Author Topic: Managing with many lights in corona  (Read 17086 times)

2013-12-24, 02:21:48
Reply #30

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
test emission plane


2013-12-24, 03:55:55
Reply #31

fobus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 363
    • View Profile
I will need to improve the sampling algoritms instead, and that will take some time.

Is it planned? May we awaiting it before next public build?

Hello fobus

The rendering time of the image of vray?
In what amounts?

..minutes or seconds?

Seconds (0H 0m 56.4s)

3dsmax standard lights in the daily builds should work differently, you can try that.

I was hoped that it may be a solution, but even 2500 standart spots are freezing project file for a while. But I did a test. Sampling of standart lights is completely different as Ondra said. As you can see at pictures we're have clean direct light from standart sources at first pass. Voila? No. Other sampling is going veeeeery slow. With 2500 standart lights we nee huge amount of time to sample even skylight that was clean nearly at start of rendering in test with Corona lights. So I scared to think how long it will take to render Standart lights + SkyLight + CoronaLights...

As long as we're testing I really coming to conclusion that without "FIX" from Ondra we're can't render scenes with many lights (any type) in acceptable time. Sad... I hope that someone can dissuade me from this conclusion by any trick to handle this huge amounts of lights.
« Last Edit: 2013-12-24, 05:41:40 by fobus »

2013-12-24, 15:35:30
Reply #32

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
This night I left work by rendering only

the time bar shows the hours of rendering
(Material :emission) plane object = segments3x3 - density 5



2013-12-24, 15:50:38
Reply #33

fobus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 363
    • View Profile
This night I left work by rendering only

the time bar shows the hours of rendering
(Material :emission) plane object = segments3x3 - density 5

OMG! So much time to remove noise...

BTW: 3x3 segments with density 5 on 2500 planes are over 1.000.000 triangles total. It's too much for lights only in arch scenes for example.

2013-12-24, 16:05:54
Reply #34

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
Hello fobus , yes

Other tests, will lower the level of the segments 1 and to keep the density between the values ​​2.5 to 4

2013-12-25, 06:25:54
Reply #35

fobus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 363
    • View Profile
Another test. Closest to reality. I was made this scene for cristmas and now it's in gallery. Really big problem with huge lights amounts.

As You can see the picture was rendered very quickly without christmas lights. But as soon as I light them rendering becomes noisy and long. Skylight was sampled well after 3 passes only, but other lights required 50 passes to be clean. Don't mind the DoF, without cristmas lights it was sampled quickly.

I have a question to Ondra again. Is it possible to implement light samples multiplier in light material to control sampling over every light we have separately? May be it will be a quick solution before improving the sampling algoritms as You said? I sak for this because I was in situation where there is just few lights need to increasing samples when all other was nearly ok. And overall light samples multiplier was unable to help me without seriously sacrifying time for rendering (http://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php/topic,2268.0.html).

2013-12-26, 18:11:26
Reply #36

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
- the example with the method Bucket oder Progressive :  Primary solver + Secondary solver = none  ( is not productive ) -

1°  TEST  "in progress"

Method     : Bucket  + PT  |Secondary solver=none|
Pass Limit : 0:30:00

PTS=1800  MSI=0,2  LSM=0,12

show bucket
AA=1 A Steps =1   At=0,05

NB:from this first test bucket + PT all the values ​​will be calibrated

2013-12-26, 23:33:22
Reply #37

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
2° TEST  "in progress"

Method     : Bucket  + PT  |Secondary solver=none|
Pass Limit : 2


PTS=2200  MSI=0,2  LSM=0,37

show bucket
AA=2  ASteps =2   At=0,05

2013-12-27, 04:03:32
Reply #38

fobus

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 363
    • View Profile
Hi rafpug,

I think it's the same amount of noise with different techcnics as seen from your tests. In picture with progressive rendering (http://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php/topic,2306.msg17100.html#msg17100) done in 15 minutes I see noise is the same as in latest picture with bucketed rendering mode. But even this time is catastrophically huge if we keep in mind that it is only boxes without materials in this test scene. When we fill scene with real models and materials it will be veeery long to render with this settings. Can You try this settings on any of your real scenes with all 2500 lights from this test scene added?

Thank You for you testing,
Pavel

2013-12-27, 12:01:28
Reply #39

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
Hello fobus

It 'just a test to compare.
  The image refers to the link, you will remember that I changed the plan into segments 3x3 and density 4 .... otherwise    render showed greater noise.

In all cases, with the method set to "none" for both the Bucket for the Progressive, you have to pass more than 48 minutes to see a clean image.

The test is still to be finished... I have to compare some values ​​using the method Bucket/Progressive associated with Primary solver: Path tracing

Regard
Raf

2013-12-27, 20:10:48
Reply #40

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
" Remove Noise "

Test final

2013-12-27, 20:23:06
Reply #41

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
UI type : Devel/Debug     DEFAULT


2013-12-27, 20:37:35
Reply #42

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
1- Reduce/Remove noise  -  modification to UI type (see image)


2 - About the Random Sampler (see image) I leave the explanation to the staff in order to better understand what they mean 9 entries.

After several tests I preferred to use the "Alpha3 Emulation"

2013-12-27, 20:49:20
Reply #43

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
Fast rendering test

Max ray depth :25   Max normal.. : 0,55


Method     : Bucket  + PT |Secondary solver=none|
Pass Limit : 2


PTS=2200  MSI=0,2  LSM=0,37

show bucket
AA=1  Asteps =2   At=0,05


2013-12-27, 20:54:02
Reply #44

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
Medium level

Pass Limit : 4

show bucket
AA=1  Asteps =2   At=0,05