Author Topic: Threadripper & Ryzen only builds (3rd Gen starts on page 50)  (Read 201494 times)

2020-01-17, 12:28:26
Reply #810

hldemi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Yeah the 3960/3970X have much better I/O without any compromise (like 2990WX) so there isn't massive impact anymore.

This is why it's good to ignore all those Reddit posts "Bro, you are leaving performance on table if you don't buy 3600!! Every one know Ryzen needs fastest memory".

So definitely drop to save 2933/3200. BSODs are 90perc. memory related (occasionally driver issue).

Juraj, would you be kind to explain how does memory clock and timings effect working in Corona. For example, in what terms would best memory be better than worst memory. Is it rendering times, parsing times, speed of working in 3ds max, opening 3ds max, speed of importing model etc etc. I am curious.  ( this is for the 3rd gen threadripper user )

Thanks

2020-01-17, 13:11:32
Reply #811

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Someone would have to benchmark all those things to quantify the difference :- ). We've seen this quantified with 2990WX where the difference was pretty severe (due to only half of dies having direct memory controller access mostly).
Wendell on youtube had video yesterday where he did this on 3960X and used the Phoronix suite, but that is not exactly useful for us and there wasn't much difference in Vray or Blender.

It affects latency sensitive processes, under which theoretically fall all those you listed. Yet the difference between worst (2133) vs fastest (3600+) is not big at all (5perc.?)with 3rd gen Theadrippers it seems, and is virtually non-existent after 3000.

But most importantly, the price difference between average (2666) and really good (3200) is not big at all, often time the difference is almost nothing. Of course, past this, it quickly exponentially grows expensive, but we can ignore those module since they aren't stable in high capacity anyway. 3200 CL16 is golden standard for Zen3, and doesn't come with any price premium (only price difference between different 3200/16 modules comes down to heatsink and amount of RGBs on, like Corsair LPX vs PRO, or G.Skill RipJaws vs Z-Neo,etc.. no actual performance difference).

Good price right now is 300 Euro for 2x32GB 3200 CL16. You need two of such packages to populate quad-channel, that's 600 Euro for 128GB of fast DDR4 Ram for Threadripper or Ryzen9. In my opinion it is no brainer to buy :- ). In upcoming year, this price might go up. And you can always upgrade to 256GB easily should you ever want to.
Unless you already have existing memory, I would ignore 16GB modules.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-01-17, 14:28:38
Reply #812

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Juraj did you go for 4x of these kits in the end? If I remember well you used these 2 kits for the 3950x the ones finishing with E3200C16?

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Categories/Products/Memory/VENGEANCE-LPX/p/CMK64GX4M2E3200C16

I ordered 4x of these as well since they are cheap and probably will use them in the next few months in my next TR build.

2020-01-17, 14:49:06
Reply #813

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 491
    • View Profile
So I ordered this from Amazon Spain yesterday...and it came today in morning. This is one thick, big-ass board. Looks fantastic.[/img]

Congrats! Enjoy the unboxing. Interesting, how they covered most of the electronics on that motherboard.

2020-01-17, 14:57:21
Reply #814

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Juraj did you go for 4x of these kits in the end? If I remember well you used these 2 kits for the 3950x the ones finishing with E3200C16?
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Categories/Products/Memory/VENGEANCE-LPX/p/CMK64GX4M2E3200C16
I ordered 4x of these as well since they are cheap and probably will use them in the next few months in my next TR build.

Didn't order yet memory. But these two worke perfectly in 3950X, they're fully stable at 3200 16/20/20/38 across all tested workloads.

It's not like there are any other alternatives :- ) G.Skill has 3 identical sets of 3200 16/18/18/38 which maybe are from the same batch as the Corsair. The cheapest heatsink (RipJaws) cost the same as Corsair LPX and are on QVL list for TRX40 boards by G.Skill. I take it as guarantee it will work.
I was waiting for the 14/18/18/38 but given the two of the above were released yesterday as CL16, it looks like those were not stable and will never materialize.

None of this really matters, I just decided this build will be over the top for once so I am sweating unimportant details ;- ).

So I ordered this from Amazon Spain yesterday...and it came today in morning. This is one thick, big-ass board. Looks fantastic.[/img]

Congrats! Enjoy the unboxing. Interesting, how they covered most of the electronics on that motherboard.


Full heatsinks are very fashionable (and very useless outside of chipset & VRM) :- ). But the positive part of it is the board is really stiff, no bending. That will come handy when installing CPU block which always makes me nervous with the pressure.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-01-17, 15:59:34
Reply #815

Michael Arch-Viz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Yo dudes!
finally got my pc parts!!!
all work just fine, even ram on 3000mhz is working without error.
corona benchmark time is 29sec.

