Author Topic: Threadripper & Ryzen only builds (3rd Gen starts on page 50)  (Read 201566 times)

2020-03-06, 15:59:08
Reply #960

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Correct.
oh okay, thanks Juraj. I thought the Windows patch fix put everything in one group. I know it fixed the two CPU issue.
Also this problem with win pro.
Better to install Windows 10 for Workstation.
Oh wait a second, I must have read that wrong, I thought Juraj meant it was correct. As in the way it should be. So then should I just install Windows 10 Enterprise? I guess Windows 10 pro patch doesn't fix the issue? Denisgo22, I thought Windows 10 workstation has the same issue as Windows 10 pro, and that Windows 10 Enterprise was the only one really made for over 64 cores? I thought the patch for Windows 10 pro fixed all these issues, I guess not then.

2020-03-06, 17:41:50
Reply #961

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Correct.
oh okay, thanks Juraj. I thought the Windows patch fix put everything in one group. I know it fixed the two CPU issue.
Also this problem with win pro.
Better to install Windows 10 for Workstation.
Oh wait a second, I must have read that wrong, I thought Juraj meant it was correct. As in the way it should be. So then should I just install Windows 10 Enterprise? I guess Windows 10 pro patch doesn't fix the issue? Denisgo22, I thought Windows 10 workstation has the same issue as Windows 10 pro, and that Windows 10 Enterprise was the only one really made for over 64 cores? I thought the patch for Windows 10 pro fixed all these issues, I guess not then.

I already wrote it, but nothing to do with W10 versions.

-Patch fixed incorrect reporting of sockets. 3990X us obv single socket 🙂
-All W10 (pro, enterprise even Server edition) have cpu groups. Micrisoft doesnt have other kernel
- I installed Enterprise. ZERO difference in any performance. Early benchmarks were fluke.

So 3990X is two CPU groups always (for now), but single NUMA (UMA). Windows incorrectly calls groups numa nodes in task manager.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-03-06, 18:07:37
Reply #962

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Correct.
oh okay, thanks Juraj. I thought the Windows patch fix put everything in one group. I know it fixed the two CPU issue.
Also this problem with win pro.
Better to install Windows 10 for Workstation.
Oh wait a second, I must have read that wrong, I thought Juraj meant it was correct. As in the way it should be. So then should I just install Windows 10 Enterprise? I guess Windows 10 pro patch doesn't fix the issue? Denisgo22, I thought Windows 10 workstation has the same issue as Windows 10 pro, and that Windows 10 Enterprise was the only one really made for over 64 cores? I thought the patch for Windows 10 pro fixed all these issues, I guess not then.

I already wrote it, but nothing to do with W10 versions.

-Patch fixed incorrect reporting of sockets. 3990X us obv single socket 🙂
-All W10 (pro, enterprise even Server edition) have cpu groups. Micrisoft doesnt have other kernel
- I installed Enterprise. ZERO difference in any performance. Early benchmarks were fluke.

So 3990X is two CPU groups always (for now), but single NUMA (UMA). Windows incorrectly calls groups numa nodes in task manager.
Nevermind it's a software issue, all running fine on the hardware side.
« Last Edit: 2020-03-06, 22:00:19 by dfcorona »

2020-03-07, 12:22:51
Reply #963

FourPixels

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
TRX40 motherboard tests with 3990x

t=314s

2020-03-10, 12:22:41
Reply #964

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1350
    • View Profile

2020-03-10, 12:29:15
Reply #965

Leonardo Restrepo

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Hello Guys,
I have been following this thread for a while in silence but I would like to ask the guys who have the 3990x builds, how do you feel working with this processor at this moment, have you experience any issue since you bought them (lag, temperatures, stability)

I am a TR 2990/2970 User and I have experienced many issues with this generation for that reason I would like to know now after 1 month having the 3990x if your life is easier :D

It would be awesome to have an editable Google Document where the guys with the setups can add their build specs, I think it will allow the new people reading this post to find very easily good advice for buying Threadripper setups.

special thanks to Juraj and the Very active people who are sharing their knowledge and experience.

Best regards
Leonardo

2020-03-10, 13:00:20
Reply #966

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Quote
Linus video

That's just fucked up :- )

(And sadly propagates the idea that Threadrippers are for people showing off money instead of work... cue endless "what do you even use it for?" )

3990x builds, how do you feel working with this processor at this moment, have you experience any issue since you bought them (lag, temperatures, stability)

No problem with mine. With the amount of cores, I am going to experiment with using Process Lasso to do more extensive manual scheduling (like keeping 3dsMax to always limited to 120 threads,etc.. I feel the Corona System settings don't jive that well with native Windows scheduler).
IR feels fantastic.

No stability issues whatsover and temperatures are really good, I still run my 3990X on Noctua UH14s with single A15 fan at 600-800 RPM max. I still didn't decide if I even want to build the loop now :- ) (It would be far more beneficial to 3960/3970X that struggle with cooling).

If I were buying the components now... I would maybe struggle between the Aorus Xtreme (which I have) and the new Zenith II Alpha. The Alpha is now the superior board with best VRM and power cascade on market... but for me Dual 10Gbit from Intel (brutally superior to Single Aquantia) and Quad-Slot for possible Quad-GPU in future (just having the option) is still more ahead.
« Last Edit: 2020-03-10, 13:08:39 by Juraj Talcik »
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-03-10, 15:16:37
Reply #967

FourPixels

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
I've ordered the following machine thru PC Specialist (Don't have the time to build my own): -

AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3990X
BE QUIET! DARK BASE PRO 900 REV. 2 FULL TOWER CASE
ASUS® ROG ZENITH II EXTREME
64GB Corsair VENGEANCE DDR4 3200MHz (4 x 16GB)
1TB SEAGATE FIRECUDA 520 GEN 4 PCIe NVMe
CORSAIR 1000W RMx MODULAR 80 PLUS GOLD, ULTRA QUIET
CoolerMaster MasterLiquid ML360 RGB TR4

Should be arriving in the next few days, however, I have had some issues with ordering this.  Firstly I was told that I couldn't use the Noctua UH14s cpu cooler due to the 3990x requiring 290W of power, but the Noctua only provides 280W.  Tried to get it changed but ended up having to go for the ML360.  May change this myself eventually.  I was also told that the memory I ordered had to be set at 3000MHz rather than 3200MHz, due to some incompatibility and to wait for a Bios update before setting to 3200.  Anyone know anything about this?


2020-03-10, 15:49:39
Reply #968

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
CPU's TDP value rarely corresponds to their actual PPT, though in case on 3990X it's spot on :- ). But that still doesn't say much about cooling.

All 3 (3960/3970/3990) have same power envelope, but difference of 3 vs 4 vs 8 dies under heatspreader. 3990X has twice the surface to transfer heat to cold plate compared to the other two, hence also why it is counter-intuitively the easiest to cool.

But at same time, it's also reason why coolers that don't touch all the dies are poor choice. The ML360 is something of in-between, it has copper plate that does cover the heatspreader on sTR4, but the fins are still only in middle, they cover only the dies on 3960 & 3970X, on 3990X the 4 dies on edges will receive the least cooling.

Still, Noctua UH-14s is much better than  ML360 and runs very quiet. There is some unadultered fascination with AIOs in PC world right now and they are all basically trash. Cheap rad, cheap pump, cheap fans. At best they cool slightly better on conventional platforms (AM4/1151,etc..), they are always louder without any exception, and sometimes they just fail (Enermax).

The person who adviced you this build had only paper knowledge. I already run 3990X on U14S, with temperature in 60s.

Lastly, right now, Zenith II Extreme & II Extreme Alpha, cost almost the same, but you get better board (plus a PCI-e add-on card for SSDs). Get Alpha, it's either the same money or 50-100 euro difference depending on shop.
I can guarantee you there will be better support for Alpha in long-run too... Asus very quickly forgets about support.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-03-11, 11:41:08
Reply #969

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I wanted to post this video here because it shows just how good the Noctua UH14S even compared to small custom loop (single 360mm rad, but with real D5 pump and full sTR4 CPU block, so it's still vastly superior to any AIO).
No other Air Cooler even touches it, they need to spin 2x as fast to even come close.

t=423s
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-03-11, 11:50:50
Reply #970

twoheads

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
Ordered everything except monitor, case and GPU.

Aside from rtx3000 series some of you mentioned to be promising, do you think PNY NVIDIA Quadro P5000 (16GB) would be better choice than AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti TURBO 11G? (both brand new). I think I'll buy used 1080 ti as Juraj suggested but I'd like to know if 285 euro price gap is worth considering.


