Author Topic: Alpha3 released!  (Read 39802 times)

2012-10-06, 23:17:50

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Warning: this is an outdated build, use Alpha v5 instead

Hi,
I've finally created the Corona Alpha v3 build. It is in this post attachement. It is subject to the Corona licence/disclaimer. The installation instructions are here.

What's new in this build - major new features/tweaks/bugfixes
Just the most important changes - there are too many small tweaks to list them all
  • 3dsmax 2013 is now supported
  • Micro-triangle displacement added! (still somewhat unoptimized though)
  • Motion blur added!
  • There is now interactive documentation for the renderer settings
  • 3dsmax interface for render elements now supported!
  • Optional custom material editor scene
  • Bokeh effect
  • Better direct lighting sampling (combined direct light solver)
  • Corona Solid texture added (for blackbody emission, HDR color input)
  • Corona Mix texture added
  • Added blend material support
  • Internal color space changed to XYZ (more plausible shading)
  • Corona Sun is now supported by the daylight assembly
  • Added masking render element
  • CoronaMtl displayed better in viewport, lights are selectable, ...
  • C:/!Corona folder is no longer needed - corona saves logs to default 3dsmax plugin configuration directory
  • Per-material background overrides added
  • UI is better, defunct features hidden, better defaults
Important links
Known problems
  • Some combinations of fakes are not working correctly (e.g. invisible light + object with no shadows)
  • Plugins/components not supported: Hair & Fur, XMesh, HSDS, NormalBump, Bercon maps
  • Instancing with MTD sometimes creates suboptimally subdivided meshes
  • Large-scale use of MTD can cause excessive memory usage
  • Motion blur of objects with changing topology not supported
  • HDcache flickers in animations (unless save/load is used)
Future plans
Next big thing added to Corona will be Bidirectional path tracing (for better unbiased rendering of caustics) and better, more powerful system for artistic control fakes (visible to camera/reflections/refractions/...). Next alpha build will probably also have some sort of subsurface scattering (SSS) and better support for animations (temporal blending of caches). In either case, I'd love to get your feedback - what features would you like, what you like and dont like about Corona, etc. Just look around the forum, there are many threads in which you can participate.

« Last Edit: 2013-06-13, 11:02:19 by Keymaster »
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-10-08, 22:26:38
Reply #1

alieneye

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • portfolio
Great! Thank you!

2012-10-08, 23:10:00
Reply #2

Tom Zamorin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
    • my gallery
Very nice!
But there is no version for old cpu ... ((

2012-10-08, 23:12:37
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
oops... I'll add it ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-10-08, 23:18:07
Reply #4

Tom Zamorin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
    • my gallery
Ondra, You the best!

2012-10-08, 23:27:07
Reply #5

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
legacy build added
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-10-09, 02:54:31
Reply #6

Javadevil

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile

Brilliant !!

When did Corona sun start using the Daylight assembly ?

I missed that one.

cheers

2012-10-09, 09:02:53
Reply #7

Ocram

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Great job! Thank you! :)

2012-10-09, 13:12:51
Reply #8

loocas

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile

2012-10-17, 13:35:51
Reply #9

higgledyhiggles

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
looks good.
can`t get the download to work at all though.?
is it offline ?

2012-10-17, 13:42:18
Reply #10

higgledyhiggles

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
never mind either you fixed it or the internet woke up.
got it now, thanks.

2012-10-18, 01:05:14
Reply #11

Archangel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Apsolutley Great work!!!. Such quality and realism , and yet ina alpha stage......... Amazyng!!!.

Ty!, so much for this.

2012-10-18, 09:43:07
Reply #12

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Hello there :)

Further to the advice of 3 friends (at least :P ) I have around here, I wanted to test Corona .... but I don't know why, 3dsmax keeps on displaying this error when starting (screenshot enclosed) :(
Any idea, please ? I'm stuck ... I followed the installation instruction detailed http://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php/topic,2.msg2.html#msg2, but no way !

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks in advance !
« Last Edit: 2012-10-18, 10:27:38 by NicolasC »
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2012-10-18, 09:51:54
Reply #13

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Hello there :)

Further to the advice of 2 friends (at least :P ) I have around here, I wanted to test Corona .... but I don't know why, 3dsmax keeps on displaying this error when starting (screenshot enclosed) :(
Any idea, please ? I'm stuck ... I followed the installation instruction detailed http://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php/topic,2.msg2.html#msg2, but no way !

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks in advance !

Hi,

I am afraid we do not support 32bit versions of Windows.... I am not completely sure that is the case, but it appears so...

2012-10-18, 09:55:20
Reply #14

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Yes, I know, but the fact is that I'm on Windows 7 x64 Ultimate ... nothing on 32b here ! hence my incomprehension :(
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor