Author Topic: Any tutorial or guide for the right use of DOF in Corona?  (Read 4431 times)

2014-12-16, 20:27:14

jorari71

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Hello.

Do you have any tutorial or guide where we can learn how to use the settings available in corona in order to achieve a good comprehension of this feature?

Thank you.

2014-12-16, 21:22:15
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9036
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi, is there anything particular you would like to know about DOFm or generally how to enable it, or do you mean how photographic controls affect DOF?

2014-12-17, 03:48:24
Reply #2

jorari71

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
First of all I want to say that I'm using Corona as a plugin for 3DSMax.

I'm trying to associate the parameters of a DOF calculator with the right units but I haven't found any logical relation:

For instance, I've found this calculator:

http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html

But I couldn't find the way to calculate the DOF through the parameters of Corona in 3DSMAX and the link's formula. :-/ .

Any idea?.

Thank you.



2014-12-17, 10:40:12
Reply #3

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5727
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Actually it's pretty straightforward. In online calculator choose so called ful frame format camera (e.g. Canon 5D), then make sure that focal lenght, F stop and subject distance (usualy in 3ds max it's camera target's distance) matches between online calculator and 3ds max and you're ready to go. Hit render and you'll see that everything works! :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2014-12-18, 14:31:12
Reply #4

jorari71

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
The problem is this: I can't get the desired DOF through the parameters I can manage.

This is a capture I've made with the most relevant parameters I think we need to solve this issue.

Maybe I'm not a great photographer.  :P

Thanks a lot.

2014-12-18, 14:51:12
Reply #5

juang3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 636
    • View Profile
First question that comes to my mind is why aren't you using the Corona Camera modifier?

In there you can activate the DOF and you can modify the aperture and shutter speed so you can use real camera parameter to adjust your DOF, did you tried that?

Cheers.

2014-12-18, 16:07:32
Reply #6

CiroC

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio

2014-12-18, 18:44:37
Reply #7

borisquezadaa

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
OK... at first sigth it seems units related. Your selected camera states that his target distance is 811,59 cms
 not 60 cms.
What i do with Corona My Corona post of random stuff rendering
WARNING: English.dll still loading...

2014-12-18, 23:13:50
Reply #8

jorari71

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Thank you very much Juang3d ("Gracias" si hablas español , pues soy de España).

I didn't realised that this modifier existed!. What a mistake by my part.

Anyway, let me ask you two questions more (in green):

1).-With this feature we can set the center of the DOF.
2).-With the f-stop we can set the depth of field.

But this is only an approaching achieved with "iterations" of try&error process . If I want to calculate more accuratelly I would like to check the equations of the on-line calculator 's link



2014-12-19, 11:10:57
Reply #9

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5727
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
#1 - yes and #2 - yes.
There's no need for trial and error, if you set all parameters according to DOF calculators, you'll get exact result.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2014-12-19, 11:15:35
Reply #10

juang3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 636
    • View Profile
Hi jorari71.

Yes I'm from spain :) but I speak english here to respect anyone else.

Well it's like romullus says, it works just like a real camera, you don't have to override the focus distance value, you can adjust it adjusting the target distance, with a free camera you have the value in the camera values, but with targeted camera that distance is defined by the camera target.
As for the rest of settings, it should owrk like any real camera, you can use the calculator values and it should work perfectly :)

Cheers!


2014-12-19, 12:36:39
Reply #11

jorari71

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Ok, I think my problem has been solved.

The main issue was the unknown Corona Camera Modifier .

I've made some tryings and I think I control the DOF.

Thank you very much all of you. :)

P.D.: It would be good to stablish a system to give positive votes to other members who help others inside this community, just like happens in the Stack Overflow community of programmers.

2014-12-19, 14:47:16
Reply #12

jorari71

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
You can check the results obtained: :)

The way to proceed is to change the distance of the focus or center of the DOF through the corona modifier and then, change the f-stop to calculate the DOF.

I'm gonna upolad one of these images in the gallery.