Author Topic: Does phtotoshop have a paper space?  (Read 2331 times)

2016-03-17, 19:10:14

Alex Abarca

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 355
  • You have to go on and be crazy. Craziness is like
    • View Profile
    • www.alexabarcaviz.wordpress.com
Maybe some of you know what I am talking about. I usually render squared, and bring all my channels into PS, and thats where I decide on my composition...But I hate saving the file just before I crop and save the JPG. Its not really a big deal, but sometimes i F up and saved a cropped PS version.


2016-03-17, 19:23:31
Reply #1

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1350
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
I usually add a "Mask" layer at the very top:

- choose your crop as selection (be sure to have feather value of zero)
- invert selection
- fill with black

then always work with the full resolution. And when it comes to export:

- Ctrl + Click on the "Mask" layer (you get the opacity selection from that layer)
- invert selection
- Edit -> copy merged
- File -> New (this creates a fitting, empty document)
- Paste
- Then save to to web (maybe after change bit depth to 16 or 8)

This sounds complicated but if you know the shortcuts it´s a matter of seconds.

Another option is to work with Photoshops smart objects but I find it cumbersome.

Good Luck

P.S.: This should go to "General CG discussion"
« Last Edit: 2016-03-17, 19:42:36 by Frood »
Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2016-03-17, 19:35:16
Reply #2

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9189
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I am not 100% sure if I understand the question correctly, but if you move the image onto a new layer (just double click on "background" layer), or use smart objects, the cropped image should not be really cropped, you should be able to move it around, or resize the canvas again.

2016-03-17, 19:42:21
Reply #3

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1350
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
You are right, it´s not really cropped when you change the image size until you do a real crop. But the problem is: you cannot anymore just paste your updated content (new rendering/passes etc.), you have to move it around manually. No reasonable work possible like this if it´s more than one layer and one pass.

Good Luck

Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2016-03-17, 22:22:15
Reply #4

fco3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
For what I understand there is a option to not delete when cropping.
I remember using it a few times.

2016-03-18, 08:24:31
Reply #5

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3699
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
For what I understand there is a option to not delete when cropping.
I remember using it a few times.

This :- ).

And it does, the concept for 'paper space' in Photoshop is called 'Canvas'. As long as none of your layers are 'backgroud' (as Maru said).
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika