Author Topic: unstable noise in the animation  (Read 788 times)

2019-01-29, 10:54:45

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
Hi guys,
I looked at many posts on the forum but I have not yet solved the problem. I'm trying an animation without objects in motion but between a frame and the other the noise is not fixed but always variable.
I saved the uhd cache as per manual but I do not solve the problem. I'm using a fixed pass limit
Is there any new guide by chance?

thanks

2019-01-29, 11:06:32
Reply #1

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1231
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, can you share a still and possibly some settings with us? If that's not enough, we may request the scene file.

2019-01-29, 11:22:39
Reply #2

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
Hi Beanzvision! Thanks for the reply.
for the settings I followed this guide
https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000501664-how-to-setup-animation-flicker-free-pre-1-0-hd-cache-
now there is a pass limit of 5 to see if you notice that the noise is not stable
lighting with only sky + sun

2019-01-29, 12:22:23
Reply #3

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5711
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
In render setup/performance there is an option called lock sampling pattern. Make sure that it is checked ON.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2019-01-29, 12:28:57
Reply #4

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
In render setup/performance there is an option called lock sampling pattern. Make sure that it is checked ON.

I have verified and is on.
Can you also try on a simple scene?
I attach a test, and you can see that the noise changes position at each frame
« Last Edit: 2019-01-29, 14:02:17 by fabio81 »

2019-01-29, 14:22:54
Reply #5

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1231
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
I made the camera stationary to focus more on seeing the noise, this is 90 frames rendered.
https://streamable.com/rveju

2019-01-29, 14:28:46
Reply #6

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
I made the camera stationary to focus more on seeing the noise, this is 90 frames rendered.
https://streamable.com/rveju

What animation is with the fixed camera?
can you try my file and make that?

2019-01-29, 16:51:01
Reply #7

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
I also tried in another scene but I have the same problem. I wanted to understand if this is right?
thank you

2019-01-29, 17:02:26
Reply #8

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2462
    • View Profile
Thing is, noise is comes from the fact that sampling is random, so it will be... random :) As it converges toward a clean image, that's where "lock sampling pattern" will show up. I guess the real question is, why is this a concern at this early few passes? As things converge to a clean image, this won't be an issue anyway.

2019-01-29, 17:09:19
Reply #9

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
Thing is, noise is comes from the fact that sampling is random, so it will be... random :) As it converges toward a clean image, that's where "lock sampling pattern" will show up. I guess the real question is, why is this a concern at this early few passes? As things converge to a clean image, this won't be an issue anyway.

Hi TomG thanks for the reply :),
the problem is that having a noise all the same, I'm much less likely to see since the denoise will clean in the same way. Instead having many different noise combinations, this will be seen in animation. I would like to create different animations with a pass limit of 5% and AI denoise to clean up but if I have this result I certainly could not present them.
On your site I have seen that the noise remains constant, why now it is random?

2019-01-29, 17:19:17
Reply #10

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2462
    • View Profile
By the time it gets to 5% with denoising (though not sure I'd recommend the AI denoiser for final rendering), you shouldn't see any difference. If you do, well, that would be the time to post that there's a problem :)

PS - I don't know what you mean about "on your site I have seen that the noise remains constant"?

PPS - If this was an issue once you get to a clean image, then there simply wouldn't be any animations with Corona, and there are a lot ;)

2019-01-29, 17:21:54
Reply #11

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
I will do tests with denoise AI and Denoise Final and then I will let you know. thank you so much

2019-01-29, 17:25:33
Reply #12

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
PS - I don't know what you mean about "on your site I have seen that the noise remains constant"

https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000501664-how-to-setup-animation-flicker-free-pre-1-0-hd-cache-

the GIF example at the end of the page

2019-01-29, 17:36:33
Reply #13

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
this is done with 30 fixed pass (noise about 7%) denoise AI to 1 and you can see flickering noise on pillows, glasses and plants. Is there a way to fix this? if I had to render everything to noise limit 4% it would take me too much time
is it better to use a pass limit or noise limit?
thanks

2019-01-29, 17:50:17
Reply #14

nkilar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 783
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Hey fabio81,

Do not use the AI denoiser for final frames :) It isn't meant for that, it has no temporal coherence and it does a "rougher" job cleaning up the image than the high quality denoiser.  Don't think the HQ has TC either but it does a more precise job at preserving edges and details.

I suggest rendering to about 5-6% and denoising at 0.5 . I think those numbers worked good for me in most cases.

To quote the helpdesk - Fast Preview Denoising should be used mostly for interactive rendering, quick previews, and optionally for final stills (High Quality Denoising is designed to be used for high quality stills and animations)

I also totally agree with Tom, obviously the random sampling will look horrible when you've got 10 passes and everything is super noise. Once you get to a cleaner result I think you'll find that the noise is a lot more subtle. Unless something went wrong, heh :)Hey
« Last Edit: 2019-01-29, 17:53:39 by nkilar »