Author Topic: OFFICIAL Q/A: sRGB, gamma, color pickers, linear workflow, ...  (Read 16181 times)

2016-11-16, 18:29:49
Reply #15

astudio

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
    • A-Studio
Hi Dubcat.

Nice if you get displacement map from scaner. But it's not usual case in real work.
For example palm bark from evermotion looks completely flat comparing to real palms in our area. The question is what to do if I'd like to edit displacement map?

I made it in 8 bit before (attached), but after your threads about megascans and substance I think that 32 Bit will give me better result. So what to do?

2016-11-16, 19:29:34
Reply #16

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 452
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
Project the 8bit map in a sculpting program (eyeball intensity, since all the real data is gone).
Do the changes + 8bit clean up.
Export as 32bit.

But you know, in reality we can't do this to every single shitty displacement map out there, and intensity is all we have.
             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 / https://dubcatshideout.com  ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

2016-11-16, 20:21:07
Reply #17

astudio

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
    • A-Studio
Here is a point. As was noted by Romullus in my tests (attached before) photoshop gives wrong RGB values when you export to 32 Bit and it leads to wrong displacement values.  It's clearly visible in render. What program can I use for correct export to 32 Bit?

2016-11-16, 21:03:37
Reply #18

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5509
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
If you only want to convert your 8bit or 16bit displacement textures to 32bit and you think that doing that will somehow increase their quality, then don't bother, it won't. You can't add more information to map just by increasing its bit depth. You could do like dubcat suggested, displace geometry by low bith depth texture, tweak/fix/resculpt mesh and then properly bake displacement map from that geometry to 32bit texture, but the amount of work required for such operation, means that it's feasible only for single cases, unless you could find a way how to automate this process.
I'm not Corona Team member! Everything i say, is my personal opinion only. Render Legion does not endorse my words nor actions.

2016-11-17, 00:12:18
Reply #19

astudio

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
    • A-Studio
Not, of course. I'd like to manage 32 bit images, not just convert. This way I may to get incredible things from one plane only. Just need to learn to draw in 32 bit, for getting in 10 minutes exactly what you expect. ;) 
But there is for another thread. Thank you.
« Last Edit: 2016-11-17, 00:39:55 by astudio »

2017-07-07, 12:42:40
Reply #20

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8662
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2019-04-04, 11:39:43
Reply #21

Hilmar

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Hi
I have one question to all this different gamma loading thing.... I used to load the Maps as following: diffuse-leave it at 2.2, and gloss/ref/bump/normal/displacement with "overide 1.0" assuming they are all saved as JPGs. But, if I use a taken photo of a Surface and mix this in photoshop/quixel or substance to a bump or normal map and save that one as JPG …. do I have to use Gamma 1 as well, because it was degamma.ed when loading in PS?

Thanks in advance