Author Topic: Corona 1.6 render channels problems  (Read 2917 times)

2017-05-04, 12:06:00

DotDesignStudio

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Hello,
I really like 1.6 but there is some problems with rendering channels, vfb and image editor.
Win 7, 3ds max 2016, Corona 1.6

1. When i check to save render output or CXR it saves one big cxr that i want AND all channels in smalles cxr, that are already included in big cxr. This is uselss doubling disk space. Normal EXR does not save channels added to main output.
2. When sharpen/blurring is on and you zoom in (3ds max, corona VFB) so you cant see all image borders there is a glitch. All cgeometry, cmask and alpha channels move down and right like 5 pixels when sharpen in on. It saves normally, but in VFB is not aligned with other channels. Fixed
3. When i save CXR and open it in image editor there is no alpha channel, unless i specificly add it. Fixed
4. Image editor claims that in beauty pass some pixels have empty alpha, so there is somewhere an alpha channel, but png is all opaque, and exr have alpha all white. Fixed
5. In image editor the REST channel (from lightmix) is available, but this channel is not available in 3ds max Corona VFB.
6. Image editor should be able to save in 16 bit tiffs. Logged on mantis https://corona-renderer.com/bugs/view.php?id=2703

Mike.
« Last Edit: 2017-05-16, 12:38:44 by mike288 »

2017-05-04, 13:05:55
Reply #1

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
Funny, I just reported 3, 4 and 6 to the Corona Image Editor thread in the Daily Builds section. Yes, we need alpha displayed and savable with all output files and 16 bits TIFFs. +1 here!

2017-05-08, 03:24:17
Reply #2

shortcirkuit

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
guys this is a big issue for me - has anyone from Corona team looked into this?
I have saved out 6 final renders to EXR and the alpha channels are useless.  At this point unless I am doing something wrong i have to RE-RENDER :((((

2017-05-09, 17:59:48
Reply #3

Ryuu

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 564
  • Michal
    • View Profile
guys this is a big issue for me - has anyone from Corona team looked into this?
I have saved out 6 final renders to EXR and the alpha channels are useless.  At this point unless I am doing something wrong i have to RE-RENDER :((((

What exactly is wrong with the saved alpha channels that makes them useless?

2017-05-09, 18:08:20
Reply #4

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
guys this is a big issue for me - has anyone from Corona team looked into this?
I have saved out 6 final renders to EXR and the alpha channels are useless.  At this point unless I am doing something wrong i have to RE-RENDER :((((

What exactly is wrong with the saved alpha channels that makes them useless?
I guess he wanted to say that there is no alpha channel included in either of the formats CIE saves out.

2017-05-09, 20:42:21
Reply #5

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8879
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
will be fixed in 1.6 hotfix
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2017-05-09, 20:47:15
Reply #6

mike288

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
4 will be fixed in hotfix, will discuss 3 and 6 with Ondra
Private uploader: https://corona-renderer.com/upload. | In case of crash, please send minidump.

2017-05-09, 22:13:14
Reply #7

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
That'd be great, I would hate to have to wait for 1.7 for 16 bit TIFFs ('hate' is a too harsh word here ;) )

2017-05-11, 02:32:11
Reply #8

shortcirkuit

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
when opening a CXR file in image editor, the alpha and wirecolour passes have gamma applied to it.  The alpha channel is not accurate and will give weird reslts
guys this is a big issue for me - has anyone from Corona team looked into this?
I have saved out 6 final renders to EXR and the alpha channels are useless.  At this point unless I am doing something wrong i have to RE-RENDER :((((

What exactly is wrong with the saved alpha channels that makes them useless?

2017-05-11, 11:10:53
Reply #9

Ryuu

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 564
  • Michal
    • View Profile
This is issue just with the image editor since it does not know that it should not apply tone mapping to this data. The data saved from Corona into the CXR file should be without any tone mapping applied.

2017-05-11, 11:17:01
Reply #10

mike288

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Private uploader: https://corona-renderer.com/upload. | In case of crash, please send minidump.

2017-05-12, 11:08:04
Reply #11

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8879
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
That'd be great, I would hate to have to wait for 1.7 for 16 bit TIFFs ('hate' is a too harsh word here ;) )
16bit LDR formats definitely won't make it into hotfix, but there are still daily builds... ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2017-05-12, 11:41:38
Reply #12

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1387
    • View Profile
That'd be great, I would hate to have to wait for 1.7 for 16 bit TIFFs ('hate' is a too harsh word here ;) )
16bit LDR formats definitely won't make it into hotfix, but there are still daily builds... ;)
That'll work, thanks!

2017-05-15, 10:46:54
Reply #13

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8879
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
updated OP
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)