Author Topic: WtR Retail Mania  (Read 2629 times)

2017-06-12, 15:25:21

WalkTheRoom

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • follow @walktheroom
    • View Profile
    • www.walktheroom.com
Hey everyone!

Here is one of our Visuals for the Urban Escape project in Stockholm, one of the five new commercial buildings, part of the development of four streets and two public squares.

The original image is a 25.000 pixel corona render.

Also, you can appreciate a picture of the huge prints at site that catch the attention of people passing around right on Stockholm city centre.

Please let us know what you think.

/the WtR team - www.walktheroom.com
/ WtR team - www.walktheroom.com

2017-06-12, 16:01:28
Reply #1

Romas Noreika

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • romasnoreika
can you please share what render settings did you use for 25k image? GI vs AI samples and how many light samples?

this would be really helpful :) Thank you.

2017-06-13, 18:00:47
Reply #2

WalkTheRoom

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • follow @walktheroom
    • View Profile
    • www.walktheroom.com
Hey RomasNoreika,

 We used default corona settings, only secondary solver changed to Path Tracing. Our 128gb ram double xeon machine couldn't handle the full image rendering so we rendered 5 vertical stripes and stitched them in PS alongside render elements.

Hope this can help you out! Let us know if you have any more questions.

/the WtR team - www.walktheroom.com
/ WtR team - www.walktheroom.com

2017-06-13, 18:41:15
Reply #3

Romas Noreika

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • romasnoreika
wher you using backburner split scanlines mode or something else?

2017-06-13, 20:19:21
Reply #4

marqueso

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
You could also probably use an external render farm like Rebus Farm.

2017-06-15, 09:34:24
Reply #5

WalkTheRoom

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • follow @walktheroom
    • View Profile
    • www.walktheroom.com
Hey Romas Noreika -

At that moment which is end of last year we had only one machine with 128gb ram so there was no point using backburner since other machines wouldn't handle it. Instead we used some viewport helper to know where to cut the next standard max region render.
/ WtR team - www.walktheroom.com

2017-06-15, 09:35:53
Reply #6

WalkTheRoom

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • follow @walktheroom
    • View Profile
    • www.walktheroom.com
Hello Marqueso -

Again at that moment we contacted some render farms and Rebus Farm and the most ram they had at that time was 64. Now RebusFarm has also 128 machines, we know so if need be we might use a farm.

Thank you!
/ WtR team - www.walktheroom.com

2017-06-16, 11:46:33
Reply #7

Romas Noreika

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • romasnoreika
What I mean is does not matter if you have only one machine. You send your work to the back burner as split scanlines.

First precalculate UHD cahce load from file and send your massive image in split scanlines with backburner in lets just say 15-20 splits.

So you machine will be rendering one line after another . but not the whole massive image in one go. After it will finish renering those lines it will stitch them up.

In this way you will use less memory. But everything will be automatic.

I even use bacburner sending multiplie jobs thro the night. Stacking lets just say 5 cameras to render. And leave it thro the night. It will pick job after job and render it. Run manager server and monitor on the same machine that u use.

Hope this helps.

Best,

Romas

2017-06-26, 17:06:35
Reply #8

WalkTheRoom

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • follow @walktheroom
    • View Profile
    • www.walktheroom.com
Hey Romas,

Sorry for the late response.

Thank you so much this is very interesting!

Best,

/the WtR team - www.walktheroom.com
/ WtR team - www.walktheroom.com