Author Topic: Threadripper Builds  (Read 156828 times)

2020-02-11, 10:29:11
Reply #915

twoheads

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
:)

2020-02-11, 22:29:06
Reply #916

JoeS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Shade Digital
Hi All

Thanks for the reply's to my earlier post (agentdark45).

So I have decided to go with the 3990x but I need a suitable cooling solution would the nh-u14s tr4-sp3/Cooler Master Wraith Ripper ARGB TR4 be enough at stock speed to keep this thing cool ? looking at the AIO's available nothing else has a large contact plate and the enermax stuff is disaster AIO.

Any opinions on this would be really appreciated.

2020-02-13, 13:35:03
Reply #917

agentdark45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 490
    • View Profile
Some solid delay right, huh ;- )? Also waiting for it, I kind of don't want to waste time using my existing EKWB that I will dissasemble.
Last ETA give to me was "Two weeks to shipping" on Feb 3rd. Oh well...busy month anyway.

Anyway, nice parts ! We're gonna have very similar builds :- ). Also went for i1600 but there is no other PSU like that (the SuperFlower is non-digital platform, BeQuiet will release in March+,...)

Man, that delay is killing me!

Re the RAM, where did you get the Micron e-die 3600&CL16 32GB DIMMs from? Some seriously impressive specs! Running 256gb at that speed and timings would make me nervous though, let's hope the motherboard holds up.
Vray who?

2020-02-13, 17:07:38
Reply #918

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
@JoeS

I think you will be fine with a U14S. Look at the test around seems that the chip is around 10 degrees Celsius cooler than the 3970x. The Optimum Tech guy was cooling this with a Kraken X62 which doesn't cover the whole cpu. I wouldn't bother with an AIO just go with the U14S or if you want to spend 6times more money on a loop as I did go for that. Honestly, I went with a loop and I kinda regret the amount of money I spent on it but the temps are great and it is dead silent. Your cpu is way cooler so I would just go with a U14S. Will post pictures, temps and power consumption soon, I am in the middle of a deadline right now :(. The 3970x is a beast kinda regretting I didn't wait for the 3990x but eh never mind will just get that one as well at some point :D.

2020-02-13, 23:34:08
Reply #919

mienda

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hello,
I plan to build a 3990x threadripper based workstation with the following list of components:

Case: fractal design XL R2

Power supply  :Be quiet ! Straight power 11 platinium 1200w

Graphic card: Asus rog strix rtx 2080 ti 11g

Motherboard : gigabyte aorus xtreme

Disk system : corsair force mp600 series nvme pci m2 ssd1tb

Hard drive : seagate iron wolf 12to

Memory : corsair ddr4 256gb(8x32) cmk256gx4m8e 3200 cl16

Cooler: Noctua nh-u14str4-sp3

Case Coolers:
Noctua nf-a15pwn
Noctua nf-a14pwn

And if course threadripper 3990x!
What do you think of this configuration?
Will it be sufficiently ventilated?
Is memory good?

If you have any comments on this, I would be very grateful!

Thank you in advance

Damien


2020-02-14, 00:30:55
Reply #920

danio1011

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
I think you will be fine with a U14S. Look at the test around seems that the chip is around 10 degrees Celsius cooler than the 3970x.

That's crazy that it runs that much cooler than the 3970x.  Is there any sense of why this is?  Lower peak core speed?  Starting to wonder if I should sell my 3970X on ebay...

2020-02-14, 10:49:26
Reply #921

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
I can't guarantee anything myself before I try it but if you don't plan to OC seems you are fine. Take a look at the image below.

https://www.kitguru.net/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/Technical-Temps.jpg

2020-02-15, 00:52:54
Reply #922

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 3944
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I think you will be fine with a U14S. Look at the test around seems that the chip is around 10 degrees Celsius cooler than the 3970x.

That's crazy that it runs that much cooler than the 3970x.  Is there any sense of why this is?  Lower peak core speed?  Starting to wonder if I should sell my 3970X on ebay...

The thermal limit is spread over 8 dies instead of 4 so each runs cooler, and they cover larger space under heatspreader on the socket, so there is bigger contact with cold-plate of cooler (more heatpipes with Air tower like Noctua, more fins engaged with less hotspot on water cooling).

