Author Topic: Abbe Number lower than 10  (Read 1589 times)

2018-09-19, 23:51:22

kined

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
This would be grate to have Abbe number that can go to the lower number than 10, I had to switch to VRay just because it can go to 1. Could you make it possible the same way for Corona Material.

Best,
Ed

2018-09-20, 13:38:19
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9173
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Zomg! :)

You need to expose additional parameters of your material first, then locate "dispersion", and plug your controller in there.
I am guessing that the minimum value of 10 is a kind of safety measure, so I can't guarantee what will happen once you override it. ;)

2018-10-12, 11:07:52
Reply #2

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 782
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
Zomg! :)

You need to expose additional parameters of your material first, then locate "dispersion", and plug your controller in there.
I am guessing that the minimum value of 10 is a kind of safety measure, so I can't guarantee what will happen once you override it. ;)

Does that work? I mean is there difference between 10 and 2?
Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2018-10-12, 19:02:26
Reply #3

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9173
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2018-10-23, 10:39:03
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9173
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
(moved back to feature requests as we may look into this - should we remove the value 10 cap?)

2018-10-23, 11:50:56
Reply #5

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1431
    • View Profile
(moved back to feature requests as we may look into this - should we remove the value 10 cap?)
Yes, please, especially if it's just an artificial cap without any further reason. Remove it and let us abuse it :D

2019-10-15, 09:02:35
Reply #6

ddaker

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
I am trying to achieve a look that was done in Arnold, and I realized its because the Abbe number used in arnold was .1, which drastically distorts colours and gives a very cool effect: https://www.behance.net/gallery/86367939/Alphabet-Dispersion?tracking_source=for_you_feed_featured_category

Please allow users to start at 0, and not 10.

I noticed this feature was asked over a year ago and I'm not sure how complicated it is to implement this, but it was be great if you could.

If this is not the right place to ask for a feature, please direct me to the right place?

Also on a side note, I would love X-particles integration.

2019-10-16, 18:13:20
Reply #7

ddaker

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
I really need a lower Aberration number under the refraction node.

Please could you let us know if it is even doable, Would really love it for a current project I'm working on?


2019-10-16, 19:20:24
Reply #8

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5981
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Yes, it is doable, look at the very first reply in this topic - controllers lets you enter any value for the abbe number.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2019-10-21, 07:46:19
Reply #9

ddaker

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
not inside cinema 4d, only 3d max, I need it inside cinema4d.