Author Topic: Which V-Ray feature should we bring to Corona?  (Read 28929 times)

2017-08-28, 10:50:13

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8912
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
The questions is simple - V-Ray has solved a lot of problems before us, and now we have access to those solutions. What feature that V-Ray already has would you like to see in Corona? Note that this is just for our inspiration, and we don't have time to do much porting before 1.7 release, so we are talking about 1.8 and later
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2017-08-28, 11:00:23
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6528
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I'm not familiar with V-ray, but i always felt a bit envy its users for vray pattern and vray fur :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-08-28, 11:07:26
Reply #2

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1096
    • View Profile
Don't know V-ray indepht neither, but any kind of "sketch/toon" shader (for ArchViz) would be extremely welcome :)

2017-08-28, 11:36:08
Reply #3

Christa Noel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 911
  • God bless us everyone
    • View Profile
    • dionch.studio
I'm not familiar with V-ray, but i always felt a bit envy its users for vray pattern and vray fur :]
afaik, vray pattern is another plugin, not included in vray as a feature.
but it will great if coronaScatter have some vrayPattern ability like regularity and low RAM usage :)

2017-08-28, 11:49:07
Reply #4

Serj-3DVision

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • 3DVision
VRayFur, VRayDomeLight as separate light source object and 2D displacement.
This is the first things that comes into my mind.
Sergei Scennikov | Israel | Tel-Aviv
Primary certified instructor
3DVision | Corona Materials Library

2017-08-28, 11:57:54
Reply #5

lacilaci

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 755
    • View Profile

2017-08-28, 12:00:38
Reply #6

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
VRayFur, VRayDomeLight as separate light source object and 2D displacement.
This is the first things that comes into my mind.
Agreed, having a dedicated Dome Light in Corona wouldn't be bad, it would be easier to manage different lighting scenarios and make converting scenes a bit easier, too.

2017-08-28, 12:04:12
Reply #7

Serj-3DVision

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • 3DVision
VRayFur, VRayDomeLight as separate light source object and 2D displacement.
This is the first things that comes into my mind.
Agreed, having a dedicated Dome Light in Corona wouldn't be bad, it would be easier to manage different lighting scenarios and make converting scenes a bit easier, too.

That's the idea of DomeLight for me, having multiple HDRI's in one scene and fast access to them via light lister.
I think this is must have option that will make life much easier.
Sergei Scennikov | Israel | Tel-Aviv
Primary certified instructor
3DVision | Corona Materials Library

2017-08-28, 12:18:51
Reply #8

assifv

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Don't know V-ray indepht neither, but any kind of "sketch/toon" shader (for ArchViz) would be extremely welcome :)

I second that, a toon shader would be really usefull for us ArchViz users.

2017-08-28, 12:29:23
Reply #9

Roman Divoky

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
I think it would be awesome, when we could be able to use vray scanned materials

2017-08-28, 12:46:08
Reply #10

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8912
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
VRscans, VRfur and 2D displacement are definitely planned, but not domelight - we could have made that easily from the beginning, but it was our decision not to do it, to keep the renderer simple and easy to use
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2017-08-28, 13:34:39
Reply #11

Alex.A

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
GPU rendering of course (I know you probably won't do it).

2017-08-28, 14:49:19
Reply #12

davegmac

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Cryptomatte would be really a great addition. Multi layer .exrs

2017-08-28, 16:28:23
Reply #13

danio1011

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
GPU accelerated denoising would be awesome!  With a lot of light mix layers denoising can really get slow...

2017-08-28, 17:02:41
Reply #14

adamski

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Deeper integration with Blender - does the new business situation make any change to your views on the open source licensing?