With that said...I would look at more tests. And also..look at PBO +200. For 3970X it created a difference of 10C, for 3990X it created a difference of 35C, that's oddly improportional.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-02-15, 18:36:20
Reply #923

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Tested the PBO+200 setup and yes for me personally it creates a +10 degrees difference. Corona bench on stock with xmp enabled for 128gb 3200mhz is always from 28 to 30 sec so there are variations but it hits 28sec. With PBO+200 I just get a consistent result of 28sec always but at a cost of 10 degrees more, probably double the power consumption (will confirm this when I have time) and the single-core turbo max is the same as stock 4.475-4.5 Ghz. Where I noticed the difference is Cinebench PBO+200 got me around 700-800 more points but that is the only benchmark I did outside of Corona benchmark.

After 2 straight hours of rendering cpu temp is at 74-75 degrees. Denoising get's me to 85 even 90 on a single core. This is with a EK Velocity block and a 240 EK PE single radiator.

2020-02-16, 00:03:07
Reply #924

pirillino

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hi Vuk, the temp that you reported are for stock or PBO +200 setup? Does your 240 radiator is a slim model? Do you have some reservoir for the liquid? Thanks

2020-02-16, 08:13:42
Reply #925

JoeS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Shade Digital
Vuk

Thanks for the reply I went over the reviews and the 3990x is running cooler than the 3970x so I have gone with the Noctua and the 3990x. I would be interested in your temps etc based on your loop setup. I have ordered all of my parts now so I should be doing my build this week cant wait I am pumped to test it on my current project schedule.

Also an interesting video with some config aspects for the 3990x and the windows core groups with Robert Hallock.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MkGSJ8O9U0c

Cheers

2020-02-16, 16:54:42
Reply #926

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Hi Vuk, the temp that you reported are for stock or PBO +200 setup? Does your 240 radiator is a slim model? Do you have some reservoir for the liquid? Thanks

I have an EK-CoolStream PE 240 40mm thick radiator and an EK-XRES 140 Revo D5.

The temps I reported are for stock + xmp/docp without PBO. As I said for some reason PBO only benefits Cinebench, probably benefits Vray and other software but for Corona, I see no difference and also one core turbo max stays the same around 4.475-4.5ghz.
With PBO I get +10 degrees after 1-2 hours of rendering which is still ok but the fans also ramp up more and there is more noise which I can't tolerate anymore :).

Note that I also left the dust filters on the case without them I would probably get -5 or even more since the Lian Li PC011 filters really block the airflow but I only took the one from the side where I have the radiator as intake.
« Last Edit: 2020-02-16, 16:58:04 by Vuk »

2020-02-17, 17:34:35
Reply #927

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 3944
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Quote
windows had a patch last night which allows it to use all 128 threads without splitting into groups

Anyone know anything about this ? Can't find that on Microsoft patch notes section yet. What KB was released yesterday (16th Feb) ?
I only know they revoked one due to boot issues.

Edit: This apparently only fixes the reporting in Task Manager as "2 socket" configuration. Nothing on kernel side changes the CPU is divided into processor groups.

« Last Edit: 2020-02-17, 20:12:04 by Juraj Talcik »
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-02-17, 20:25:49
Reply #928

danio1011

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Edit: This apparently only fixes the reporting in Task Manager as "2 socket" configuration. Nothing on kernel side changes the CPU is divided into processor groups.

A five minute aesthetic GUI fix seems much more in line with Microsoft's development pattern on this issue :)

Did you see this article by Tom's that contested Anandtech's reporting of Pro vs Enterprise speed differences?  Kind of interesting.

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-threadripper-3990x-performance-windows-10-enterprise

2020-02-17, 21:01:35
Reply #929

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 3944
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Yes that whole thing was bit suspicious to begin with :- ). But given the wide array of bioses, Window KB updates, and option to run UMA vs NUMA options,.. it could have been quite easy to come across suboptimal settings.

You can buy Enterprise upgrade cheaply for like 5 bucks (tested for fun, worked like charm on Pro licence) and run it anyway just in case since it's superior in other way regardless. It's simple licence update it does no kernel switch whatsover, barely does any perceptible change you could even think of.

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika