Author Topic: Motion Blur (deformation and cache)  (Read 7156 times)

2016-11-22, 12:40:13

exr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Hi, would love to see proper motion blur with the Corona Renderer at some point down the beta/release stage.

What's missing is of course deformation motion blur and motion blur for cached animations such as from alembic files http://www.alembic.io, which is a pretty much industry standard workflow as it allows to pass animation caches down the pipe and get rid of all rig components etc. during lighting and rendering while streaming it directly from disk.

Alembic is implemented very well already in Cinema4D and adding support for its motion blur would be phenomenal!

2016-12-20, 18:03:13
Reply #1

cathor

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile

2017-02-15, 08:44:30
Reply #2

quadcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
1. When import alembic with something moving, no motion blur in render whereas is all ok in 3dsmax
2. No motion blur from deformers such as mesh deformer for example.
2. Also there is no velocity channel in multipass :(

2017-02-15, 08:46:11
Reply #3

quadcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile

2019-04-02, 09:58:48
Reply #4

Core2000

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile

2019-04-04, 11:10:00
Reply #5

mte

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
certainly a much cherished wish!

It's not the first time the wish has been stated, and it won't be the last. :)

2019-04-04, 11:27:55
Reply #6

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile

2019-04-15, 16:56:20
Reply #7

matteolegna

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile

2019-05-14, 21:00:24
Reply #8

Endorphine

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile

2019-06-18, 11:51:26
Reply #9

mte

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
any news on this one?
It looks like there's no interest from corona in making any improvements here?
MB is no even mentioned in V4. :(

really hope you change your mind some day.

2019-06-18, 13:11:27
Reply #10

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1509
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hi everyone! Sorry for the silence. We really want to add geometry motion blur, but it's hard to make any promises, because there might be a lot of coding involved and we were focusing on other issues. We will do some research and see if we can squeeze this feature into v5.

2019-06-19, 06:07:19
Reply #11

3dkobi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
That's sound great houska - This feature is very important

2019-06-19, 09:05:40
Reply #12

3dboomerang

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • Head of 3D
    • View Profile
    • 3DFLOW
About motion blur: does anyone else get artifacts when using camera-motion blur + the tilt-shift mode in the camera? It's as if corona is taking the "shift" of the camera as a movement and calculates in on top of the motion blur.

I use it alot, the vertical one, since I put all my cams on 90° straight, I can play with the vertical shift afterwards. But the shift is taken into account... right?

Anyone else getting this?

2019-06-19, 12:36:13
Reply #13

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1509
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
About motion blur: does anyone else get artifacts when using camera-motion blur + the tilt-shift mode in the camera? It's as if corona is taking the "shift" of the camera as a movement and calculates in on top of the motion blur.

Hi 3dboomerang!

I tried to add motion blur and vertical offset in a camera in a simple scene and it works as expected - no unexpected motion blur. There must be something else to it. Could you possibly share the scene with us?

2019-06-20, 09:28:54
Reply #14

3dboomerang

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • Head of 3D
    • View Profile
    • 3DFLOW
AS soon as I come across it again, i'll post

2019-06-23, 21:29:17
Reply #15

mte

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Thanks houska,

but I´m not talking about geometry motion blur only.
The basics are not working properly, like instances and legacy-x-refs.

2019-10-24, 14:31:00
Reply #16

robpayne

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
++++++

Deformation motion blur is the only thing that requires me to switch to another renderer these days. Why is it not even planned on the Trello board? It’s an essential feature.

2019-10-24, 19:21:40
Reply #17

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1509
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Thanks for that input robpayne. We know that there are limitations to the current implementation of motion blur and we are planning to do something about it. I added a note about it into the Trello planning board, but it's under "future ideas" so far. I think, however, that this is a pretty hot candidate to be fixed in the next release (that means v6)

2019-11-03, 16:04:05
Reply #18

benek

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Hey… was just interested to know whether deformation motion blur is still not possible in Corona? I was trying to render an alembic file but MB isn't working, even if I convert to C4D geometry with a point cache tag, still no moblur … I've been trying Corona for a couple of weeks now and I've been really impressed with it, but this seems like a big limitation to me.

2019-11-04, 13:03:39
Reply #19

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1509
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hey… was just interested to know whether deformation motion blur is still not possible in Corona? I was trying to render an alembic file but MB isn't working, even if I convert to C4D geometry with a point cache tag, still no moblur … I've been trying Corona for a couple of weeks now and I've been really impressed with it, but this seems like a big limitation to me.

Yup, deformation motion blur is not supported yet, I'm afraid :-(

2019-12-16, 09:11:41
Reply #20

Core2000

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
We have also some projects where we need full motion blur. With the object MB there are some problems with Xpresso Objects.
Full MB would be a main new feature for us.