Author Topic: Multi Layer Displacement  (Read 4818 times)

2015-11-04, 12:13:16

kahein

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Displacement only work in the base material.
- we cant mix displace with multiple material
- IR VFB doesn't update with just a base material (nothing in the layer mat) and in this base material with a CoronaMix plug in the displacement map. Play with the value, swtching map, changing map etc IR doesn't update correctly until i close it and re open
Asus Z10PE-D16 WS / Dual Xeon E5-2690 v4 @ 2.60GHz / RAM 64 Go - GTX 970
Win 10 / Max 2017 / Corona 1.4

2015-11-10, 16:11:57
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9456
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Confirmed. Some displacement limitations.

The second line is about having Corona Mix plugged into displacement slot of base material of Layered mtl. It does not update changes unless restarted/regular render. Mix tex works fine if not nested inside Layered base.

2016-05-09, 14:26:35
Reply #2

Dippndots

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 290
  • Alex Fagan Co-Founder at The Faction
    • View Profile
    • The Faction
sorry to dredge this up, but I just came across this problem myself, has it been fixed for 1.4?

2017-03-03, 13:27:00
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2018-06-18, 22:15:28
Reply #4

actrask

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
    • actrask.com
Hi, has this been fixed?

2018-08-09, 22:37:40
Reply #5

ynotsop

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
So I guess it is not possible to create a material with multiple displacements? I am creating a tyre and I basically need to have two displacement maps, one for the thread pattern and one for the channels and both need to have different values/depths. I've tried making it with CoronaLayeredMtl but I only get the displacement from the base material.

2018-08-09, 22:40:39
Reply #6

iancamarillo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 250
    • View Profile
plug that displacement map into a CoronaDisplacementMod

2019-01-15, 10:43:25
Reply #7

pmcf1981

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
hi guys

i think is the same problem ....
 
iam using corona layer material and sometimes i have issues different reactions in iR

https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php?topic=23190.0

2019-08-20, 04:37:40
Reply #8

slowgojoe

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Bump.


I'm trying to create a layered material that uses a coronadistance map to make a beachfront material (grass transitioning to soft sand, transitioning to wet sand underwater, all driven by an altitude range or the water as the distance object)

All 3 ground materials have displacement maps which i'd like to include.

What would be the best way to go about creating this?

2019-08-20, 22:00:37
Reply #9

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1053
    • View Profile
Hi slowgojoe.

All displacement maps has to be placed in the base layer, so you need to build a layered displacement map (nested mixmaps) with the same masks that are used in layered materials.

This is quite cumbersome, but until Corona makes it possible to read the displacement maps from all layered materials, this is the way to go.

Hope it helps

2020-01-17, 15:02:10
Reply #10

Bjoershol

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hi slowgojoe.

All displacement maps has to be placed in the base layer, so you need to build a layered displacement map (nested mixmaps) with the same masks that are used in layered materials.

This is quite cumbersome, but until Corona makes it possible to read the displacement maps from all layered materials, this is the way to go.

Hope it helps

Thank you, that works!