Author Topic: AA for animation with small details  (Read 3047 times)

2013-12-04, 09:46:03

fobus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
As I knew there is just one option to control Antialialising in Corona. It is the number of passes. Is it right or may be ther is another way to archive high AA settings without increase of sampling all other rays as GI and so on?

Let me explain why I need to high value of AA. Often we need to render animations with very high detailed things like trees or grass. Their details much smaller than one pixel on picture so if we cant sample them well we're getting much noise of AA as you can see at example.

2013-12-04, 10:13:19
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9056
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
To get better AA you should actually reduce path tracing samples. :)

You can also try rendering in higher resolution and reducing.

2013-12-04, 10:53:46
Reply #2

fobus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
I tried some different settings PTS/Passes. In first try it was 4 PT samples and 200 passes. Quite noisy at my opinion. 640*360px  90 sec per frame.

The second try was 4 PT samples and 400 passes. It is noisy too and was 125 sec per frame (Corona-AA-Test_4-400.gif).
And the third was 1 PT sample and 1000 passes for ultimate AA. Noise still there but it is acceptable for my taste. (Corona-AA-Test_1-1000.gif).


2013-12-04, 10:54:57
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8895
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
you can also try to increase image filter blur, maybe that is more acceptable than the noise
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-12-04, 11:00:40
Reply #4

fobus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
you can also try to increase image filter blur, maybe that is more acceptable than the noise

No. It is just blurs the noise. Details lost, noise still there but blured. No option.

2013-12-04, 11:39:45
Reply #5

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8895
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
in that case, since Corona does not offer prefiltering of geometry, the only way to solve this and not modify the scene is just to decrease PT samples and wait for it ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-12-04, 11:47:05
Reply #6

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
PT samples is a tradeoff value. So lowering PT samples will mean more samples will go into AA at the cost of GI quality.

2013-12-04, 12:26:47
Reply #7

fobus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
in that case, since Corona does not offer prefiltering of geometry, the only way to solve this and not modify the scene is just to decrease PT samples and wait for it ;)

Hmm... 1000 passes is the only way to reach quailty of AA in that case. Interesting how much time it will be in real scene with lots of geometry, GI and so on... I'm scared in advance o_O

2013-12-04, 15:16:59
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9056
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
How about rendering in higher resolution (2 or 3 times) with normal PT value and then downsampling?

2013-12-04, 16:01:01
Reply #9

fobus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
How about rendering in higher resolution (2 or 3 times) with normal PT value and then downsampling?

I think it is no quicker than render it with high AA settings, but you'll need way too much GBs of sequences if render it in 2160p compared to 1080p for example. And compositing of such huge files will be a big pain in .ss.

2013-12-04, 16:04:12
Reply #10

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8895
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
yes, the way monte carlo works you will get the same amount of noise when rendering to 2* resolution and downsizing, as when rendering in the lower resolution for the same amount of time
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)