Author Topic: Corona Proxy  (Read 10142 times)

2019-04-24, 08:32:12
Reply #30

Sanekum

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
:D :D :D

2019-04-24, 09:55:34
Reply #31

blanchg

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
    • View Profile
    • Blender exporter for Corona
fixed in 8.0.49 thanks for the .blend

2019-04-24, 13:30:24
Reply #32

s_charlie

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Problem solved! No matter which folder we export the proxy to, it renders correctly now.

2019-04-25, 08:12:16
Reply #33

monkriss

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Yey this works!! This is such an amazing feature!

I decimated the original bed to have a reference object at only 20k faces. And used the original bed as the external object and it renders in seconds and in full poly!

2019-04-25, 08:18:36
Reply #34

blanchg

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
    • View Profile
    • Blender exporter for Corona
Nice work glad it helps out

2019-04-27, 16:25:09
Reply #35

s_charlie

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
@blanchg  when I try to use proxy with the particle system, I encountered this strange problem. The plane renders correct when it's used just as a plane, but when I use the plane to scatter objects with a ParticleSystem modifier, it renders all black.

Blend file attached for your investigation, I have replaced the external proxy with a simple cube, because I don't know how to embed the proxy in the blend file, but the problem is the same with a cube as with an external proxy. BTW, thank you 3000 for your work on this wonderful addon.

2019-04-28, 08:11:26
Reply #36

Sanekum

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
@blanchg  when I try to use proxy with the particle system, I encountered this strange problem. The plane renders correct when it's used just as a plane, but when I use the plane to scatter objects with a ParticleSystem modifier, it renders all black.

Blend file attached for your investigation, I have replaced the external proxy with a simple cube, because I don't know how to embed the proxy in the blend file, but the problem is the same with a cube as with an external proxy. BTW, thank you 3000 for your work on this wonderful addon.

Plane is not black, it's just disabled for rendering as an emitter.
For Cycles there is a button, but in the Corona it does not work

As a workaround for grass fields etc. I just duplicate ground mesh without particle system

2019-04-28, 09:46:49
Reply #37

s_charlie

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
@Sanekum Thanks!   Is your "duplicate ground mesh" workaround able to render a relatively large vegetation scene like 300m x 300m full of plants, without hardware overload?

2019-04-28, 11:04:11
Reply #38

Sanekum

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
@Sanekum Thanks!   Is your "duplicate ground mesh" workaround able to render a relatively large vegetation scene like 300m x 300m full of plants, without hardware overload?

I make small test and noticed one thing, in my files emitter is renderable, but I'm pretty shure that had same issue as you some times when I create grass, gonna figure out

I made landscape 1x1km and add particle system with group of 8 different trees, each one of them is about 500k-1mln tris

Main hardware overload is not from how many proxys you are using, but how many of them are unique
8 different proxy tree 100000 instance total eats 3993mb Ram
8 different proxy tree 10000 instance total eats 3882mb Ram
1 proxy tree 100000 instance total 1487mb Ram




2019-04-28, 11:28:00
Reply #39

Sanekum

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Main thing that is the more particles you have the more time it takes to export, even with proxy, and number of particles encrease file size
1000 particles with 500 childrens gives total 500000 particles and about 13mb for my blend file, but 500000 emission number without childrens gives 220mb blend file



2019-04-28, 16:38:45
Reply #40

s_charlie

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
@Sanekum Yes, the "ground plane disable" bug shows up in some cases, but not in other cases. Hard to pinpoint the exact cause to find a definitive solution.

In your "1 proxy tree 100000 instance total 1487mb Ram" example, did you Alt+D to create the 100 children (=100 instances), then group the 100 instances as a unit for particle emission?

2019-04-28, 18:33:56
Reply #41

Sanekum

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
@Sanekum Yes, the "ground plane disable" bug shows up in some cases, but not in other cases. Hard to pinpoint the exact cause to find a definitive solution.

In your "1 proxy tree 100000 instance total 1487mb Ram" example, did you Alt+D to create the 100 children (=100 instances), then group the 100 instances as a unit for particle emission?

No I didn't duplicate anything, all instancing are made by particle system only, from one proxy object, and for the children I use Children menu
Very powerfull featureif you need massive amount of particles

I made test with group of 100 proxy duplicates as you mention and there is no difference in Ram usage

2019-04-28, 23:01:32
Reply #42

blanchg

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
    • View Profile
    • Blender exporter for Corona
I can't look this week as I don't have a computer. I will be getting a new one next week though.

2019-04-29, 05:00:05
Reply #43

s_charlie

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
@blanchg thank you as always, no hurry.

@Sanekum your testing data are very helpful to optimize ram. I'll try the children menu.

2019-04-29, 07:14:04
Reply #44

Sanekum

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
@blanchg thank you as always, no hurry.

@Sanekum your testing data are very helpful to optimize ram. I'll try the children menu.

I am glad to help, if you need to make realy large scene with aerial view or similar and suffer from Ram overload you can also use trick with single proxy and MultiShader material
For example it's all one single proxy tree instanced by particle system, I haven't worked very much with this feature yet, but it can give good results with more tweaking

And it works not only for trees, I made car paint material with it