2020-01-17, 18:55:49
Reply #816

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
I think I'm looking to upgrade to the 3970x, seems to make more sense than the 3990x since it's about 60%+ the performance but faster with single core performance which will still keep workflow snappy.

Man my 1950x is running a 7159 in Cinebench R20 but only a 1min15sec in Corona.  wonder whats wrong. Running G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (8 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200, so don't think it's the ram.

I attached Temps, how do they look? can that be the issue?
« Last Edit: 2020-01-17, 19:04:32 by dfcorona »

2020-01-17, 20:44:27
Reply #817

JoeVallard

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • Joe Vallard
Man my 1950x is running a 7159 in Cinebench R20 but only a 1min15sec in Corona.  wonder whats wrong. Running G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (8 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200, so don't think it's the ram.
I attached Temps, how do they look? can that be the issue?

Whats your issue? Cause those scores look like your running the 1950x with no overclock is all. Other than that looks normal to me. I have a 2950x OC'd @ 3.9Ghz, R20 = 7300 and Corona 1.3 = 1:07

Didn't order yet memory.

Did you ever decided which TR you were going with?

2020-01-17, 20:54:59
Reply #818

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Man my 1950x is running a 7159 in Cinebench R20 but only a 1min15sec in Corona.  wonder whats wrong. Running G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (8 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200, so don't think it's the ram.
I attached Temps, how do they look? can that be the issue?

Whats your issue? Cause those scores look like your running the 1950x with no overclock is all. Other than that looks normal to me. I have a 2950x OC'd @ 3.9Ghz, R20 = 7300 and Corona 1.3 = 1:07
Well I am running a 3.8ghz overclock, guess I expected lower time. Hard to tell by the "Freq. [GHz]" posted on results, they don't seem right.

2020-01-17, 21:25:00
Reply #819

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Hard to tell by the "Freq. [GHz]" posted on results, they don't seem right.

They're indeed wrong. The benchmark can't reputably read clocks. Your temps are good, there is no throttling, it's even written there = ). 3.8GHz is only 200 MHz more than stock all-core boost. Also, Corona can apply AVX offset, are you sure it's actually running at 3.8 during the benchmark?

Did you ever decided which TR you were going with?

I am decided on 3990X unless the benchmarks reveal some kind of "catch" in performance (regardless of what due, Windows or architecture, or perhaps Corona).


talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-01-17, 22:25:33
Reply #820

Michael Arch-Viz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
i found some interesting facts!
I connected the second cooler, same model and you know guys , while rendering my temp with two coolers is 68-70.
With only one cooler temp goes up to 81c. :)




2020-01-19, 14:55:51
Reply #821

michaltimko

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 295
  • Coronaut (c)
    • View Profile
I was testing push pull setup extensively and difference on 2990wx was like 1C at most.

Its hard to believe you are getting such huge difference. Its still single tower.
« Last Edit: 2020-01-19, 20:01:59 by michaltimko »
Coronaut!(c)2011

Supporting Corona in commercial projects since pre-alpha

2020-01-20, 11:13:09
Reply #822

psanitra

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • NeEmotion.net
My Zenith II + 3970X came in today, will replace my dying x399 Aorus Extreme board with 2990wx. I went Zenith this time because i use lot of NVME drives,NVME raid 0 too, so dimm.2 slot is very handy.
Noemotion.net - www.noemotion.net
Peter Sanitra - www.psanitra.com
Noemotionhdrs.net - www.noemotionhdrs.net

2020-01-20, 11:48:09
Reply #823

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Shiny and chrome = ). Dimm.2 is fantastic feature on ROG boards, I wish they would put two of them on like on Dominus board and make the board even wider.

The copper heatsink extension card from Aorus is like 1kg heavy. Too bad my fileserver is not pci4.0 so it won't bifurcate this one properly even for pci3.0 cards.

What do you use Raid 0 NVMe for?
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-01-20, 15:41:23
Reply #824

psanitra

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • NeEmotion.net
What do you use Raid 0 NVMe for?

As main work drive. I do a lot of heavy Houdini sims and need both size and speed. Like on current job i do a 2-3 sim iterations a day,  roughly 1.5TB written, and maybe 2-4TB read back daily, Doing viewport previews, renders, converting volumes to vdbs, alembics, that kind of stuff, i can utilize both 32cores and NVME drives with running 1-8 deadlines slave on single workstation. Some times i can see disk the utilization peak over 50% on raid 0, running 2x2TB Samsung Evo. I wonder how long those drives will last...
Noemotion.net - www.noemotion.net
Peter Sanitra - www.psanitra.com
Noemotionhdrs.net - www.noemotionhdrs.net