Author Topic: Corona Material Library - Appreciation & discussion thread  (Read 7794 times)

2017-09-19, 12:52:41

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 797
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
Hello,

Since this is a tottaly new feature, I think it deserves its own topic here.
There is some space for tweaks in the library.
I think that opening a discussion about materials can be benefitial for the whole community.

What I noticed so far I have put in the suggestion box at "Feature Requests".

For example: "Fabric Curtain Heavy" - Bump map is missing the Triplanarmap
« Last Edit: 2017-09-19, 12:57:04 by maru »
Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2017-09-19, 13:34:00
Reply #1

GabrielS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
The material library is very useful for beginners and to have a good basis to work on materials
One suggestion:
The names of textures are veeeery long (same for the thumbnails)
Can we have a human readable names ?
Two averages:
- Reducing errors from Windows  with loong names and paths
- wen working in a scene, it's always preferable to have names for assets, textures that can be understand by others


2017-09-19, 14:16:43
Reply #2

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 797
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
The material library is very useful for beginners and to have a good basis to work on materials
One suggestion:
The names of textures are veeeery long (same for the thumbnails)
Can we have a human readable names ?
Two averages:
- Reducing errors from Windows  with loong names and paths
- wen working in a scene, it's always preferable to have names for assets, textures that can be understand by others

This are posted already, but its nice to see that we arent alone :)

Split Textures to MultiMap
1. https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php?topic=17464.0

Custom Groups for Users
2. https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php?topic=17465.0

Texture Rename
3. https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php?topic=17466.0

Real World Scale
4. https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php?topic=17467.0
Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2017-09-20, 14:32:32
Reply #3

giza

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
It would be nice to have different cursor or maybe if possible highlight the object when drag&droping the material to geometry now its sometimes hard to be precise when there are multiple objects in the location we hover/release mouse

2017-09-20, 15:47:25
Reply #4

Ryuu

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 612
  • Michal
    • View Profile
Yep, we'd like to change the cursor during drag & drop. The problem is that this is hacked on top of 3ds Max drag & drop functionality so there are some slight issues we weren't able to figure out yet (like properly changing the cursors) :)

2017-09-21, 18:00:35
Reply #5

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 797
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
Guys, I have an issue.

It looks like it happend. Can someone tell me how can I find this maps? RC_1 has them changed.
Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2017-09-21, 18:41:04
Reply #6

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6589
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Cause and possible solution workaround:

Assets' names were significantly shortened, so you'll have to search and replace textures by hand - that's one of the benefits of being brave beta testers :]

You can go back to previous build, collect all assets to your project folder and then install RC again ;]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-09-21, 19:18:48
Reply #7

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 797
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
Cause and possible solution workaround:

Assets' names were significantly shortened, so you'll have to search and replace textures by hand - that's one of the benefits of being brave beta testers :]

You can go back to previous build, collect all assets to your project folder and then install RC again ;]

That is helpfull indeed, thank you. I will be brave then :)
Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2017-09-22, 00:09:07
Reply #8

Noah45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 429
  • press *1
    • View Profile
II appreciate the better woods.
Retail Illustrator  (for ever' 80's )
3DMax 2020/Corona Version: 6DB

2017-09-24, 12:18:12
Reply #9

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 797
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
Can I sell 3D models with Corona Shaders on but using the corona library?
Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2017-09-24, 15:42:36
Reply #10

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6589
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Can I sell 3D models with Corona Shaders on but using the corona library?

No, that would be redistribution. You can only sell/share renders made with Corona renderer and using Corona materials, but can't distribute scenes or models if it contains said materials or any assets from MatLib.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-09-25, 08:50:05
Reply #11

Monkeybrother

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile

2017-09-25, 18:08:46
Reply #12

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 797
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
Can I sell 3D models with Corona Shaders on but using the corona library?

No, that would be redistribution. You can only sell/share renders made with Corona renderer and using Corona materials, but can't distribute scenes or models if it contains said materials or any assets from MatLib.

That kinda sucks, but I respect that.
Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2017-09-25, 21:27:22
Reply #13

matsu

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
First of all: The matlib is a great addition!! Will definitely help even advanced users if made right.

Critique/suggestions:

• Real world scale is necessary.
• Triplanar mapping should be used for all bitmaps.
• Avoid making lots of materials where color is the only difference. It clutters the matlib, and having a CoronaColor-map/Multimap to change the base color to whatever suits your need is better.
• I see little use for materials with small bitmaps. Making a texture that only looks good on the shader ball, but not on a 3x3m wall is pretty pointless.
• Making "wet" and "dy" variants of common exterior materials would be great. (Pavement, concrete etc)

• No "Pilsner" shader?! Come on!

2017-09-25, 21:41:43
Reply #14

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
Hi. When materials are dragged and dropped, they aren't scaled correct if the system unit differs from the units that were used to create the materials. Therefore there should be a way to choose the right system unit (or an automatic detection of the current scene system units).

Spent some time trying to figure out what system unit was used when creating the materials. And so far it seems that many (if not all) was made for millimeters. Is that correct?