Author Topic: Slow/freezing material editor - looking for users with this problem!  (Read 15050 times)

2016-08-31, 15:20:57

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9110
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
We are looking for Corona users with the "slow/freezing material editor" issue. If you are experiencing this, please contact us so that we could find the source of the problem. The best way to contact us is either by using this form: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/tickets/new , or by sending an email to support@corona-renderer.com .

Please do not try applying any solutions, such as installing Windows Updates or MSVC++ 2015 redistributable, prior contacting us! The goal is to let our developers examine the problem thoroughly.

Feel free to ask any questions in this thread. 

2016-09-01, 18:53:24
Reply #1

erick3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
got it  many times..it came for me from some complex blend materials, was impossible even to rest material editor....but drag and drop  empty shader ball on blend mat.place solved the problem.

2016-09-08, 10:48:45
Reply #2

lukas.teuber

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hey. I got the same problem. C4D with alpha 5.1 and my material editor is incredibly slow. Like 20 sec all the time. But not everytime. Sometimes helped to switch the material editor preview element from basic sphere to the Corona_01(GI). But not always.

2016-09-08, 12:43:39
Reply #3

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9110
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Lukas, I think currently this mostly applies to 3ds Max users, but if you have some problem with the C4D version (the public one or a betatesting build?), you should definitely let us know:
https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/tickets/new

2016-09-16, 20:05:35
Reply #4

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
Here, we have this exact problem.
We have installed only VC++ 2012 and  VC++ 2015.
Windows update  is, more or less,  ok
Corona - v 16 September 2016

With  Corona 1.4 I have the same experience.
With  v1.3, no problem. Look at how fast is opened the MEditor with v1.3!



V1.3

« Last Edit: 2016-09-16, 20:50:41 by cecofuli »

2016-10-27, 03:36:08
Reply #5

marqueso

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
I am pretty sure I have this problem, as well as the material windows failing to update after tweaking them in Output or simply loading a new jpg into bitmap. I noticed a large slow down when i was editing the size of Page.sys file on my ssd. After I reset the settings slate Material Editor  was back to being just regular slow.

2016-11-10, 16:04:38
Reply #6

arqrenderz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 679
  • arqrenderz.com
    • View Profile
    • arqrenderz
It happens to me also, some times there is a BIG slow down when i pick  a material (im using compact material editor) from the scene, and also when i drag and drop to copy a material slot.

3dmax 2016 sp3 win 10

2016-11-15, 16:00:37
Reply #7

Frenkkk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
i have the same problem ,max 2015 design - corona 1.5.1 -  win 7

and sometimes the render setup windows il slow too



2016-11-15, 17:10:19
Reply #8

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1024
    • View Profile
Hi. After having installed v1,5 hf2 this has become extreme. It's impossible to work with the material editor if IR is running. So every material tweaking has to done without IR. Just like working with old mr.

It's painfully slow, and highly frustrating. No fun at all. Will try to see if reverting to hf1 (or older) solves it.

Dual Xeon v3, MaxDesign2014, win7

2016-11-15, 17:54:09
Reply #9

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
What about MVC++ and Windows update?
As you can see in my videos, I had this problem too.
But now, everything is ok.
Do you have a problem with 1.3? 1.4? 1.5 (not the daily versions)

2016-11-16, 12:31:45
Reply #10

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9110
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi. After having installed v1,5 hf2 this has become extreme. It's impossible to work with the material editor if IR is running. So every material tweaking has to done without IR. Just like working with old mr.

It's painfully slow, and highly frustrating. No fun at all. Will try to see if reverting to hf1 (or older) solves it.

Dual Xeon v3, MaxDesign2014, win7

Can you contact us about this here? https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/tickets/new

2016-11-16, 14:24:05
Reply #11

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1024
    • View Profile

2016-11-17, 21:32:19
Reply #12

arqrenderz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 679
  • arqrenderz.com
    • View Profile
    • arqrenderz
Im aback with a video showing the bug, and some insight about it, i been working all day with at least two max instanecs, one master file and the another is used to make some models, materials and so on for the master file.
after a while it becomes this laggy... its not instant, its like the more i have two instances and work on materials on both it becomes slugish..



2016-11-30, 13:25:15
Reply #13

niklasgodfrey

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • https://www.behance.net/niklasgodf70b7
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/niklasgodf70b7
I have the same problem. I've reverted back to corona 1.3 now which works fine for some reason. Non of my colleagues have this problem so it is very strange. What would you guys like to know when I send a ticket to the link you provided?

2016-11-30, 13:56:11
Reply #14

3dgraphics

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Hello, i get very ofen this problem, allways by bigger projects. It is really anoyng, this cut the workfow and is increasig
enormly the amount of stress by the work.