Author Topic: Hardware  (Read 8219 times)

2012-09-25, 10:32:12

Paul Jones

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Just wondering what hardware you guys are running, maybe it's time for a benchmark scene?

2012-09-25, 11:10:42
Reply #1

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
i7-2600(K), the golden standard ;). I actually have one benchmark scene for Corona that I've been using for a year ;). But it is from quite outdated build
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-09-25, 11:54:29
Reply #2

michaltimko

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Coronaut (c)
    • View Profile
i7 2600k oced to 4,4 and i7 920 :)
Coronaut!(c)2011

Supporting Corona in commercial projects since pre-alpha

2012-09-25, 14:17:51
Reply #3

Javadevil

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile

i2700k,  i2600k, AMD 1090t and two others not worth mentioning :)

I haven't tried corona on the 1090t since its not compatible with Embree.


2012-09-25, 16:06:15
Reply #4

hglr123

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
i7 2600K

2012-09-25, 16:09:47
Reply #5

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
2x Xeon E5520
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2012-09-25, 18:14:49
Reply #6

michaltimko

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Coronaut (c)
    • View Profile
2x Xeon E5520

Double cpu mobo ? Can you post some specs ?
Coronaut!(c)2011

Supporting Corona in commercial projects since pre-alpha

2012-09-25, 21:54:26
Reply #7

Paul Jones

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
OK - so no one has an uber mentalist machine!

I've got

i7 3770k oc'd to 4.3ghz with 8gb ram and an ssd
dual xeon x5355 with 8gb ram and 4 x 250gb hdd in raid 10, gfx 570gtx with 2.5gb ram

the i7 is sometimes 2.5x the speed of the xeon :S

2012-09-27, 14:16:25
Reply #8

Ocram

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
i7 2600
 +
 i7 2630

2012-10-24, 13:13:12
Reply #9

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
Core 2 Quad Q6600, the old golden star hhh

2012-10-24, 13:31:50
Reply #10

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Some old things here on my side :)

2 x Dual Quads Xeon E5320
3 x Dual Xeons
1 x Core2Quad Q9550

Please implement DR asap :)
« Last Edit: 2012-10-24, 17:21:01 by NicolasC »
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2012-10-24, 15:29:05
Reply #11

Oltskul

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 156
  • "Whoa, that is lot of boxes!" Adam West
    • View Profile
Q6600 FTQ!
Corona is like some king of addictive game... "Just one... More... Render... Before... Then i will do something... Useful"

HALT!Ausnahmezeit

2012-10-24, 15:38:54
Reply #12

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Q6600 FTQ!
Yeah, it seems there are lots of Q6600 users. But then, maybe it's because they have more time to post in this thread while waiting for renders ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-10-24, 17:08:47
Reply #13

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9225
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Beat this:

Lenovo Edge 15
i3 370m @ 2,4GHz
4GB RAM
intel HD graphics

or:


Core2Duo E8400 @ 3,0GHz
4GB RAM
But I haven't tried running corona on this pc yet.

2012-10-26, 04:23:23
Reply #14

Sam75

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz

2012-10-26, 08:50:39
Reply #15

andreupuig

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • APtecture
i7 2600k@default

2 notebook i7, one 1.7ghz the other 2.0ghz

I haven't a powerful rig, but I'm waiting for distributed rendering.

2012-11-25, 23:52:13
Reply #16

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Benchmark scene is ready and will be launched soon ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-12-13, 19:14:45
Reply #17

zouhair_psi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
i have a i7-3930k 3.20GHz , 16 go memory ,and a gtx670

2012-12-21, 22:30:47
Reply #18

dschaga

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
another q6600 at home
.. and  i7-980 at work , but there i will not (can't) use corona until IES lights are ready to test ;)