy current version :D.. so, I guess we can't expect miracles there either... maybe.

2013-09-06, 11:53:31
Reply #21

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3534
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Vray 3.0 need to testing!!! While there is nothing to rejoice, bacause vray (2.4) shading core - very bad, and whether it was rewritten in Vray 3.0? And also that the same limitations, such as: Cutoff, RayDepth = 5, Clamping, SubPixel mapping ? If all of these restrictions are removed, will fast Vray 3.0?

How are they restrictions ? You can turn them on/off to speed up sampling at behalf of accuracy. It's just not advisable in every situation (super glossy interiors...)
But they will introduce MIS :- )
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2013-09-19, 08:29:30
Reply #22

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 721
    • View Profile
Good morning

Coronarenderer will be ' always on .... !
They can make version 3 4 5 6 7 vray Maxwell ... there is nothing for anyone.

Greats
Raf

2013-09-27, 07:17:38
Reply #23

andreholzmeister

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Well I belive that 5 render nodes per workstation license would be reasonable, just one is kind of a bad joke...
Arnold itself is a bad joke when coming to its nodes politics... people use it because there are not so many fast and reliable options out there, Corona seams to be a great player in a near future, just need to go to the popular entertainment packages such as maya too, then Arnold and Vray should be scared...

2013-09-27, 08:58:06
Reply #24

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 721
    • View Profile
already '  ^_^

2013-10-29, 15:10:34
Reply #25

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8796
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
A hands-on preview of some new vray's features:

http://www.cgrecord.net/2013/10/v-ray-30-beta-review.html

Wouldn't it be cool to ask this guy to test Corona and post his observations? :)

2013-10-29, 15:23:30
Reply #26

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
Just had a look on the review and ... sorry, but this review is totally worthless. It seems he does not have a clue what he's actually doing.
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-10-30, 01:26:01
Reply #27

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
Just had a look on the review and ... sorry, but this review is totally worthless. It seems he does not have a clue what he's actually doing.

I've read in the review  " VRayHaitMtl ", so useful to make "Hait"...

emm... what is it mean first?

2013-10-30, 03:05:55
Reply #28

teknikarsitek

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Just had a look on the review and ... sorry, but this review is totally worthless. It seems he does not have a clue what he's actually doing.

I've read in the review  " VRayHaitMtl ", so useful to make "Hait"...

emm... what is it mean first?

maybe it means Hair .. with vray 3.0, makes easy for hair material .. IMHO .. but i am not vray user .. :p

2013-10-30, 04:21:36
Reply #29

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3534
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Well, if they labeled it "preview" instead of "review" it would be just fine for those who didn't come with 3.0 in contact yet.
Or do you guys find the examples that horrible ? If so, I have to warn you that examples used by Vlado at Venice were almost there.
"Ok..you see, it's faster, but also bit more noisy". Well, cool.

I had sligh chuckle at "Chinese, currently working at Al Jazeera network". Very global industry :- )
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2013-10-30, 10:22:23
Reply #30

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
Or do you guys find the examples that horrible ?

Well... yes. The firefly problem could be shown so easily. Just make some geo with a light close to the surface and let the GI rays show the effect. Or let's take the "probabilistic lights" mode. Well, 13 lights in the scene with a setting of 8 light sources (I'm assuming that) in probabilistic mode is very good idea... And don't get me started with the "faster but more noise" thing :D
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-10-30, 10:56:07
Reply #31

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8884
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
let's keep the fanboyism levels to a minimum, shall we...?
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-10-30, 11:17:43
Reply #32

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
I'm not sure where you see fanboy-ism here O_o . It's about a review that is not very useful, it's not about how good or bad those Vray features are. I'm pretty sure those things work a lot better if you actually use them the way they are supposed to be used.
Personally I don't care if it's Vray or Maxwell or what not (apart from this furryball guy) - if it's doing the job better than the rest, it's my tool of choice, period. And that's btw still Vray for most of my daily work.
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-10-30, 11:33:37
Reply #33

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Yeah, i do not think there is any form of fanboyism going on here. I too noticed that the review seem like written by a hobbyist. Sometimes i think Keymaster does not bother to get into the whole context of the discussion ;)

2014-02-04, 18:06:54
Reply #34

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8796
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2014-02-04, 20:57:59
Reply #35

agentdark45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 455
    • View Profile
Do you know what sort of limits have been placed on the demo?
Vray who?

2014-02-04, 21:15:11
Reply #36

gracelorn

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • 3D enthusiast
    • View Profile
Do you know what sort of limits have been placed on the demo?

The only limit I've seen so far is watermarks. But there may be other restrictions which I haven't noticed yet.

2014-02-04, 22:39:29
Reply #37

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
It's resetting the settings after some time which is driving me crazy. I want to test it if it's worth upgrading my license and it's fu**ing up my tests all the time. The whole new UI concept "let's hide everything behind funny buttons" thing is already annoying me pretty much too.

+ you can use progressive mode in 600x450 resolution max -_-
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2014-02-05, 06:09:02
Reply #38

art-MIXER

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 125
  • Design wizard
    • View Profile
    • Blog CGi
All that largely caught my attention because it is modified Vray VFB. It is a good and convenient feature for color correction. A mini photoshop in VFB) I think the Corona of this too is not enough and it would be nice to tie a similar functionality. Perhaps even in VFB shift function exposure and compensation Highlight of the main settings menu. To manage exposure, Highlight compensation and color correction directly from VFB - I think it will be very comfortable.
Design is magic

2014-02-05, 06:21:12
Reply #39

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3534
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I am very fond of some of the new features, although I myself don't own 3.0 yet, all my current projects are running 2.4 for animation reasons and after I am done, I'll think of upgrade, but it's most probably.
"Transfer Missing Assets and Use Local Machine." Looks like simple thing to do but funny it made it there now. Well it makes life much easier and convenient.

I would like to see the screenshot of the new framebuffer.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2014-02-05, 06:52:45
Reply #40

art-MIXER

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 125
  • Design wizard
    • View Profile
    • Blog CGi
I see about it so. Certainly over functionality should think more, which features can be added yet. But in general it should be something like this, push button switch on the top panel and pull-down menu on the right sidebar. I think it will give the opportunity to make an incredibly high quality stuff out of the box)

« Last Edit: 2014-02-05, 08:37:54 by art-MIXER »
Design is magic