TH


2020-03-11, 12:09:22
Reply #971

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
P5000 is performance of 1080 (non-Ti I think), with 16GB Vram, so it would depend on price, but the price would have to be really good.

I am saying that because the Turing architecture is somehow faster in viewport in benchmarks, which is why I bought RTX5000 (I bought them in November for 1300 Euro each from eBay, which I considered fair price).
So P5000 would have to be <600 Euro imho, which might not be that easy to find, lot of sellers are idiots who think Quadro is always Quadro, no matter how old generation. But Quadro is only as good as the current gen is.

I would absolutely not pay for 2080ti, it's too expensive card to be stuck with 11GB of Vram. There are lot of rumours saying the Ampere (3xxx) will have large performance boost, so the re-sell value will have pretty strong potential of drop (or maybe not...maybe Corona virus will still cause big production delays, who can tell). But this is my personal position, lot of people are ok with 11GB memory (I don't know how) and you will get the best gaming card in your workstation right away :- ).

I see the 2xxx as lost gen. Too little against Pascal, too little against upcoming Ampere. Great for gamers with big budget, poor choice for everyone else.

Look for how much people sell 1080ti in my country... 260 Euro. https://pc.bazos.sk/inzerat/109193093/gigabyte-aorus-gtx1080ti.php
And you can sell that card for 200 Euro after summer as well.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-03-11, 12:32:58
Reply #972

twoheads

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
cheapest brand new rtx2080 ti blower from reputable vendor - 1226,34 euro

quadro P5000 (same vendor)  - 1557,28 euro

The cheapest used gtx 1080 ti I can get costs 347 euro (no warranty, no invoice whatsoever)
https://www.multitronic.fi/en/products/1716204

I envy you man, no way you can get brand new rtx5000 cheaper than 2200/2300 euro
« Last Edit: 2020-03-11, 12:36:52 by twoheads »

2020-03-11, 12:46:49
Reply #973

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4079
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Quote
quadro P5000 (same vendor)  - 1557,28 euro

Extremely overpriced, that's the original msrp price from what...4 years ago. These kinds of items never get discounted. You can find sellers selling 10 years old Quadro/Xeons/etc.. for 100perc. of their original price until they just take it down.
These items, should instead be sourced as 'open-box' hardware (brand-new, but taken out of existing workstations/servers/bulk OEM orders/etc...). Than their actual price is reflected to market demand.

I bought 3 of them at that price, here is screenshot if you don't believe me :- ). Brand new, foil-wrapped.



The cheapest right now is 1550 euro from this seller (I bought from him as well) https://www.ebay.de/itm/NVIDIA-Quadro-RTX-5000-16GB-GDDR6-not-RTX-4000-RTX-6000-Quadro-P5000-P6000/133343583784?hash=item1f0be59e28:g:YE0AAOSwMLNeWUYd
But that is already slightly more than it's worth, esp. since we're getting closer to 3080ti.
And the people selling them for 2200+ ? They will not sell.

Quote
The cheapest used gtx 1080 ti I can get costs 347 euro (no warranty, no invoice whatsoever)
And why do you need warranty or invoice for 350 euro item ? So that you can write-off 60 euros from taxes ;- ) ?

It's quite simple, you will get identical performance in viewport from 350 Euro used 1080ti, or 1225 Euro 2080ti. That's 900 euro wasted for nothing unless you want to play RTX games right now.

In <6 months, 3080ti will come with 16+ GB Vram, at least 30+ perc. of performance of 2080ti...and probably for the same price. There is no reason to buy the inferior 2xxx cards if you're Corona user.
« Last Edit: 2020-03-11, 12:56:50 by Juraj Talcik »
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-03-11, 15:55:57
Reply #974

alexyork

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 554
  • Partner at Recent Spaces
    • View Profile
    • RECENT SPACES
We just bought a couple of overclocked 3990x machines. They're at 3.7 all-core. Absolute insane render beasts. We're doing some heavy animation work right now with frames taking 1hr 22mins on our fastest (very fast) dual xeon machines and similar on overclocked i9 machines, and these 3990x machines are rendering the same frames at just 27mins! Cool, stable, insane speed. Very happy so far. Will need more extensive testing of course.
Alex York
Partner
RECENT SPACES
recentspaces.com