Author Topic: Corona standalone feature requests  (Read 17335 times)

2014-03-11, 17:57:11

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8892
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
All feature requests for the standalone version of Corona go here:
   
  • -Corona sky-system
  • -controllable Bokeh shape
  • falloff texture (and other procedurals ones)
  • To be able to rotate HDRI textures and set a strength value for their illumination
  • Per-material and environment ray visibility overrides.
  • to be able to save render passes to various file names
  • -IES-lights
  • blend material
  • tiff/tga support
  • image bokeh support
  • Color Correction feature (hue, saturation, brightness, gamma)
  • bump mapping
  • Something like the "Object Info Node": http://blendersushi.blogspot.fr/2012/12/cycles-object-info-node.html
  • Displacement
  • procedural textures: cloud, voroni cells, brick, checker, wave texture for wood
  • Linux/Mac support
Standalone format description: http://corona-renderer.com/wiki/standalone
« Last Edit: 2016-08-24, 21:01:15 by Ondra »
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-03-29, 12:15:53
Reply #1

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8892
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
updated
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-04-13, 11:18:01
Reply #2

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
Could we also have the post processing tab in the frame buffer? My point is that working with exporters, we can't use it in an interactive manner and that's a strong feature of Corona. This way, even if we lose the settings when closing the frame buffer, we could fine tune in it and then copy the numbers in the render panel.

Best regards.

2014-04-21, 18:02:50
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8892
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Could we also have the post processing tab in the frame buffer? My point is that working with exporters, we can't use it in an interactive manner and that's a strong feature of Corona. This way, even if we lose the settings when closing the frame buffer, we could fine tune in it and then copy the numbers in the render panel.

Best regards.

yes, that is planned, but it will take some time
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-04-21, 19:00:58
Reply #4

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8892
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
  • Added option to save without alpha into the .conf file: bool saveAlpha = false
  • Now all render elements are saved
  • Added option to control which formats are saved: bool saveExr/saveJpg/savePng/saveTiff/saveTga = true/false in the .conf file
  • increased JPG quality
  • added IES emission
  • added TGA/TIFF/GIF support
« Last Edit: 2014-04-21, 19:50:42 by Keymaster »
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-04-22, 11:23:19
Reply #5

tungee

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Great! Keymaster Thank you!
Now its complete as Archviz solution!

Two more Requests:
-Blend material (Carpaint-lovers)
-Images for Dof shape (Trioplan Lovers)
New Coronoid

2014-04-30, 15:30:51
Reply #6

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
Is Blend material "will not implement" status temporary or definitive? Mixing individual textures is not suited for all kind of materials (car paint for example).

I'd like to add another three requests that are not priority but could enhance the workflow using Corona Standalone:

- Color Correction feature (hue, saturation, brightness, gamma) to be able to fine tune whitout editing and reloading textures.
- Something like the "Object Info Node" we have in Cycles which functionality is described here http://blendersushi.blogspot.fr/2012/12/cycles-object-info-node.html
It's really useful because the Random Output from this node can be connected with a color ramp for example to have color variations mixed with the texture (planks, leaves, pavements...) or connected to multiple textures randomly selected (books with random covers).
- Displacement

2014-04-30, 16:31:13
Reply #7

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8892
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
It is at least until I decide how to do it properly in the 3dsmax version
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-06-06, 16:26:30
Reply #8

Kramon

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile

2014-07-04, 11:15:13
Reply #9

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
Hi,
It'd be nice if we could see the secondary GI being created. Because right now in some big scenes we just have have a black frame buffer for a minute or two before it starts rendering.

2014-07-04, 13:29:14
Reply #10

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8892
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Hdri?
supported

Hi,
It'd be nice if we could see the secondary GI being created. Because right now in some big scenes we just have have a black frame buffer for a minute or two before it starts rendering.

There is a parameter for it, "gi.hdCache.doPreviz" it should be true by default
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-07-20, 02:37:55
Reply #11

ohsnapitsjoel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
The gi.hdCache.doPreviz parameter is true by default in my exporter, but it doesn't show the cache being created.  I may just need to do some more testing...?

I saw that you crossed out Color Correction node :) What is that?? Is it documented somewhere in the wiki yet? 

2014-07-26, 00:47:20
Reply #12

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
Yes, this color correction node is long awaited :)

Also could we have the same Excludes option for CoronaAO in the Standalone, it can be really useful.

2014-07-28, 17:16:40
Reply #13

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
Don't know if it's decent to ask with all the features still missing in standalone version, but... let's add volumetrics and SSS to the list :D

2014-08-05, 22:34:32
Reply #14

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
It would be nice to have a Rotate parameter so we can rotate textures and HDRI.

