Author Topic: Opacity bug?  (Read 4089 times)

2014-03-10, 23:18:32

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
Hi,
as you can see, something is strange on the opacity map. Look at the leafs edges...
In attachment the 3ds max file.





2014-03-10, 23:35:36
Reply #1

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
Real example.
Also, look at the rendering time vs pass
Wit Opacity ON, we have a big slowdown! -20% =(


2014-03-10, 23:41:32
Reply #2

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
try reset render
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2014-03-10, 23:51:36
Reply #3

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
Same problem, same slowdown.

2014-03-10, 23:56:04
Reply #4

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
attached pictures don't load ( i don't understand problem
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2014-03-11, 00:09:18
Reply #5

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
Now? Maybe because you live in Russia, I think... 

Are you able to see my website? www.francescolegrenzi.com
If not, try with a proxy server.
« Last Edit: 2014-03-11, 00:16:16 by cecofuli »

2014-03-11, 00:19:20
Reply #6

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
yes, slowdown (~20%), but maybe it's normal? Because with refraction slowdown more. Or need to compare with a5.
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2014-03-11, 00:28:36
Reply #7

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
I don't know. But it's a lot for a single, small bush inside an empty scene. Don't you think?
About A5, I don't know. I have to install. Now I'm lazy )) Try tomorrow
I would like to read Ondra opinion about that.

2014-03-11, 09:16:46
Reply #8

gabrielefx

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
bitmap filter?

turn it off

2014-03-11, 09:31:23
Reply #9

neri69

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
In 3dsmax MR this slowdown is quite normal.
For example is true that when you have trees with a lot of leaves is convenient to shape the leaves (i use exlevel for this...) instead to use opacity. When you make Hedges for examle sometimes when they are very dense with small leaves you disable also shadow.
But maybe this is a behaviour of MR....

2014-03-11, 20:16:08
Reply #10

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8884
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Fixed, but massive testing will be needed
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-03-11, 20:24:29
Reply #11

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
And, what about speed? Is it normal -20% slowdown? =(

2014-03-11, 20:29:58
Reply #12

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8884
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
the bugfix I did might help. But in general, A6 will report lower rays/s even though it will do more work with those rays
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-03-12, 00:55:42
Reply #13

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
Ok, thanks for the info =)
But my question was about the slowdown with and without opacity map (with A6). -20% it's a lot in my opinion...

2014-03-12, 09:14:17
Reply #14

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8884
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
the same thing applies: when opacity is present, A6 will do more work with less rays/s. It is also dependent on a scene, 20% in simple scene is entirely different story than 20% in a production scene.
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)