Author Topic: memory upgrade - corona crashing!  (Read 1007 times)

2018-04-11, 18:19:56

JEK5019

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
hi -

so i just recently upgraded my memory - from 16gb to a total of 48gb.

been working on an existing scene - and now max is crashing. i haven't tried other scenes - so i should at least give that a try.

however, my existing scene rendered fine before the upgrade.

below are my memory info:

my existing memory - corsair 16gb ddr4 3000mhz.

my new memory - adata xpg 32gb gammix d10 ddr4 3000mhz

it's interesting - because when the render now starts - it does as it should - renders much quicker than before! so a scene that normally took about 5 hrs - is now estimated at about 2,5 hrs.

however, after about an hour of rendering - max will crash! i even monitored while rendering - nothing out of the ordinary (heat-wise) image attached also.

i am also including a dump file generated from max (not sure how useful that is.)

any ideas? any help is greatly appreciated. it's been 3 crashes in 3 nights - going crazy!

j

2018-04-11, 18:27:00
Reply #1

mferster

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
What's your motherboard? Maybe your new RAM has some compatibility issues.

Have you tried taking out your old memory out and seeing how it performs with just the new memory? are they paired on your board correctly?

2018-04-11, 19:00:44
Reply #2

JEK5019

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
it's a Gigabyte Z270-HD3P-CF.

no - haven't tried your suggestions - but will give them a try. will also see online if there are compatibility issues between memory & motherboard.

thanks..

2018-04-11, 19:12:58
Reply #3

sprayer

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 680
    • View Profile
did you insert them as dual channel?

2018-04-11, 20:43:12
Reply #4

Okmijun

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
So, basically, you've added another 32GB? So now you have 16GBs of old ram and 32GBs of new ram?
Try new ram only, with 32GBs only to render.
If that works, sell 16GBs and buy another 32GBs, or 16GBs of new ram, so they should be 100% the same.
Matching diff ram modules is never good idea.
Good luck!!!

2018-04-11, 21:58:42
Reply #5

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 879
    • View Profile
Even so, it shouldn't happen. Electrons don't discriminate - humans do :p
I got mixed parts in my box. As long as specs comply...

Test for faults (& read more):
- https://www.memtest86.com/
- http://www.memtest.org/

Note: It will take a while ;)

2018-04-11, 23:17:01
Reply #6

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3752
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Usually when there is memory issue, your PC won't even boot-up, not crash after hours.
As suggested above by Burnin, run a memtest, ideally overnight.

Mixing memory is never best idea, though it often works fine. With overclocked memory (which 3000Mhz is), you might ought to set them up manually, esp. since they have different timings. Solution in that case is to relax the faster (CL15 in your case) memory to match the slower (CL16).

Always run latest UEFI for best memory compatibility. It's something manufacturers constantly improve.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2018-04-12, 11:32:55
Reply #7

JEK5019

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
thanks everyone for your suggestions.

the issue seems resolved. :)

so i had installed the memory incorrectly - as both groups were adjacent 1/2 - 3/4 slots .. (and not 1/3 - 2/4 slots.)

i shut everything down - re-positioned them and retried the scene. ans it was successful! :)

i've never installed memory - a simple procedure but missed a marginal but important step in understanding which slots are to be used.

jón

2018-04-12, 14:43:35
Reply #8

alexyork

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 514
  • Partner at Recent Spaces
    • View Profile
    • RECENT SPACES
I'd recommend you run memtest86 overnight and see if there are any errors, as well.
Alex York
Partner
RECENT SPACES
recentspaces.com

2018-04-12, 16:16:04
Reply #9

JEK5019

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
thanks - will give it a go!