Author Topic: Advice on new workstation build - Ryzen based  (Read 11719 times)

2017-04-01, 13:42:43
Reply #15

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4050
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Much better ! :- )
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2017-04-01, 13:49:44
Reply #16

Fritzlachatte

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
That was a close shave, for a split second I felt like one of those guys, who assert, they are reading the playboy because of the articles.

2017-04-03, 10:38:19
Reply #17

chopmeister

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • Polymachine
Just to let you know, tests with faster RAM will come as soon as the BIOS gods have mercy on us and give us an update.

Also, some actual production scene speed comparisons with both Vray and Corona will be in that update. ;)

2017-04-03, 19:52:06
Reply #18

raulmontiel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
I already got my r7 1700; i did some tests at stock speeds with the corona benchmark and it made it in 2:54mins, while my 5820k overcloked at 4.4ghz made it in 3:15mins ( i dont know if its something wrong with the 5820k because i've seen people doing it in 2:20mins or so)

cinebench r15 scores:

1700 @3.2ghz; ram@2133:  1480cb
5820k @4.4ghz; ram@2666: 1250cb
4770k @4.3ghz; ram@1333: 720cb
e3-1270v5@3.6; ram@2133: 758cb
« Last Edit: 2017-04-03, 20:00:16 by raulmontiel »

2017-04-13, 20:09:11
Reply #19

Energyzer

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Hello guys,

Just to let you know my rig is up and running. And it's AWESOME!
Currently running it @ 3,8Ghz + 2666 RAM CL16 (can't get tighter timings/higher frequencies for now).

Cinebench 15: 1542 (multithread)
Corona benchmark: 2:39

Build:
Ryzen 1700 @ 3,8Ghz
Asus x370 Prime PRO
G.Skill Trident Z CL15 32GB (16x2) @ 2666 CL16

Note: the stock cooler seems pretty good.

Let me know if you want me to try something specific with it.

Thanks for the pre build advice!

 


2017-04-14, 00:14:04
Reply #20

Nejc Kilar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 959
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Thanks really great, especially so if you consider how much you payed for it. Nice one! :)

2017-05-25, 01:10:37
Reply #21

springate

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Hi everyone! I've been following this topic for a while now because i'm interested in a similar workstation, but today i went to a local store and i was told about some compatibility issues between ryzen cpu and some chip(?) and the need of a very specific ram frequency. Does anyone know if the information proceeds? There are any precautions i should take on buying the amd cpu?

2017-05-25, 03:52:45
Reply #22

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 489
    • View Profile
Maybe that person meant memory? You need to check that the memory is compatible with the am4 motherboard, which are relatively new.
The cooler also needs to be compatible with am4 .
I can't imagine anything else.

2017-05-25, 04:07:09
Reply #23

springate

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Hi, Lupaz, thanks for your time! As soon as got home i started searching about the problem and i found this: https://www.pcgamesn.com/amd/amd-ryzen-memory-compatibility

What is presented in this link is the same issue i heard at the store. That is pretty new information, by the time i found out it has been released only 6 hours earlier

What you guys think?

2017-05-25, 10:01:57
Reply #24

Nejc Kilar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 959
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Quote
“It’s really only the B350 chipset motherboards that we’re seeing this hit and miss memory support,” said Prior. “This is down to the design of the board and how much time the manufacturer has invested into that board in maintaining support for high memory speeds.

I just quickly glanced over the article and it appears that its mainly the mid tier / lower tier chipsets that are affected. As far as I've heard most RAM woes have been ironed out so you should be fine.

That said, I would still do my research to find a 100% compatible chip (as I did for example for my ECC RAM build) just to be sure. I'd also search for a faster RAM because if I remember correctly there are more speed gains to be gained there compared to other CPUs - still not as drastic though.

2017-05-25, 16:38:29
Reply #25

springate

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Hi nkilar, thank you for yout time!
So i'd be fine with a x370 motherboard since its the top tier for am4, right?
Do you guys think 2400mhz ram will be enough or should i go for higher speeds like 3000mhz? Cant find 2666mhz. I remember what Juraj said about frequency doesn't change performance but i'd like to know a bit more about that.

2017-05-25, 17:13:02
Reply #26

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 489
    • View Profile
I bought the asrock taichi x370 and on their list of compatible memory the best they can do is 2400 in 16GB.
In 8GB there are more options, but...Who uses those chips anymore.

2017-05-25, 17:35:00
Reply #27

springate

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
I'm not sure if i fully understand what you said, lupaz...by 16gb you meant 16gb ram memory chip?

2017-05-25, 17:57:40
Reply #28

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 489
    • View Profile
Yup. You'll need at least 2 memory sticks. Either 2 of 8GB each or 16GB each.

2017-05-25, 18:59:43
Reply #29

Fritzlachatte

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
@nkilar

That is interesting, I didn´t know that ECC RAM is supported. I thought this might be another benefit of the Thread Ripper / Naples chipset.
Which RAM / manufacturer did you buy?

Thanks