Author Topic: Corona standalone silent error prompt  (Read 917 times)

2018-09-11, 16:48:38

craigfeldspar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Hello,

I'm trying to set up a render server using corona standalone. Since there is no user input, i run it with the silent option.
It works well when my files are well formed, but in case of error, corona outputs an error prompt. This error prompt requires a user click for the process to terminate, so it effectively blocks the synchronous render chain.
Is there any way to output the error to the standard error output and not prompt for the user ?

Thanks.

2018-09-12, 14:54:51
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10041
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2018-09-13, 14:56:49
Reply #2

craigfeldspar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile

2018-09-14, 18:09:27
Reply #3

Dung (Ivan)

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Hi, I take it the error is nothing serious and it can be considered a warning? Meaning it's not something that would hinder installation of Corona? And if you close it, the installation finishes successfully?

Thank you

2018-09-17, 08:54:34
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10041
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Ivan, I don't think this is about installation.
This is about rendering with Corona Standalone. The user is trying to render a scene, and the error message has to be closed to proceed.

2018-09-17, 10:19:03
Reply #5

Dung (Ivan)

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile

2018-09-17, 18:03:12
Reply #6

craigfeldspar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Hi,
The error message is indeed caused by a ill-formed XML while running corona standalone.
Since this is a fully automated system, i'd like the error message to be sent on the standard error output to be proceeded by a bash script.

Could it be the standard behaviour for the command line option --silent ?

Thanks,

2018-09-17, 18:27:28
Reply #7

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
yeah, this should and will be improved in the future
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2018-11-03, 11:02:55
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10041
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
This has been fixed and the fix is included in our internal builds. Soon a daily build with the fix will be released, and it will be also included in the final version 3.

2018-11-12, 17:34:02
Reply #9

craigfeldspar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Great, thanks a lot