Author Topic: 1,2,3, navigation in node layout  (Read 384 times)

2018-11-15, 15:56:39

astrofalcon

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 237
    • View Profile
One feature I noticed is missing in the node layout is the ability to use the 1,2,3 button navigation keys.

This feature should definitely be added. Many longtime Cinema 4D users use this navigation system.

- Shawn

2018-11-15, 16:18:01
Reply #1

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2209
    • View Profile
What is that navigation system? :) It scrolls the screen using the arrow keys on the numeric pad maybe?

2018-11-15, 16:36:00
Reply #2

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1188
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
I assume Shawn is referring to Pan (1) and Zoom (2). If so, +1. I miss my keyboard shortcuts ;) This is helpful for those that use a table (like me).

2018-11-15, 16:37:46
Reply #3

astrofalcon

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 237
    • View Profile
In the C4D viewport if you hold 1 down + move your mouse it pans. If you hold 2 down it zooms and 3 it rotates.

Obviously we just need 1 and 2 for the node layout view. No rotate. These are the number keys above the letters not the num keys...

Thanks Tom!

- Shawn

2018-11-15, 18:03:02
Reply #4

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2209
    • View Profile
Cheers! I always use ALT and then various mouse buttons (right and middle mostly) to do those things.

2018-11-18, 03:00:30
Reply #5

Eddoron

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 550
  • Achieved Pedestrian
    • View Profile
I'm confused. I thought about expanding the nodes via hovering the mouse and pressing 1-4. 1 would show a small basic representation with the connected nodes and 4 would open up things like SSS(Depth)->SSS(RGB)->SSS(R) and choosing that R channel of the bitmap.

2018-12-26, 22:16:37
Reply #6

tuami

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
That would be great if it can implimented .. standard node editor in r20 has also this fearue built in

2018-12-27, 16:05:32
Reply #7

nkilar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 702
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
That would be great if it can implimented .. standard node editor in r20 has also this fearue built in

I suppose I keep asking myself whether that is worth the development time right now? I mean I was all for a node based material system but presumably (speculating) Maxon will open up the native node SDK which will allow to tie everything in there. If not then the new node material system that comes with C4D would pretty much be useless for any kind of advanced production (3rd party renderers).

Just a thought :\