Author Topic: Adaptivity/Denoising rendering playground  (Read 23614 times)

2016-03-03, 08:31:39
Reply #30

Noah45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 429
  • press *1
    • View Profile
What is the best use of 'Noise limit'?
Retail Illustrator  (for ever' 80's )
3DMax 2020/Corona Version: 6DB

2016-03-03, 10:10:40
Reply #31

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6398
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
hi guys,
with adaptivity and denoising, when I click stop the rendering progress it can't be stopped immediately just like usual ... I have to wait for few minutes and for big 4k px image it needs about more than 20 minutes to stop. my CPU is i7-4770.
do you guys experience this? is it a normal thing? if it is true, I think it would be better if after click stop there is a note pop out explain about denoising progress is starting. it makes the user know what's happening

Yes, denoising requires additional time to compute... and additional RAM too, unfortunatelly. And no No NO NOOOO to additional pop ups, we have enough of those already. Simple message in render progress window should be more than enough.

What is the best use of 'Noise limit'?

Same as pass limit or time limit, but in this case it will stop rendering process based on residual noise.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2016-03-03, 11:41:31
Reply #32

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9601
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
@Nekrobul: I am also curious about seeing this as an animation - especially if the car would turn - the reflections on its sides

Yep, denoising makes my PC want to explode. It sounds like a starting F16 during the denoising.

2016-03-03, 12:21:14
Reply #33

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
With my simple test, I have a very strange behaviors:

FULL HD  - Internal resolution 2 - AA filters ON

Regular render 3.9 Million rays : 3 min 40 sec
ADAPT ON 3.1 Million rays: 4 min 24 sec
ADAPT ON + DENOISE 1.0 1.7 Million rays = 6 min 43 sec


FULL HD  - Internal resolution 1 - AA filters OFF


Regular render 3.9 Million rays : 3 min 45 sec
ADAPT ON 3.1 Million rays: 4 min 24 sec
ADAPT ON + DENOISE 1.0 2.1 Million rays = 5 min 41 sec


2016-03-03, 18:51:34
Reply #34

Noah45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 429
  • press *1
    • View Profile
Simple test. A 480px image. A) 100 pass, unfiltered 2:34 B) Adapt_Denoise_1r_0% 2:43 C) Adapt_Denoise_1r_20% :48
This will work great for my workflow. B) same time, better image C) 60% less time, comparable results

Did a 200 frame 480px animation of C) Adapt_Denoise_1r_20% :48, clean results
Retail Illustrator  (for ever' 80's )
3DMax 2020/Corona Version: 6DB

2016-03-03, 19:08:59
Reply #35

aldola

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
hi noah45, how do you give a percentage to th adaptativity?

2016-03-03, 19:12:18
Reply #36

Noah45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 429
  • press *1
    • View Profile
hi noah45, how do you give a percentage to th adaptativity?

It's the noise limit % (below pass limit)
Retail Illustrator  (for ever' 80's )
3DMax 2020/Corona Version: 6DB

2016-03-03, 19:16:09
Reply #37

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1432
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
This is a crop of a rendering (zoom x4) which has never cleaned up, consisting of a recfractive glass, dof setup and 4 corona lights with visibility enabled except direct visibility.

1. 200 passes (you can render 500 passes it won´t get much better)
2. 200 passes with adaptivity enabled
3. 200 passes with adaptivity enabled and denoise 1px

Looks like it works very good in this situation.

Good Luck
Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2016-03-03, 20:43:55
Reply #38

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
I think it was a bug. Ondra already solved it )

Frood: i know very well your problem. I'm very glad to see how adapt is able to solve this situation!

2016-03-04, 03:16:23
Reply #39

Christa Noel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 911
  • God bless us everyone
    • View Profile
    • dionch.studio
hi guys,
with adaptivity and denoising, when I click stop the rendering progress it can't be stopped immediately just like usual ... I have to wait for few minutes and for big 4k px image it needs about more than 20 minutes to stop. my CPU is i7-4770.
do you guys experience this? is it a normal thing? if it is true, I think it would be better if after click stop there is a note pop out explain about denoising progress is starting. it makes the user know what's happening

Yes, denoising requires additional time to compute... and additional RAM too, unfortunatelly. And no No NO NOOOO to additional pop ups, we have enough of those already. Simple message in render progress window should be more than enough.

What is the best use of 'Noise limit'?

Same as pass limit or time limit, but in this case it will stop rendering process based on residual noise.

ah yes romullus, pop up can be an annoying thing. but I think a note for denoising progress is still a need wherever it placed.

2016-03-04, 09:16:11
Reply #40

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6398
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
ah yes romullus, pop up can be an annoying thing. but I think a note for denoising progress is still a need wherever it placed.

Absolutely. Let's hope it will be fixed before final release.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2016-03-04, 09:26:32
Reply #41

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1432
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
I think it was a bug. Ondra already solved it )

Really? I only know of two resolved issues regarding noise and IES lights lately, but let´s see!

Good Luck
Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2016-03-04, 13:12:42
Reply #42

lmikkelb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Been testing the denoise, and i have a question. Is it possible to apply the denoise only to light passes? If you prioritise AA sampling, and the denoise could take care of the direct and indirect light noise?

2016-03-08, 11:12:25
Reply #43

lasse1309

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
hey!
this is bomb :)
just tested it on current projects, showed the collegues and they are freaking out (almost as much as when i first introduced the mighty corona to them)
the only feature i would ask for - because this would drive it to perfection:

we are using a lot network rendering, so we are not able to "tweak" the denoising amount manually on rendertime - and
maybe it can be useful to blend the denoise amount in different areas in the picture differently.

therefore i think a render-element with denoise amount of 1 would be very great to blend it manually
with the un-denoised beauty pass in post.

edit:
the CShading_Components can be used for that.
with all components checked you get an un-denoised beautypass :)

perfect!



lasse
« Last Edit: 2016-03-08, 11:18:10 by lasse1309 »

2016-03-08, 12:48:54
Reply #44

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1068
    • View Profile
Hi. Did some testing too. I used my usual test-file (Definline Modernist Showroom).

A) Is a 100 pass render without adaptive and denoiser. Rendertime: 11min. 42 sec. Corona version: 1.4 daily 2016-03-02
B) Is a 50 pass render with adaptive and denoiser (radius: 0,5). Rendertime: 5min. 24sec. Corona version: 1.4 daily 2016-03-06

I've tested other scenes ass well, and i find that for medium sized renders in most cases a denoising radius at 0,5 will make it possible to render only the half amount of passes as before (without adt & denoiser), without loosing important details.

It's great times for Corona users :)