2014-08-19, 22:37:01
Reply #15

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
An RGB Curves node that we could use to tweak the textures or use as an input in place of the IOR in the Fresnel node could be a nice add.

...I'm feeling a bit alone on this thread :D

2014-10-18, 18:05:22
Reply #16

Kramon

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
yes agree what status is right now? on standalone?

2014-11-20, 16:26:41
Reply #17

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
Also, Vertex color support could be really useful in Standalone.

2014-12-22, 19:33:31
Reply #18

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
@ Keymaster - Hi another request...

This one is pretty crazy and you will probably not be interested in it, but here it is:
I know you have plans to make a layering system for material creation in the future. So I just want to point that Cycles Renderer is under Apache License, so the code can even be used with commercial softwares.
My request would be to make Corona support Cycles nodes. This way Corona would gain a layering system and for Blender users, we could make our materials with Cycles and take advantage of tthe interactive feedback, then easily convert them to Corona.

I know it's probably not in your interest to make something like this...but anyway...

Kind regards

2015-01-12, 13:22:08
Reply #19

Mz3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
A User Interface?

2015-02-14, 08:26:10
Reply #20

siadebisi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Hi Keymaster,
i would like to have:

- Mix Curve in the Falloff Map or in general a Mix Curve to Mix Colors like in Corona for 3DSMax / Vray (really really important)
- Composite Map

And the most important of all, the blend layers ;) I know it´s already on the list, but i wanted to ask how long we will have to wait for them ;) Since the full Version is coming, you probably have figured out if you make a bing blend layer with Blend 1 / 2 etc.. like in Vray or keeping it the way it is right now :)

Thank you very much for your awesome render engine! I already regreted buying a GTX 970 when i started Corona and got these nice results within Minutes ;P I would love to use it in Blender in future! :D

Maybe you could figure out a way to get RT working for Blender in a way that only the selected / changed object gets "reloaded" to the Standalone. This way it would be possible to get fast results without reloading the whole scene to the Standalone every time if i want to check another setting :)

2015-02-16, 00:41:19
Reply #21

elnino

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Website
Quote
Maybe you could figure out a way to get RT working for Blender in a way that only the selected / changed object gets "reloaded" to the Standalone

The guys from Luxrender are making a pretty fast exporter with C++ acceleration and RT integrated in Blender's viewport. I'd be happy to get something like this with Corona... I hope Keymaster is considering to hire someone to work on the exporter in a more official way. Sadly, ohsnapitjoel seems to have lost the will to work freely on the exporter. :/

2015-02-16, 03:27:01
Reply #22

siadebisi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Quote
Sadly, ohsnapitjoel seems to have lost the will to work freely on the exporter. :/

Thats really a problem... :( Hopefully they can work something out...

I have two more requests ;) It would be nice if there would be a converter of Vray- Materials and the possibility to export and import Corona Materials from and into 3DSMax.
The second one would be a "Multi- / Sub- Object" Layer which keeps things organized :)

« Last Edit: 2015-02-16, 03:32:31 by siadebisi »

2016-02-17, 03:13:58
Reply #23

denisgo22

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 675
    • View Profile
Exist button save Dump file///
Also If possible to make load from file exr. option for resume early rendering img/
And DR rendering
« Last Edit: 2016-02-17, 03:25:32 by denisgo22 »

2016-02-17, 15:23:42
Reply #24

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 835
    • View Profile
Yup, Joel is busy, busy, busy... though he kindly supplied version in development for the new B3D exporter (with some extra info).
More here: Blender Artist thread post

2017-06-20, 06:11:39
Reply #25

Binke

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
IPR for Standalone, any plans/ETA on that? :) Getting that + getting it integrated into the blender corona plugin by Blanche/Joel would make me abandon cycles, keyshot..renderman and just use Corona..because its just the damn best prettiest render out there imo!

2017-08-10, 11:40:52
Reply #26

j_man

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Minmud

2017-08-10, 14:13:16
Reply #27

j_man

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Minmud
Oh,

Render elements CMasking_Masks and CMasking_WireColor are currently incompatible with the standalone renderer (There might be others).


J.


2018-10-30, 21:19:45
Reply #28

Benjamin_F

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Support for OSL maps and shaders. This way it would be possible to easily replace most of Max's standard maps and use OSL instead, both in Max scenes and in Standalone.
Lot of resources could be saved, you don't have to support and rewrite Max internal maps for Standalone, and it would work with any other DCC which supports OSL. Like Houdini. :D
 
https://github.com/imageworks/openshadinglanguage#introduction
« Last Edit: 2018-10-30, 21:26:52 by Benjamin_F »

2019-01-02, 17:20:38
Reply #29

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8892
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
the OSL is huge thing to add, but we might be able to re-use chaosgroup implementation there... ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)