Author Topic: Threadripper & Ryzen only builds (3rd Gen starts on page 50)  (Read 168490 times)

2020-02-15, 18:36:20
Reply #885

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Tested the PBO+200 setup and yes for me personally it creates a +10 degrees difference. Corona bench on stock with xmp enabled for 128gb 3200mhz is always from 28 to 30 sec so there are variations but it hits 28sec. With PBO+200 I just get a consistent result of 28sec always but at a cost of 10 degrees more, probably double the power consumption (will confirm this when I have time) and the single-core turbo max is the same as stock 4.475-4.5 Ghz. Where I noticed the difference is Cinebench PBO+200 got me around 700-800 more points but that is the only benchmark I did outside of Corona benchmark.

After 2 straight hours of rendering cpu temp is at 74-75 degrees. Denoising get's me to 85 even 90 on a single core. This is with a EK Velocity block and a 240 EK PE single radiator.

2020-02-16, 00:03:07
Reply #886

pirillino

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hi Vuk, the temp that you reported are for stock or PBO +200 setup? Does your 240 radiator is a slim model? Do you have some reservoir for the liquid? Thanks

2020-02-16, 08:13:42
Reply #887

JoeS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Shade Digital
Vuk

Thanks for the reply I went over the reviews and the 3990x is running cooler than the 3970x so I have gone with the Noctua and the 3990x. I would be interested in your temps etc based on your loop setup. I have ordered all of my parts now so I should be doing my build this week cant wait I am pumped to test it on my current project schedule.

Also an interesting video with some config aspects for the 3990x and the windows core groups with Robert Hallock.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MkGSJ8O9U0c

Cheers

2020-02-16, 16:54:42
Reply #888

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Hi Vuk, the temp that you reported are for stock or PBO +200 setup? Does your 240 radiator is a slim model? Do you have some reservoir for the liquid? Thanks

I have an EK-CoolStream PE 240 40mm thick radiator and an EK-XRES 140 Revo D5.

The temps I reported are for stock + xmp/docp without PBO. As I said for some reason PBO only benefits Cinebench, probably benefits Vray and other software but for Corona, I see no difference and also one core turbo max stays the same around 4.475-4.5ghz.
With PBO I get +10 degrees after 1-2 hours of rendering which is still ok but the fans also ramp up more and there is more noise which I can't tolerate anymore :).

Note that I also left the dust filters on the case without them I would probably get -5 or even more since the Lian Li PC011 filters really block the airflow but I only took the one from the side where I have the radiator as intake.
« Last Edit: 2020-02-16, 16:58:04 by Vuk »

2020-02-17, 17:34:35
Reply #889

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4004
  • Staying home, like I always did. So should you :-)
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Quote
windows had a patch last night which allows it to use all 128 threads without splitting into groups

Anyone know anything about this ? Can't find that on Microsoft patch notes section yet. What KB was released yesterday (16th Feb) ?
I only know they revoked one due to boot issues.

Edit: This apparently only fixes the reporting in Task Manager as "2 socket" configuration. Nothing on kernel side changes the CPU is divided into processor groups.

« Last Edit: 2020-02-17, 20:12:04 by Juraj Talcik »
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-02-17, 20:25:49
Reply #890

danio1011

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 231
    • View Profile
Edit: This apparently only fixes the reporting in Task Manager as "2 socket" configuration. Nothing on kernel side changes the CPU is divided into processor groups.

A five minute aesthetic GUI fix seems much more in line with Microsoft's development pattern on this issue :)

Did you see this article by Tom's that contested Anandtech's reporting of Pro vs Enterprise speed differences?  Kind of interesting.

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-threadripper-3990x-performance-windows-10-enterprise

2020-02-17, 21:01:35
Reply #891

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4004
  • Staying home, like I always did. So should you :-)
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Yes that whole thing was bit suspicious to begin with :- ). But given the wide array of bioses, Window KB updates, and option to run UMA vs NUMA options,.. it could have been quite easy to come across suboptimal settings.

