Author Topic: Batch Rendering Script  (Read 6556 times)

2017-06-08, 17:47:25

JonG

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Does anyone know where or how to get a working batch rendering script so I could set up multiple max files overnight?

2017-07-03, 08:47:16
Reply #1

Christa Noel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 911
  • God bless us everyone
    • View Profile
    • dionch.studio
hi JonG, I have an old unfinished script for multiple max file BatchRendering.
check attached file, hope it works well

note:
- the codes wasn't managed well by me and full rewrite is already planned but not these months.
- don't complain for the GUI design, it hurts my eyes too. system standard GUI will be used.

2017-07-06, 11:08:23
Reply #2

Nejc Kilar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 869
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
I'd like to revive this thread out of curiosity :)

Being a c4d user primarily we have it really easy when it comes to rendering multiple files in queue. My question would be, what is the standard 3ds max procedure if you want to render multiple files over night? Deadline?


2017-07-06, 12:34:11
Reply #4

Nejc Kilar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 869
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
standard 3ds max batchRender: menuTab > BatchRender
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/3ds-max/learn-explore/caas/CloudHelp/cloudhelp/2017/ENU/3DSMax/files/GUID-07D3D0DD-3C22-4305-B7FA-01508AB73393-htm.html

Forgvie me for being stupid but isn't the built in batch rendering only for rendering from the same .max file?

edit:
I went through the text you've sent me. Apparently rendering different files is only available through Backburner or Commandline :)

2017-07-06, 13:39:28
Reply #5

Christa Noel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 911
  • God bless us everyone
    • View Profile
    • dionch.studio
Yeah thats right nkilar. And sorry i didnt carefuly read your words "rendering multiple files in queue".
the script i created, it gives me an option to choose which cameras to include or not, which max batchrender / net render / backburner doesnt have. that script works good for my productions even though there are some codes which needs more improvements.

ps: actually i dont have any experience about rendering multiple files with max netRender / backburner.

2017-07-06, 14:44:06
Reply #6

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1414
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
Actually you can clone a job in Backburner monitor itself and change the cam for a job directly there if you want to render mutliple ones (without submitting it again). But hey. An extendable script doing what you want is ALWAYS better :)


Good Luck


Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2017-07-06, 19:16:55
Reply #7

Nejc Kilar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 869
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
@Christa Noel

Yeah, no problem, thanks for debating. Your answer led me to the answer I was looking for so thanks!

@Frood

I did not know that. Always good to know. Thanks :)

2018-06-09, 14:24:46
Reply #8

BADASSBOSS

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile

2018-06-09, 15:19:42
Reply #9

denisgo22

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 681
    • View Profile
Does anyone know where or how to get a working batch rendering script so I could set up multiple max files overnight?
Simplest way via Backburner or Deadline + may be Tools-Scene State-Camera+ State Setting /Object's properties and etc./ may be + Common Presets from .rps file for Image resolution /.rps/
I always working also in Vray in this way in Work Office, with lot of cameras and settings in one scene, and lot of different projects:)
Also may be using with DR render/
And without any scripts :)
« Last Edit: 2018-06-09, 15:49:20 by denisgo22 »

2018-06-10, 07:46:42
Reply #10

Njen

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
    • Kickstart Cyan Eyed!
Just in case any one didn't know, Deadline is legeally free for up to two render nodes. It is the perfect solution for rendering any list of files on a single computer.
Please support my Kickstarter for my animated film, Cyan Eyed (rendered in Corona)!

2018-07-10, 13:23:26
Reply #11

Attila Cselovszki

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
If you are working with one file I recommend to try out Pulze Scene Manager. It handles layers, lights, outputs per camera and batch render them easily with a few click. It is in open beta so you can download it from: https://pulze.io/
If you would like to manage render jobs easily you have to wait till end of august. Then the open beta of the Pulze Render Manager will be released ;)

2020-01-07, 20:06:11
Reply #12

rode3d

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Overnight Batch Render is a simple yet powerful batch rendering tool for 3dsMax, capable to process multiple scene files sequentially on a single computer.


Website: http://www.splinedynamics.com/overnight-batch-render/