Author Topic: Car Paint  (Read 35414 times)

2012-09-28, 22:36:57

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Hi,

Today we (me and loocas) were experimenting with some car paint setups and some nice results came out of it, so i decided to share them with you. I am attaching Max file. The file is saved in Max 2013, so in case you use 2012 or 2011, you should try asking someone using 2013 to resave it for older version. (I know i could have done it, but you know, its evening, i am already tired, and lazy, and stuff... :) )

« Last Edit: 2012-09-28, 22:38:31 by Rawalanche »

2012-09-28, 22:59:43
Reply #1

alieneye

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • portfolio
the car paint shader setup depends on the lighting, models curvature and camera angles.
but the base is always  the same:
falloff on diffuse and 2 reflection layers (sharp for top lacquer layer and blurry for speckles simulation)

Edit: sorry, accidentally edited your post... :) -Rawalanche
Edit: thank you, my English is still not good! :)
« Last Edit: 2012-09-28, 23:20:06 by alieneye »

2012-09-28, 23:12:16
Reply #2

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Actually i found it to be a bit more complex than that, if you want to create really believable car paint ;)

2012-09-28, 23:18:03
Reply #3

alieneye

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • portfolio
yes, actually it is more complex,
but my quick setup still looks better ;)


scene: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/13722035/corona/car_paint2.max
« Last Edit: 2012-09-28, 23:23:33 by alieneye »

2012-09-28, 23:30:59
Reply #4

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Sometimes simple setup is not enough, but yes, in most cases, where you do not replicate any real reference, this works fine ;)

2012-10-18, 15:54:21
Reply #5

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9410
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
How do you setup multiple reflection layers in Corona?

btw this renderer is amazing, squeezes all the power from my i3 laptop!

2012-10-18, 15:58:33
Reply #6

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
How do you setup multiple reflection layers in Corona?

btw this renderer is amazing, squeezes all the power from my i3 laptop!

Right now, only blend material for material layering is supported...  in future, material layering functionality will be enhanced. For simple layered material example, refer to scene files posted above ;)

2013-01-14, 15:14:01
Reply #7

jrcenator

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Hi Rawa, just want to ask simple (maybe noob) question :)
How can I make material preview for corona in 3dsmax material slot less grainy and more clearer?
Thanks man

2013-01-14, 21:07:42
Reply #8

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Hi Rawa, just want to ask simple (maybe noob) question :)
How can I make material preview for corona in 3dsmax material slot less grainy and more clearer?
Thanks man

Unfortunatelly, it is not possible yet. But it's known issue which i am convincing Keymaster to fix for a while already. Hopefully, it will get through to the next alpha. As a temporary solution, you can disable usage of custom material editor scene in the render settings. That will revert mat. editor previews to old, but less noisy ones :)

2013-01-14, 23:18:53
Reply #9

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
I'll just add material editor quality slider to settings...
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-01-15, 04:45:56
Reply #10

jrcenator

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Hi Rawa, just want to ask simple (maybe noob) question :)
How can I make material preview for corona in 3dsmax material slot less grainy and more clearer?
Thanks man

Unfortunatelly, it is not possible yet. But it's known issue which i am convincing Keymaster to fix for a while already. Hopefully, it will get through to the next alpha. As a temporary solution, you can disable usage of custom material editor scene in the render settings. That will revert mat. editor previews to old, but less noisy ones :)

Thanks Man, really helpfull :).

I'll just add material editor quality slider to settings...

Can't wait for this :)

2013-06-14, 20:14:11
Reply #11

Tylox

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Hi Guys,

someone could re save in 3dsmax 2012 ? please !!!

Regards.

2013-07-10, 15:57:29
Reply #12

borislemke

  • Guest
I wonder if Corona allows to create Candy and Pearlescent color paint types. I've been experimenting with the materials for quite a bit. Maybe it's just me :/

2013-07-10, 17:09:31
Reply #13

Nupsi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
yes, actually it is more complex,
but my quick setup still looks better ;)
Now that´s what I call a nice car paint-shader :-) Well done, alieneye!
Thanks a lot, to both of you!

LG
Nupsi

2013-08-12, 14:57:30
Reply #14

Alan

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
hey Rawalanche, can you resave to 3ds 2012 please?!

2013-09-01, 21:53:56
Reply #15

Ahmednibo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Hi guys ... I'm facing a problem when trying to open these files on 3ds max 2013 64 bit ...I had this message "Error  loading paramblock2"  I don know what does it mean ..if anyone can help

2013-09-01, 22:12:49
Reply #16

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
Hi guys ... I'm facing a problem when trying to open these files on 3ds max 2013 64 bit ...I had this message "Error  loading paramblock2"  I don know what does it mean ..if anyone can help
Merge! This help to you!
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-09-01, 22:34:39
Reply #17

Ahmednibo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Hi guys ... I'm facing a problem when trying to open these files on 3ds max 2013 64 bit ...I had this message "Error  loading paramblock2"  I don know what does it mean ..if anyone can help
Merge! This help to you!

Great ..it works well ...thanks

2014-01-09, 10:24:39
Reply #18

boumay

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Helllo
Could you post a max 2012 version of the file? It would be nice since I don't have access to max 2013 or 2014.
Thank you

2014-03-11, 09:51:33
Reply #19

naikku

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
I am using 2012 also and I would like it too in 2012-format :)

2014-03-25, 22:10:00
Reply #20

ronaldjung

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Great materials!

The only change for my was increase the Fresnel IOR to 3,0 in the Material2.

See you

Ronald

2014-04-09, 16:53:41
Reply #21

Jetboy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
yes, actually it is more complex,
but my quick setup still looks better ;)


scene: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/13722035/corona/car_paint2.max
What about metallic carpaint without shellac ? ) BTW, I solved it using normal gradient ramp as mask for reflection type and IOR.

2014-05-15, 11:10:56
Reply #22

david.tikwa

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
could someone tell me exactly how to achive this carpaint? because i cant load the max files :/ (working in 2014 )

2014-05-15, 12:27:13
Reply #23

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6247
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
There's some problem with this file, but you can still open it as material library.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-06-09, 04:40:12
Reply #24

3DsMaxUser_Corona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
yes, actually it is more complex,
but my quick setup still looks better ;)


scene: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/13722035/corona/car_paint2.max

Hey thank you very much for posting this.
I just came online to check for some carpaint help, and bam, there you are.

The blend function is simple but effective. I too was looking for a multi reflection setting, like I would do with a finalRender arch material.

2014-07-17, 08:12:49
Reply #25

phadron

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
yes, actually it is more complex,
but my quick setup still looks better ;)


scene: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/13722035/corona/car_paint2.max

many errors loading car_paint2.max...
can you upload a 2014 version?
tnx!

2014-07-17, 08:39:49
Reply #26

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6247
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
many errors loading car_paint2.max...
can you upload a 2014 version?
tnx!
Just merge a file in new scene or open it as material library. Both methods works perfectly in max 2014.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-04-30, 01:42:35
Reply #27

kumodot

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 315
  • Corona ADDICTED and Evangelist
    • View Profile
    • Kumodot
Any News for a better Layered Shader/MultiLayered shader for Corona ? I miss it so much. ;(
Your Portuguese is worse than my english.
--------------------------------------------
3DGeneralist/Vfx Supervisor

2015-05-11, 04:05:33
Reply #28

pBarrelas

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
It's being implemented a better blend material that will allow to build more complex setups. I'm also very interested on this new blend material as I do automotive visualization.

2015-05-11, 04:08:13
Reply #29

pBarrelas

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
yes, actually it is more complex,
but my quick setup still looks better ;)


scene: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/13722035/corona/car_paint2.max
Can you describe your setup, as I'm a C4D user and want to check if your setup is similar to mine?

2015-05-17, 21:58:23
Reply #30

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 460
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
Can you describe your setup, as I'm a C4D user and want to check if your setup is similar to mine?
Had a look at the materials myself, thought I could post the setup for you.
Thanks for the materials.

             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

2015-05-17, 22:45:48
Reply #31

pBarrelas

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Can you describe your setup, as I'm a C4D user and want to check if your setup is similar to mine?
Had a look at the materials myself, thought I could post the setup for you.
Thanks for the materials.


Thanks for sharing, that is similar to my setup!