You can buy Enterprise upgrade cheaply for like 5 bucks (tested for fun, worked like charm on Pro licence) and run it anyway just in case since it's superior in other way regardless. It's simple licence update it does no kernel switch whatsover, barely does any perceptible change you could even think of.

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-02-18, 14:28:47
Reply #892

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4004
  • Staying home, like I always did. So should you :-)
    • View Profile
    • studio website
So, Micron(Crucial) memory has delay of 1 to 2 months, and Optimus CPU block...lol I have no idea, they aren't even replying to people anymore on forum :- ).
So fuck it, I am building the 3990X this Friday with stuff I have, so only 128GB 3000 memory and EKWB block and then when other (IF) parts arrive I'll rebuild it in April?

Even Optane drive comes next week together with enterprise Samsung NVMe drives to replace all regular SSDs I have (8TB drives with 6.5GB usable each, massively fast latency). But I'll install Windows on some interim SSD in meantime.

Every shit is delayed by weeks or months, typical hardware launch windows. Everything is paper launch ;- ). Can't complain...my project deadlines often look similar..
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-02-18, 14:40:48
Reply #893

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Sad to hear that... I had a similar delay with the TRX40 motherboard and with the I9-10980xe which I ordered and waited for it 2 months just to find out after the wait that Intel still has no shipping date.
Nonetheless, you have some parts laying around so you'll manage :). I can't wait to hear the results before I jump to the 3990x ship!

2020-02-19, 10:45:40
Reply #894

RPanizzon

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Ryan Panizzon Visualisation
Just wanted to say a big thank you to everyone here for their input on these threadripper builds. Got a lot of useful info over the last few weeks and I’m happy to say I’ll be building my 3990x system this week as well. Looking forward to sharing any findings as I go!

-Ryan

Threadripper 3990x
G Skill Trident 128gb DDR4 3600mhz C16
GTX1080 GPU (from existing system)
Gigabyte Aorus Master TRX40
NH-U14S TR4-SP3 cooling
NF-A15 extra cpu fan
Corsair 500GB MP600 NVMe
Corsair HX1200 1200w PSU
Fractal Define R6 case
« Last Edit: 2020-02-20, 01:02:43 by RPanizzon »
Web: www.ryanpanizzon.com
Insta: @ryanpanizzon

2020-02-20, 03:47:37
Reply #895

JoeS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Shade Digital
FYI just installed windows 10 pro on my 3990x machine and it looks like they have already sorted out the cpu groups issue mine is only 1 group.

Cheers

2020-02-20, 05:27:03
Reply #896

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
FYI just installed windows 10 pro on my 3990x machine and it looks like they have already sorted out the cpu groups issue mine is only 1 group.

Cheers
Nice I been waiting for that and the Cooler issue of what to use.  So I take it you have to run Windows 1909? Isn't there still some really big issues with the version, file search and such? I'm still on 1903 because of it. Or is it just a update patch that works with any version?

2020-02-20, 06:50:40
Reply #897

JoeS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Shade Digital
FYI just installed windows 10 pro on my 3990x machine and it looks like they have already sorted out the cpu groups issue mine is only 1 group.

Cheers
Nice I been waiting for that and the Cooler issue of what to use.  So I take it you have to run Windows 1909? Isn't there still some really big issues with the version, file search and such? I'm still on 1903 because of it. Or is it just a update patch that works with any version?

Yes it's 1909 and I am not sure about any issues with this build I have only started to use it.

2020-02-20, 16:36:37
Reply #898

danio1011

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 231
    • View Profile
FYI just installed windows 10 pro on my 3990x machine and it looks like they have already sorted out the cpu groups issue mine is only 1 group.

Cheers

Check out Juraj’s post on the previous page of this thread.  Looks like maybe nothing changed under the hood?

2020-02-20, 23:50:43
Reply #899

JoeS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Shade Digital
Wow the 3990x is insane I hit position 37 on the corona benchmark without doing anything it boosted to 3.4ghz on air and it came in at just under 18sec.