Author Topic: RAM issue when using Team Render  (Read 2094 times)

2019-01-08, 20:15:15
Reply #15

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Did you run the Corona Licensing Server? It will need to be running in order to hand out authorizations to the Client machines.

No, I didn't. And to be honest, I can't even find an application called "Corona Licensing Server". Is it even an application?
Where should it be located on Mac? Thanks! :)

2019-01-08, 20:27:50
Reply #16

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2678
    • View Profile
It may not have been installed by default - I'd re-run the installer, choose Custom, and ensure that it's checked.

2019-01-08, 20:57:15
Reply #17

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
It may not have been installed by default - I'd re-run the installer, choose Custom, and ensure that it's checked.

Thanks!

2019-01-09, 12:50:30
Reply #18

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Corona Proxy isn't working here. I work on Mac and render on pc. Could it be a reason? I thought I have read something here in another topic.

2019-01-09, 15:15:47
Reply #19

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2678
    • View Profile
Do you mean Corona Proxy with Team Render, or Corona Proxy on its own? Sounds like it may be a separate issue from the original thread topic of "RAM issue when using Team Render" and may be best in a separate thread so it doesn't get lost :)

2019-01-09, 16:36:31
Reply #20

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Do you mean Corona Proxy with Team Render, or Corona Proxy on its own? Sounds like it may be a separate issue from the original thread topic of "RAM issue when using Team Render" and may be best in a separate thread so it doesn't get lost :)

I will make a separate and more detailed report later when I'm back at home.

2019-01-15, 12:33:00
Reply #21

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
I rendered an animation for around 15h last night and my RAM went up to 2.8GB only. Rendered with the latest Corona 3 version.
So maybe you already fixed this issue? But I can't see something new about that in the Corona 3 Changelog. Anyway well done and thank you ;)

2019-01-15, 15:35:15
Reply #22

HFPatzi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Was it the first thing you rendered after opening cinema 4D? Sometimes the high RAM-Usage on my end occurs when starting another render without restarting cinema. Seems like the ram doesn't getr flushed after finishing a render.

2019-01-16, 23:28:56
Reply #23

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Was it the first thing you rendered after opening cinema 4D? Sometimes the high RAM-Usage on my end occurs when starting another render without restarting cinema. Seems like the ram doesn't getr flushed after finishing a render.

Yes, I had this issue too. Thats why I always restart C4D bevor I render another big Image.

2019-01-17, 00:52:16
Reply #24

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
I just rendered an 5k image which took around 25min and my RAM went up to 25GB.
So I think it's less a matter of time and more of resolution.

2019-01-18, 20:30:42
Reply #25

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Thank you for the fix. Have a nice weekend!

2019-01-22, 13:42:35
Reply #26

HFPatzi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Seems like the RAM-issue is solved (4 x 9k-stills, one aftrer each other and no RAM-Warning).
Nevertheless i do experience some Sync-Errors with chunk-size at 50MB.
With the size at 50MB 2 of 11 clients get the error (Always different ones)
If i increase the chunk-size i.e. to 100MB even more clients get this error.
I then decreased the size to 12MB and had no errors.
The Sync-errors seem to always appear right after a new pass is beeing started.

In the console it looks like the following:
Code: [Select]
2019/01/22 11:44:32  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending HELLO to server
2019/01/22 11:44:32  [Corona4D] [TR] Connection established
2019/01/22 11:44:35  [Corona4D] REPORT: unchanged: 0, Prim: 46, Inst: 0, Mtl: 0, Env-tentative: 1
2019/01/22 11:44:35  [Corona4D] Core::renderFrame before onFrame
2019/01/22 11:44:35  [Corona4D] Parsing scene took 19.759 seconds
2019/01/22 11:44:35  [Corona4D] Calculating displacement
2019/01/22 11:44:35  [Corona4D] Preparing geometry took 0 seconds
2019/01/22 11:44:35  [Corona4D] Preparing geometry
2019/01/22 11:44:35  [Corona4D] Embree: memory usage: 232,8 MB. Total embree build time is 389ms, top level commit took: 301ms. There are 46 embree geometry groups, 0 instances, 46/0/0/0 tri/animTri/hair/custom primitives
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] Core::renderFrame after onFrame
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] CoronaCore::renderFrame before unique materials enum
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] CoronaCore::renderFrame after unique materials enum
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] CoronaCore::renderFrame after unique materials update
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] Preparing geometry took 0.57 seconds
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] Preparing lights
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] TreeAdapt built: nodes 23, time 0 ms, memory 5.224 kB
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] CutCache initialized: records 842580, time 12 ms, memory 33.7034 MB
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] CoronaCore:RenderFrame: after directLight
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] CoronaCore::renderFrame: after GI precompute
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] Preparing lights took 0.014 seconds
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] CoronaCore::renderFrame: before render
2019/01/22 11:44:36  [Corona4D] Rendering initial pass
2019/01/22 11:44:56  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 4/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:45:24  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 5/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:45:51  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 6/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:46:19  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 7/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:46:45  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 8/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:47:16  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 9/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:47:45  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 10/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:48:08  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 11/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:48:15  [Corona4D] Rendering pass 2
2019/01/22 11:48:31  [Corona4D] Rendering initial pass
2019/01/22 11:48:31  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 12/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:48:57  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 13/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:49:20  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 14/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:49:47  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 15/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:50:13  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 16/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:50:38  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 0/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:51:03  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 1/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:51:33  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 2/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:51:48  [Corona4D] Rendering pass 2
2019/01/22 11:52:00  [Corona4D] Rendering initial pass
2019/01/22 11:52:00  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 3/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:52:28  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 4/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:52:57  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 5/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:53:23  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 6/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:53:46  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 7/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:54:12  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 8/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:54:36  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 9/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:55:04  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 10/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:55:21  [Corona4D] Rendering pass 2
2019/01/22 11:55:28  [Corona4D] Rendering initial pass
2019/01/22 11:55:28  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 11/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:55:53  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 12/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:56:17  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 13/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:56:45  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 14/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:57:12  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 15/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:57:36  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 16/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:57:57  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 0/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:58:28  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 1/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:58:52  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 2/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:58:59  [Corona4D] Rendering pass 2
2019/01/22 11:59:18  [Corona4D] Rendering initial pass
2019/01/22 11:59:18  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 3/17 to the server
2019/01/22 11:59:45  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 4/17 to the server
2019/01/22 12:00:08  [Corona4D] [TR] Frame synchronization failed: Communication Error
2019/01/22 12:00:12  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 4/17 to the server
2019/01/22 12:00:13  [Corona4D] [TR] Frame synchronization failed: Communication Error
2019/01/22 12:00:17  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 4/17 to the server
2019/01/22 12:00:17  [Corona4D] [TR] Frame synchronization failed: Communication Error
2019/01/22 12:00:21  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 4/17 to the server
2019/01/22 12:00:22  [Corona4D] [TR] Frame synchronization failed: Communication Error
2019/01/22 12:00:26  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 4/17 to the server
2019/01/22 12:00:26  [Corona4D] [TR] Frame synchronization failed: Communication Error
2019/01/22 12:00:30  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 4/17 to the server
2019/01/22 12:00:30  [Corona4D] [TR] Frame synchronization failed: Communication Error
2019/01/22 12:00:34  [Corona4D] [TR] Sending chunk 4/17 to the server
2019/01/22 12:00:34  [Corona4D] [TR] Frame synchronization failed: Communication Error
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] CoronaCore::renderFrame: after render
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Terminating DR slaves
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D]  - terminating slave handlers
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D]  - waiting for broadcast thread to finish
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D]  - clearing slave handlers
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Terminating DR slaves ended
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Rendering took 958.941 seconds
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Cleaning up
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Terminating DR slaves
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D]  - terminating slave handlers
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D]  - waiting for broadcast thread to finish
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D]  - clearing slave handlers
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Terminating DR slaves ended
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] CutCache memory: 34.9085 MB
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Unique Primitives: 3251832
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Primitives with instancing: 3251832
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Area lights: 13
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Geometry groups: 46
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Materials: 23
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Instances: 46
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Portals: 0
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Area lights: 13
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Avg samples per pixel: 0.00199011
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Avg rays per sample: 23.509
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Rays/s: 2634.59
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Samples/s: 112.067
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Saving + Cleaning up took 0.041 seconds
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] CoronaCore::exiting renderFrame
2019/01/22 12:00:35  [Corona4D] Rendered 0/0 passes

It would be great if there will be a solution where we don't have to fiddle around with this values every time, since it's a bit time consuming

Anyways, thank you for your great product, that i don't want to miss anymore ;)

Greetings,
Moritz

2019-02-22, 06:15:38
Reply #27

Gr100

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Happy I came here to know that this problem isn’t only happening to me. My computer maxes out right away no matter the resolution of the rendering. Power usage, CPU and RAM are through the roof. Computer Locks up and crashes. Sometimes the rendering doesn’t even start. A project that was done and ready to render out took me an additional weak just playing around to find ways to lower the file size etc. Files was only 35 MB.

Hi!

I experience almost the same issues with RAM usage in Teamrender. Except my RAM usage while rendering a high resolution still image with teamrender is almost instant at max. While rendering the same scene on my workstation only just uses around 3 to 4GB of RAM (see attached screenshots). Also nearly all my teamrender-clients crash while teamrendering this project. Unfortunatly without creating a bug report. The Teamrender client just quits.

I'm using the latest Corona Daily Build:

Full-speed non-debug version
Build timestamp: Oct 31 2018 17:15:05
Version: B2 (core 3)
Cinema version: CINEMA 4D Studio R18.057 S
Plugin status: initialized successfully


I have set a small render region in the cinema 4D render settings and set corona to render viewport selection only, singe i only needed this part of the image.

I'm sorry for not uploading the scene file because of nda. If you need any further informations, i'm happy to answer your questions.

Thanks for your Support!

Greetings from Germany,
Moritz

2019-02-22, 08:20:15
Reply #28

HFPatzi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
One thing you could try, but only to proof a theory: Try start a render with no multipasses, just the beauty pass. If you're using Lightmix, you could try to disable this. I had one pretty huge image (15k x 8k) where i had no problems rendering just the beaty pass, but with 5 additional mask passes on, my i got RAM-warnings.

Again, this is just to proof my theory here, as it should be possible to (Team)render images with multipasses and lightmix on and RAM-warnings off ;)

Also try to restart all client's and your workstation's cinema 4d before starting the render. Sometimes that helps.

Greetings,
Moritz