Author Topic: Distance Map Inside Color issue  (Read 810 times)

2019-01-10, 15:44:51

peakyfreak80

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
There seems to be a problem when using overlapping geometry and the CoronaDistance Map.  Where it overlaps, you get triangles of the "far" color.  Could anyone help with figuring out why this is happening and if there's a solution?

Images attached of the viewport geometry, settings, and the rendering.

2019-01-10, 15:54:17
Reply #1

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1489
    • View Profile
Sometimes, adding a chamfer modifier to the distance object helps with similar problems in the Distance Map. I've seen problems that were caused by overlapping meshes that I couldn't resolve, though. You may have to remodel overlapping objects to be one continuous geometry (or use boolean), this should help.

The Distance Map has a number of issues, this is only one of them. I'm planning to post an extensive problems/request thread about this map with the intention to get our beloved developers to make it more robust and flexible but didn't have the time to do so. Hopefully soon.

2019-01-10, 16:03:55
Reply #2

peakyfreak80

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Thanks, Pokoy.  I'll try the chamfer trick.  Unfortunately, the real geo I'm using is all procedural (a.k.a Railclone) so turning it into one piece of booleaned geometry wouldn't really be possible.

2019-01-10, 17:18:36
Reply #3

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1489
    • View Profile
Yeah, it's really frustrating. The Distance Map is a godsend when (ab)using it for road marks, unfortunately it's one of the cases where it reliably fails... Hope it can be fixed.

2019-01-16, 21:49:08
Reply #4

peakyfreak80

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
So I wasn't able to really 'solve' this problem and had to come up with a work around.  It does appear that it only happens when you have the "Inside Color" checked.  with that unchecked, anything that overlaps works exactly how you'd expect it to. Seems like a bug in the shader.

2019-01-17, 12:27:35
Reply #5

Alexandre Besson

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 103
  • http://www.alexandre-besson.com
    • View Profile
    • Alexandre Besson portfolio

2019-01-17, 13:37:36
Reply #6

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1067
    • View Profile

2019-01-17, 13:39:25
Reply #7

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1431
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
"Distance map issues" is on my most wanted fix/improvement list, so +1 :)


Good Luck


Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2019-01-18, 09:43:12
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9600
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
This is due to the imperfection of current inside detection method. We will do our best to improve it, but it may take a lot of time.
(internal note id=309726115)

2019-04-04, 09:46:00
Reply #9

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9600
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2019-10-10, 15:05:15
Reply #10

Aaron Quinn

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Just checking in, I have been following this issue for quite a while now.

Wanted to notify that this problem is still apparent in Corona 4.

2019-10-10, 15:07:25
Reply #11

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2968
    • View Profile
How about in the newest daily of Corona 5, as Marcin mentioned?