Author Topic: dubcats secret little hideout  (Read 109614 times)

2017-04-05, 10:41:30
Reply #45

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6066
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Yes, Photographic 1 (i don't use other two) works great on many bright low contrast scenes, but are unusable on darker, more contrasty scenes, as it gives so massive contrast, that is impossible to tone down, but to reduce lut opacity to 0,2 - 0,4 at which point there's little sense to use lut at all. Also, quite often i find that it's very hard, nearly impossible to recover highlights when using dubcat's luts. It just leaves big flat dead areas with no details. But in scenes, where it works, it works just great.

By the way, when using these luts, more than ever i wish that Corona VFB would have some controls for midtones.

That is my highly unprofessional impressions.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2017-04-05, 17:13:24
Reply #46

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6066
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Hey dubcat, is there a way to apply your luts in photoshop? I tried to load it through colour lookup adjustment layer and i get very different result than in Corona's VFB. Probably i'm doing something wrong here - i have little to none experience with such things.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2017-04-05, 22:17:27
Reply #47

miaz3

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
@dubCat :
Thats a basic dslr workflow. Like every photographer do.
Your LUT (From dcp or icc) mapped to your dslr sensor, with everything that goes with it (Dynamic range, bit depth, ect...).
And this LUT cannot be used on a C-300 or D500, even H6D-100C...even less 35mm cmos...
It can be taken for a generic LUT, but Dynamic range, bit depth, ect... cannot be mapped exactly.

So your lut can be mapped to a cg render, but not cover the entire dynamic range of cg render.
Your lut cover only 2^15, minimum raw cg render (16bit) is twice the level value. So like a say before, black or white value (in some cases) will be clipped.
Data level distribution, won't match either.

Anyways, nobody care about mapping lut.

2017-04-05, 22:36:33
Reply #48

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3750
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Anyways, nobody care about mapping lut.

I don't see what is the issue ?

It's free post-production tool, no one is holding gun against head of anyone. Do you provide some better one ?
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2017-04-06, 01:09:21
Reply #49

Hamburger

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Hey dubcat, is there a way to apply your luts in photoshop?

You can apply it through the Color Lookup layer. It works really well if you make it 50%. It gives a super nice contrast to exterior and interior renders I've tested to.
Maya 2016
Windows 10

2017-04-06, 10:22:35
Reply #50

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6066
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Hey dubcat, is there a way to apply your luts in photoshop?

You can apply it through the Color Lookup layer. It works really well if you make it 50%. It gives a super nice contrast to exterior and interior renders I've tested to.

I tried to load it through colour lookup adjustment layer and i get very different result than in Corona's VFB.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2017-04-06, 16:55:50
Reply #51

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 460
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
Hey dubcat, is there a way to apply your luts in photoshop?

If you're render is in in 32 bit, Photoshop will apply the LUT in linear.
Photoshop will also clip your render, so you are better off applying it in the new Corona app.
« Last Edit: 2017-04-06, 19:04:30 by dubcat »
             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

2017-04-06, 17:26:47
Reply #52

Marcus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • The Subdivision
Hey dubcat.

Thanks for your work on these LUTs and thanks for sharing it!
I really appreciate you effort on research and sharing everything to the community.

Here is a quick test with ...01.cube
I just applied the lut in Corona Frame Buffer. Nothing more.
I like it and will experiment further with it.

Best,
Marcus

2017-04-06, 19:15:00
Reply #53

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6066
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
If you're render is in in 32 bit, Photoshop will apply the LUT in linear.
Photoshop will also clip your render, so you are better off applying it in the new Corona app.

Yes, my render is 32 bit cessential render elements blended with linear dodge blend mode and on top of that is added colour lookup adjustment layer with your lut in normal blending mode, but result is very different than i get when apply the same lut in CVFB. Maybe i should have to change colour lookup layer's blending mode to linear dodge too?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2017-04-06, 19:36:30
Reply #54

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 460
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
LUTs behave as sRGB in Corona, and Photoshop 32bit behave as linear.

Nice Marcus :)
             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

2017-04-06, 20:13:48
Reply #55

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6066
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Oh, i see, so there's no way to get exact match between those two?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2017-04-06, 20:51:18
Reply #56

miaz3

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Anyways, nobody care about mapping lut.

I don't see what is the issue ?

It's free post-production tool, no one is holding gun against head of anyone. Do you provide some better one ?
I just provide additional information that would allow for better control.
To see where problems may arise, you can read my previous post.





2017-04-07, 09:52:19
Reply #57

JakubCech

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 128
  • jakubcech.net
    • View Profile
    • jakubcech
Angle Affect
This feature should be included in Corona if you ask me! I notice this effect each time I lay down, even on rough fabrics.
Next time you lie down in bed or drunk on the floor, try to look for this effect, and then go and +1 mantis!



This is a very important request. Almost all materials I do I input falloff to the ref glossiness map to mimic this behaviour. I think this could be default behaviour - I think 90% of materials work this way (visually). So +1 from me.

2017-04-12, 23:49:01
Reply #58

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 460
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
Oh, i see, so there's no way to get exact match between those two?

Totally forgot to reply, been busy with deadlines. I added a Linear version to the original post last Thursday, don't know if you noticed.
But remember that Photoshop will clip anything above 255 even if you are in 32bit, if you plan on doing adjustments after the LUT, you are better off applying it in Corona/Corona Image App.

edit:
Big thanks to JakubCech for the +1 :)
« Last Edit: 2017-04-14, 12:06:38 by dubcat »
             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

2017-04-13, 10:00:45
Reply #59

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6066
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I added a Linear version to the original post last Thursday, don't know if you noticed.

No, i didn't. Thanks for pointing that out, i will give it a test as soon as i will get a chance to do so. And big thanks for your effort in general!!!
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.