Author Topic: Alpha3 released!  (Read 40164 times)

2012-10-18, 23:06:57
Reply #30

plasti

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
I had a similar error - try the legacy version

great thanks!!! u the man!!!!!!

2012-10-19, 04:10:51
Reply #31

GeorgeR

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
When will the sample scene be included?

2012-10-19, 21:41:45
Reply #32

HLeandre

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Arstation
Hi :) I'm new here.
I would like to test Corona but i have this message when 3ds Max started.

2012-10-19, 21:45:41
Reply #33

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
It looks like you have either not copied Corona_release.dll into the root folder of 3dsmax, or not installed the MSVC redistributable

_Edit:Definitely the first one (by looking at the first error message). Make sure you have the corona_release.dll copied into the 3dsmax root folder (where 3dsmax.exe is)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-10-19, 22:11:10
Reply #34

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
When will the sample scene be included?

Sample scene will be included with first beta release ;)

2012-10-19, 22:15:52
Reply #35

HLeandre

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Arstation
Thank you for your quick reply :)
Maybe I do something wrong. Now i have this error message.
Hope you can help me.

2012-10-19, 22:20:20
Reply #36

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
What version of windows do you use? I am guessing XP x64. Only newer ones (Vista+) are supported
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-10-19, 22:33:18
Reply #37

HLeandre

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Arstation
Windows Vista 64.

2012-10-19, 23:54:34
Reply #38

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Windows Vista 64.

Ooops ;). Just went over the code, looks like I forgot to fix the legacy-breaking parts of Embree last time I've integrated new version. So Alpha3 is Windows7+. I'll try to fix this for next stable version
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-10-20, 02:17:17
Reply #39

HLeandre

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Arstation
Ok. Thanks Keymaster. Is that mean I would wait for the next update, right?

2012-10-20, 02:18:10
Reply #40

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
yes... or upgrade to windows 7 :D
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-10-20, 05:48:09
Reply #41

GeorgeR

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
When will the sample scene be included?

Sample scene will be included with first beta release ;)

Great! Having a standard scene makes for good benchmarking :)

2012-10-22, 06:21:59
Reply #42

woshilvba

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Hi,
I've finally created the Corona Alpha v3 build. It is in this post attachement. It is subject to the Corona licence/disclaimer. The installation instructions are here.

What's new in this build - major new features/tweaks/bugfixes
Just the most important changes - there are too many small tweaks to list them all
  • 3dsmax 2013 is now supported
  • Micro-triangle displacement added! (still somewhat unoptimized though)
  • Motion blur added!
  • There is now interactive documentation for the renderer settings
  • 3dsmax interface for render elements now supported!
  • Optional custom material editor scene
  • Bokeh effect
  • Better direct lighting sampling (combined direct light solver)
  • Corona Solid texture added (for blackbody emission, HDR color input)
  • Corona Mix texture added
  • Added blend material support
  • Internal color space changed to XYZ (more plausible shading)
  • Corona Sun is now supported by the daylight assembly
  • Added masking render element
  • CoronaMtl displayed better in viewport, lights are selectable, ...
  • C:/!Corona folder is no longer needed - corona saves logs to default 3dsmax plugin configuration directory
  • Per-material background overrides added
  • UI is better, defunct features hidden, better defaults
Important links
Known problems
  • Some combinations of fakes are not working correctly (e.g. invisible light + object with no shadows)
  • Plugins/components not supported: Hair & Fur, XMesh, HSDS, NormalBump, Bercon maps
  • Instancing with MTD sometimes creates suboptimally subdivided meshes
  • Large-scale use of MTD can cause excessive memory usage
  • Motion blur of objects with changing topology not supported
  • HDcache flickers in animations (unless save/load is used)
Future plans
Next big thing added to Corona will be Bidirectional path tracing (for better unbiased rendering of caustics) and better, more powerful system for artistic control fakes (visible to camera/reflections/refractions/...). Next alpha build will probably also have some sort of subsurface scattering (SSS) and better support for animations (temporal blending of caches). In either case, I'd love to get your feedback - what features would you like, what you like and dont like about Corona, etc. Just look around the forum, there are many threads in which you can participate.
  hi!!I‘m Newer!!!

2012-10-22, 11:27:35
Reply #43

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 397
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
lets try some woodoo debugging ;)
- download the build agan (to make sure it is not corrupted dowload)
- reinstall http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=13523
- make sure you are running the right 3dsmax (it should say x64 in the window header)
- try running it with admin rights

Hi,

Still no way to get it working ... always same error message :( I think I just can't use Corona then, apart on my laptop - that's not interesting, it's too slow ;)
That's a pity, but no matter for now.

Regards.
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2012-10-24, 11:58:08
Reply #44

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 397
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
I'm finishing a project here, and I'd really like to give Corona a try on a bunch of scenes I made here ... any chance to get some help trying to find where the problem comes from, please ? I mean, Corona is certainly the only one plugin I don't manage to run here, I'd like to understand ;)

Thanks.
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor