Author Topic: Like"FStorm GeoPattern" corona pattern  (Read 8799 times)

2019-02-12, 18:59:16
Reply #60

James Vella

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile

2019-02-13, 13:30:41
Reply #61

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8884
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Since it is 13:27 already and still nobody today posted here:

+1000! ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2019-02-13, 14:24:21
Reply #62

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5612
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
To everyone's attention! Since Ondra's +1 is actually multiplied by at least 1000, i would like to ask to restrain yourself from unnecessary +1's, as those won't change much anymore. From now on, minimal countable vote starts from +googol. Thank you! :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2019-02-13, 15:11:19
Reply #63

clemens_at

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
well that escalated quickly...

in that case in all its beauty:

(+) 10.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000.000 + 1

from me :)

2019-02-13, 19:13:57
Reply #64

fellazb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
It's over +9000!!!

2019-02-14, 18:16:41
Reply #65

actrask

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • actrask.com

2019-06-21, 10:55:47
Reply #66

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5612
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Does anyone knows if geopattern can be converted to mesh? I've a task where i need to create complex shapes out of repeating patterns and looking for modelling aid tool. I'm also considering railclone, but it's much harder to master and i don't have much time for this assignement.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2019-06-21, 19:49:28
Reply #67

agentdark45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 453
    • View Profile
Does anyone knows if geopattern can be converted to mesh? I've a task where i need to create complex shapes out of repeating patterns and looking for modelling aid tool. I'm also considering railclone, but it's much harder to master and i don't have much time for this assignement.

Unfortunately not. I've had a few jobs where I had to switch to FStorm from Corona purely for Geopattern usage. There are some limitations though - your base object UV mapping needs to be perfect, as does the "crop" box on the tile-able sampled pattern mesh to avoid visible open edges.
Vray who?

2019-06-21, 20:20:38
Reply #68

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5612
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Thanks for the answer, i guess i have to look at railclone now.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2019-06-21, 21:14:23
Reply #69

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3518
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Does anyone knows if geopattern can be converted to mesh? I've a task where i need to create complex shapes out of repeating patterns and looking for modelling aid tool. I'm also considering railclone, but it's much harder to master and i don't have much time for this assignement.

Unfortunately not. I've had a few jobs where I had to switch to FStorm from Corona purely for Geopattern usage. There are some limitations though - your base object UV mapping needs to be perfect, as does the "crop" box on the tile-able sampled pattern mesh to avoid visible open edges.

If your UVWs have stretched areas, the mesh with stretch like that too ?

BTW, no one answered me this yet but since you already tried Geopattern, didn't you try to install VrayPattern and render Corona scene in VrayNext ? Since VrayNext supports lot of Corona features, and also VrayPattern, wouldn't it work like this also ? I.e render scene with Corona materials&light in VrayNext, but apply VrayPattern on (I've no idea how you apply it, is it modifier or map...?).
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2019-06-22, 00:12:34
Reply #70

agentdark45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 453
    • View Profile

If your UVWs have stretched areas, the mesh with stretch like that too ?


Yep, the pattern will stretch/conform to the base object UV's.
Vray who?

2019-06-22, 23:34:56
Reply #71

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 749
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
Does anyone knows if geopattern can be converted to mesh? I've a task where i need to create complex shapes out of repeating patterns and looking for modelling aid tool. I'm also considering railclone, but it's much harder to master and i don't have much time for this assignement.

If I remember you were the one to suggest me RC years ago when I asked for the pattern! :D yzyzyzyz

Can you give more information on the task? There are ways to do "almost patterns"

Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2019-06-22, 23:36:11
Reply #72

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 749
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
Does anyone knows if geopattern can be converted to mesh? I've a task where i need to create complex shapes out of repeating patterns and looking for modelling aid tool. I'm also considering railclone, but it's much harder to master and i don't have much time for this assignement.

Unfortunately not. I've had a few jobs where I had to switch to FStorm from Corona purely for Geopattern usage. There are some limitations though - your base object UV mapping needs to be perfect, as does the "crop" box on the tile-able sampled pattern mesh to avoid visible open edges.



If your UVWs have stretched areas, the mesh with stretch like that too ?

BTW, no one answered me this yet but since you already tried Geopattern, didn't you try to install VrayPattern and render Corona scene in VrayNext ? Since VrayNext supports lot of Corona features, and also VrayPattern, wouldn't it work like this also ? I.e render scene with Corona materials&light in VrayNext, but apply VrayPattern on (I've no idea how you apply it, is it modifier or map...?).

I did for Alphas, Corona 1,2 and 3 never worked
Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2019-06-23, 11:51:53
Reply #73

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3518
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
It's only since 4&5 that VrayNext supports CoronaMtl (and not sure which lights) and Corona VrayMtl. So it should theoretically work if you keep whole scene in Corona, maybe except the materials with GeoPattern (convert to VrayMTL), keep lights in CoronaLight, if doesn't work, convert those to Vray, results should always nearly match.

I need to test this but I don't have VrayNext...just 3.6.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika