Author Topic: Performance scaling on multiprocessor machines.  (Read 4094 times)

2013-01-21, 13:46:51

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Hello,

if some of you have ever used multiprocessor machines (for example dual Xeon workstations) with Corona, you might have noticed that performance on such machines does not scale very well.

I am happy to announce that Keymaster has fixed this issue and Corona performance now scales properly on multiprocessor machines.

For example, Dual Xeon E5-2630 i use at work is now little over twice the speed of Core i7 2600k.

The fix is available in latest nightly build :)

2013-01-21, 14:36:41
Reply #1

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1437
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
what the... O_O didn't know this issue existed. Now I'm very curious how rendering speed on my machine will improve. I love news like that ;)
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-01-21, 16:02:38
Reply #2

Sam75

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Rawalanche can you explain the difference between legacy and non legacy night builds ?

2013-01-21, 16:40:58
Reply #3

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Rawalanche can you explain the difference between legacy and non legacy night builds ?

Legacy builds support old processors with old instruction sets, such as Core 2 Quad at the cost of being slower.

2013-01-21, 16:44:37
Reply #4

Sam75

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile

2013-01-21, 19:38:12
Reply #5

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
what the... O_O didn't know this issue existed. Now I'm very curious how rendering speed on my machine will improve. I love news like that ;)

Looking forward to hear the results :)

2013-01-22, 21:42:55
Reply #6

alieneye

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • portfolio

2013-01-23, 01:12:15
Reply #7

Javadevil

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 356
    • View Profile
Wow thats crazy, so all this time it looks like Corona was only using one socket !!


2013-01-23, 08:22:24
Reply #8

lacilaci

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 757
    • View Profile