Author Topic: First test renders on Sketchup  (Read 66708 times)

2016-06-26, 22:29:05
Reply #75

novena

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • my online portfolio
hello guys,
today I had my first contact with Corona for Sketchup, so this is my very first test
80 passes in 25 min on a laptop i7-4810 mq @2.8 GHz
for this scene I used UHD for global illumination
my wish list: bitmap to Control speculars (reflections), switch to turn sun ON/OFF, hdri support, material override option.
this software is promising!!

2016-07-05, 00:46:30
Reply #76

novena

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • my online portfolio
hi guys,
here comes a couple test images with Sketchup + Corona for Sketchup + Skatter...
wonder if normal bump is considered on the roadmap?

2016-07-05, 04:50:30
Reply #77

spadestick

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
wow.. the guy looks pretty convincing!

2016-07-18, 23:51:30
Reply #78

novena

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • my online portfolio
Hello guys,
Here come some few test renders, I was testing with 3D furniture from the Carl Hansen web page, the models were exported as collada (.dae) from Blender, and then imported in sketchup
When I exported the .dae as quads and imported to sketchup the UVs looked fine in the viewport but were completelly messed when rendered (see first 2 images), when exported the .dae as triangles the UVs were fine in both viewport and render
It would be nice to have lights / light material, and portal lights

2016-07-19, 10:29:32
Reply #79

Ryuu

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 597
  • Michal
    • View Profile
When I exported the .dae as quads and imported to sketchup the UVs looked fine in the viewport but were completelly messed when rendered (see first 2 images)

Could you please file a bug report for this issue with the scene attached for testing? (https://corona-renderer.com/bugs)

2016-08-02, 22:30:13
Reply #80

novena

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • my online portfolio
When I exported the .dae as quads and imported to sketchup the UVs looked fine in the viewport but were completelly messed when rendered (see first 2 images)

Could you please file a bug report for this issue with the scene attached for testing? (https://corona-renderer.com/bugs)

Hi Ryuu!
I reported this issue with the scene attached, sorry for my delayed reply I just came back from holidays
best
V

2016-08-03, 09:13:51
Reply #81

Ryuu

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 597
  • Michal
    • View Profile
It wouldn't have mattered if you reported it sooner. I'm still busy with core and Max-related tasks, so I didn't have the opportunity to touch SketchUp code in quite some time. Thanks for the testing scene.

2016-08-22, 15:32:48
Reply #82

Ang

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Thank´s Ryuu for the last release. The new features work well and I feel that with the latest version of Corona rendering core, it render faster.
I attached some pictures I'm doing for a customer.
« Last Edit: 2016-08-22, 16:11:35 by Angel Galera »
2 xeon 2658 / i7 5820K /i7 3770

2016-08-22, 15:40:55
Reply #83

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Hehe, 2 hours for 1844*865 image :D Good old sketchup with 100% white materials :D

2016-08-22, 15:54:08
Reply #84

Ang

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Yes I went to the market and leave the computer rendering two hours :)
The render times are faster than the previous beta
« Last Edit: 2016-08-22, 16:03:39 by Angel Galera »
2 xeon 2658 / i7 5820K /i7 3770

2016-08-22, 16:25:00
Reply #85

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9191
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
What Ludvik (probably) meant was that most Sketchup assets are not Corona-ready. Like pure 255 white walls, which cause long render times. We will need to wait for a nice Corona for Sketchup helpdesk, or you can already see Max guides and tutorials here:
http://corona-renderer.com/help/
https://www.youtube.com/user/CoronaRenderer

2016-08-22, 16:38:50
Reply #86

Ang

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Thanks Maru, I didn´t know that :)
2 xeon 2658 / i7 5820K /i7 3770

2016-08-22, 16:46:12
Reply #87

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9191
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
You're welcome. Corona is super simple to set up, but still there are some basic principles which need to be followed for best/fastest results.

2016-08-23, 07:46:41
Reply #88

Ryuu

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 597
  • Michal
    • View Profile
That's a good point. I could probably add some warning when such materials are found during scene parsing.

2016-08-23, 17:47:25
Reply #89

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9191
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
That's a good point. I could probably add some warning when such materials are found during scene parsing.
I guess we are all hoping for a warning system similar to the 3dsmax one in the near future. :)
https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/folders/5000273797