Author Topic: ThinFilm texmap plugin  (Read 17029 times)

2015-05-07, 00:35:11

Siger

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
After painful researches at last I release a ThinFilm texmap plugin stable version.



Plugin is free for personal or commercial use. Download: http://www.sigerstudio.eu/shop/3ds-max/sigertexmap-thinfilm/

2015-05-07, 09:45:32
Reply #1

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1402
    • View Profile
Fantastic, thanks for making it free!

2015-05-07, 13:41:51
Reply #2

SHD

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • https://www.instagram.com/xshd/
Nice ,
not many cases where it can be used, but it is good addition to corona renderer.
Maybe sooner or later, someone will make the dispersion like this ;)

btw,  strange but looks like doesn't working (in max 2014)
« Last Edit: 2015-05-07, 16:16:42 by SHD »

2015-05-07, 18:14:48
Reply #3

johan belmans

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
    • View Profile
    • belly.be

2015-05-07, 21:21:07
Reply #4

Siger

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
btw,  strange but looks like doesn't working (in max 2014)

Yes, the plugin (absence of mind) was compiled from older test back-up project and not fixed color calculation alpha channel. Uploaded the fixed version. Excuse for inconvenience.

2015-05-07, 22:29:46
Reply #5

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
Nice to see this feature coming finally ( Was waiting for it long time ago for a bug scene ) through such an easy nicely done plugin, well done and thanks a lot ! ;)

2015-05-08, 12:28:08
Reply #6

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9032
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
For some reason I can't make it work. ComplexFresnel works fine. Am I doing something wrong? Max2015

2015-05-08, 12:46:31
Reply #7

Siger

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
For some reason I can't make it work. ComplexFresnel works fine. Am I doing something wrong? Max2015

What version you install? Old 1.0.0 have a bug with color calculation alpha channel, please re-download newer version (1.0.1 - fixed for Corona).

2015-05-08, 13:17:40
Reply #8

antanas

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 269
  • Hmm ...
    • View Profile
1.0.1 works like a charm - thanks !

2015-05-08, 13:28:09
Reply #9

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9032
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
For some reason I can't make it work. ComplexFresnel works fine. Am I doing something wrong? Max2015

What version you install? Old 1.0.0 have a bug with color calculation alpha channel, please re-download newer version (1.0.1 - fixed for Corona).
It works perfectly fine now. Sorry. :)

2015-05-11, 10:03:18
Reply #10

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5711
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Find some time to play with this plugin. Love it. One little thing i'd like to be improved, is mapable IOR.Film. Is it possible?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2015-05-11, 10:16:51
Reply #11

Siger

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Find some time to play with this plugin. Love it. One little thing i'd like to be improved, is mapable IOR.Film. Is it possible?

Map for Film IOR param? It's possible, but why? When you use thickness map (usual noise or similar), it distort map thickness.

2015-05-11, 10:23:49
Reply #12

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5711
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Yes, but somehow i find that variable film IOR gives more pleasant result, than thickness alone. But it may be due to the fact that i tested your plugin only briefly. I'll give it another try.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2015-05-11, 10:33:43
Reply #13

Siger

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Yes, but somehow i find that variable film IOR gives more pleasant result, than thickness alone. But it may be due to the fact that i tested your plugin only briefly. I'll give it another try.

If map will change the Film IOR parameter, it will already mean that film material not uniform - f. e., soap with chitin inclusion ;) But is possible to implement, I will think about it in future.

2015-05-11, 10:55:57
Reply #14

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5711
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
BTW, what is the proper way to use Thin Film. Plug it in refl color and adjust fresnel IOR in material or set fresnel IOR to 999 and adjust film IOR in ThinFilm map?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.