Author Topic: Corona Proxies Tool  (Read 4167 times)

2018-05-04, 14:47:32

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Hello,

Being an heavy user of proxies (CG for retail ...), I was missing such a thing for a long time, I didn't want a lister because of the nature of the scenes we work on. So I used the VRay Proxy Tool made by David Mackenzie, and reworked it to make it Corona-compliant. I just removed the undo feature I found useless. However, for some reason the progress bar seems a bit capricious, not sure why ... no matter for now, it doesn't prevent the script from working correctly.

Let's hope you'll find it as useful as I do for daily work !

Bye.
« Last Edit: 2018-05-04, 15:30:34 by NicolasC »
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2018-05-05, 01:48:24
Reply #1

Bormax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 364
    • View Profile
Hi

Thanks for sharing! That's good to have show/hide options for proxies

I also found this script written by Nik very useful because it has control over Point cloud density of selected multiple proxies at once. Maybe you'll found it useful for your workflow too

https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php?topic=7333.0
« Last Edit: 2018-05-05, 02:11:18 by Bormax »

2018-05-07, 08:27:14
Reply #2

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Hi

Thanks for sharing! That's good to have show/hide options for proxies

I also found this script written by Nik very useful because it has control over Point cloud density of selected multiple proxies at once. Maybe you'll found it useful for your workflow too

https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php?topic=7333.0
Hello Bormax,

Thank you for the reminder, I've already tested this one. Nik's script is very cool, but I didn't want a lister for several reasons ... that's why I wanted something else ;) this way, everyone can use the one that fits their needs.
About Point Cloud density, I must admitt I hadn't thought about adding this option, but I'll add this on the improvements to add. Thank you !

Regards.
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2018-05-07, 10:36:21
Reply #3

Bormax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 364
    • View Profile
Nik's script is very cool, but I didn't want a lister for several reasons ...

Actually I use only small one CProxy Type, you can see UI of it on the first post of the linked page. I didn't noticed that this small script is not available for downloading anymore, so that's why I recommended it to you (I've noticed that you don't want to use lister :)). I steel have CProxy Type script and it is very useful for me - it works with selected from viewport proxies and takes really small area on the screen.

2018-07-10, 17:37:07
Reply #4

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Hello :)

I managed to find some more time to spend on maxscript, and reworked this tool a bit.
New in v1.11:
   - removed progress bar which was buggy and not that useful IMO,
   - Added PointCloud mode density control, interactive with Selected Proxies mode. Display Mode will automatically switch to Point Cloud if set to another mode. Also, Density is limited to values 5/20/50/80/100 on purpose, please tell me if you find it's ok or stupid :)

Regards.
« Last Edit: 2018-07-11, 15:21:18 by NicolasC »
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2018-12-06, 01:21:15
Reply #5

iancamarillo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Hi, Is there an option to select all corona proxies? Or to globally toggle store in ram? Thanks!

2019-09-16, 21:53:33
Reply #6

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Hello,

Little update for this little tool :)
V1.12:
- changed default to Selected Proxies
- added Enable Animation option
- added Keep in Memory option

To-do:
- handling of the various animation modes
- select all CProxies

Cheers !
« Last Edit: 2019-09-16, 22:06:22 by NicolasC »
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2019-09-16, 21:56:14
Reply #7

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Hi, Is there an option to select all corona proxies?
Please apologize my lack of answer so far, I've been nearly one year AFK, or at least, away from CG stuff :P
Good idea,I'm adding this one on my to-do list.

Regards.
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2019-09-22, 12:36:37
Reply #8

3dboomerang

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 120
  • Head of 3D
    • View Profile
    • 3DFLOW
perfect, 5* for this script.

2019-09-25, 09:00:13
Reply #9

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Hello :)

v1.13:
- Added dropdown list for animation modes
- Added Frame Offset and Speed Multiplier settings
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2019-09-25, 18:01:45
Reply #10

iancamarillo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
nice! thank you!!

2019-09-26, 10:10:50
Reply #11

James Vella

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Great work, would be nice if you could select which proxy from the list such as this script ive been using for awhile, good to see a comparison for speed maybe.



http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/coronaproxy-lister

2019-09-26, 11:17:39
Reply #12

NicolasC

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 392
  • Primary Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
Hello James,

Thank you for pointing CProxyLister,  but I didn't want a lister for several reasons. Essentially, too many proxies on the projects I was working on, so I thought a lister wasn't the good approach. The good thing IMO is maybe to use both scripts, depending on users' needs ;)
Nicolas Caplat

3dsmax & Corona teacher / CG supervisor

2019-09-26, 11:34:41
Reply #13

James Vella

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Hello James,

Thank you for pointing CProxyLister,  but I didn't want a lister for several reasons. Essentially, too many proxies on the projects I was working on, so I thought a lister wasn't the good approach. The good thing IMO is maybe to use both scripts, depending on users' needs ;)

I see your point, simplicity is always a beautiful thing. Ill do my best to break it :D

2019-10-14, 16:33:49
Reply #14

nickdagamer6

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Is there any way to get this to work in 2020? Unless I'm just missing something, I can't get it to open or find it in interface settings. This little script is exactly what I've been looking for.

Thanks!