Author Topic: Will the new standalone give some life to the Blender integration?  (Read 48606 times)

2016-08-08, 14:38:31
Reply #15

blanchg

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
    • Blender exporter for Corona
That works like magic :)

Making some good progress now.

Thanks

2016-08-11, 23:45:33
Reply #16

blanchg

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
    • Blender exporter for Corona
It appears that using a globalMedium causes a crash on the last build.

This is the assertion that fails:
Code: [Select]
File: ..\..\CoronaLib\io\XmlValidator.cpp
Line: 68
Condition: &validatedNode
Build timestamp: Aug  8 2016 12:57:04, OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (6.1.7601)

I attached a small demonstration scene to reproduce the error.

Remove the globalMedium definition and the scene works

2016-08-16, 05:54:41
Reply #17

blanchg

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
    • Blender exporter for Corona
A few more questions:

1. using -mtlPreview how can I specify material maps correctly? Do I have to inline all their definitions? This can be quite tricky for some complex graphs

2. using -mtlPreview the documentation says that writing \0 to the stream will trigger the render and leave the process running.  I can't seem to trigger that, it appears that closing stdin is the only way to trigger the render and it exits the process.

3. the https://corona-renderer.com/wiki/standalone/mtl-maps doesn't appear to be up to date with the standalone executable, is that because I am using a preview version?  If so is there any info on when updated documentation might become available?

Thanks very much for any feedback.

2016-08-16, 11:16:34
Reply #18

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
A few more questions:

1. using -mtlPreview how can I specify material maps correctly? Do I have to inline all their definitions? This can be quite tricky for some complex graphs

2. using -mtlPreview the documentation says that writing \0 to the stream will trigger the render and leave the process running.  I can't seem to trigger that, it appears that closing stdin is the only way to trigger the render and it exits the process.

3. the https://corona-renderer.com/wiki/standalone/mtl-maps doesn't appear to be up to date with the standalone executable, is that because I am using a preview version?  If so is there any info on when updated documentation might become available?

Thanks very much for any feedback.

1) yes, you have to inline it currently. The use-case here is automated export, so it should not be a dealbreaker though

2) I tried it and it works, can you try the attached file?

3) I try to keep it up-to-date (with the daily builds version), have you spotted any specific problems?
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-08-16, 12:22:34
Reply #19

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
It appears that using a globalMedium causes a crash on the last build.

This is the assertion that fails:
Code: [Select]
File: ..\..\CoronaLib\io\XmlValidator.cpp
Line: 68
Condition: &validatedNode
Build timestamp: Aug  8 2016 12:57:04, OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (6.1.7601)

I attached a small demonstration scene to reproduce the error.

Remove the globalMedium definition and the scene works
<globalMedium> needs full material definition now, not only string with material name. I updated the documentation, and I will also update the application so it does not crash but does proper error message
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-08-16, 13:42:50
Reply #20

avl

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
2. using -mtlPreview the documentation says that writing \0 to the stream will trigger the render and leave the process running.  I can't seem to trigger that, it appears that closing stdin is the only way to trigger the render and it exits the process.
The problem probably, that an internal I/O buffer is not flushed. E.g. \0 resides in a buffer and Corona haven't seen it.
Something like this should help, if using python (can't test right now the code, but the idea should be clear)
Code: [Select]
a = subprocess.run(['Corona_Release.exe', '-mtlPreview'], stdin=subprocess.PIPE)
a.stdin.write('0.3 200 200 test.png\n')
a.stdin.write('<material class="Native"><diffuse>0.8 0.8 0.8</diffuse></material>\n\0')
a.stdin.flush()
« Last Edit: 2016-08-16, 14:15:00 by avl »

2016-08-17, 07:13:40
Reply #21

blanchg

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
    • Blender exporter for Corona
globalMedium works great fully specified

1. Ok thanks for the info, will modify the material preview output
2. It was some funny behavior of Python that prevented me from seeing this works (had to use bufsize=1 and universal_newlines=True).  This improves the material preview speed quite a bit.
3. The documentation is actually very good and I appreciate that it is there at all!
Only the Native material has some changes that aren't in the documentation
Native Material
alphaMode Missing
bsdfFlags Missing
displacement Missing (assume map)
castsShadows Not Available

<reflect>
bsdfType Missing

<volume>
sssMode Missing

Thanks once again for your help with this.

2016-08-17, 14:11:09
Reply #22

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
bsdfFlags and sssMode are just experimental/internal and should not be changed ;). Casts shadows was removed, I removed it from the doc. Alpha mode was added to the doc. Displacement will be added when its support is finalized
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-08-17, 14:11:30
Reply #23

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
btw what are you using the standalone for? ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-08-17, 22:25:42
Reply #24

blanchg

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
    • Blender exporter for Corona
btw what are you using the standalone for? ;)

I forked Joels blender exporter and have the majority of it working correctly, there are still a few areas that need to be cleaned up:
  • Matrials UI
  • Add new node based maps
  • Implement new binary object exporter

https://bitbucket.org/blanchg/render_corona/overview

Thanks for the quick replies it has made this process much easier !!

2016-08-18, 01:14:46
Reply #25

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 967
    • View Profile
Great!
Thank you, thank you both for your contributions.
If any help with testing and such will be needed along the way...

2016-08-18, 10:43:27
Reply #26

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Cool, let me know if you need any help. You can also contact me on skype if you want quicker answers
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-08-21, 22:33:46
Reply #27

blanchg

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
    • Blender exporter for Corona
I am having trouble with environment textures:

Code: [Select]
File: ..\..\CoronaStandalone\maps\Maps.cpp
Line: 123
Condition: uvMapper
Build timestamp: Aug  8 2016 12:57:04, OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (6.1.7601)

Using this in the scn file:
Code: [Select]
  <environment>
    <map class="Texture">
      <image>C:\Chocofur_Free_HDR_01\Chocofur_Free_HDR_01.jpg</image>
    </map>
  </environment>

Same thing happens using a .hdr file

Thanks!

2016-08-22, 10:24:17
Reply #28

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
I am having trouble with environment textures:

Code: [Select]
File: ..\..\CoronaStandalone\maps\Maps.cpp
Line: 123
Condition: uvMapper
Build timestamp: Aug  8 2016 12:57:04, OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (6.1.7601)

Using this in the scn file:
Code: [Select]
  <environment>
    <map class="Texture">
      <image>C:\Chocofur_Free_HDR_01\Chocofur_Free_HDR_01.jpg</image>
    </map>
  </environment>

Same thing happens using a .hdr file

Thanks!

Fixed, new build coming in!
BTW you should add me on skype, to make this feedback loop faster ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-09-28, 19:46:55
Reply #29

alan zirpoli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Hello everyone!

I WANT CORONA, and I'm using blender.
These days I thought about making a kickstarter campaign to fund some dev to create an opensource exporter addon or a dedicated blender version like for vray or octane.

I don't know anything about both crowdfunding and dev, so what do you think about it? Is there anything already in progress? Could it be done? Which would be a fund goal? Anybody interested?