Author Topic: Corona Bitmap Preview Quality in viewport  (Read 2426 times)

2019-05-29, 11:59:17

petrorosengren

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Hello!

I cant get Corona Bitmap to increase in pixel quality in viewport, when changing the px value in native "Configure ViewPorts (texture map)".

It works fine with 3ds max bitmap.

I sometimes use this for drawings and quick sketches.

BR/

2019-08-14, 14:13:39
Reply #1

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 505
    • View Profile
Hi,

Which version of Corona and Max are you using?

This seems to be working fine for me in Max 2020 with the latest Corona daily build (2019-08-07)

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2019-11-05, 12:40:58
Reply #2

DPS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Yep same, max 2018.

So frustrating, something so basic.
Specs: AMD 1950X, Aorus Gaming 7 x399, 64GB RAM, 1080ti. Win10, Max 2017, Corona 1.7.3

2019-11-07, 17:54:37
Reply #3

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9228
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Tested with 2018, seems to work fine. We will need a better description. How exactly to reproduce this??
Adding screenshots with quality set to 128px and 1024px.

2019-11-07, 18:22:06
Reply #4

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3704
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Super easy to reproduce on my part, regardless of what viewport resolution is set (even 8k or 16k!) following happens on my 3dsMax 2016, Corona 5 installation:

- NativeBitmap is crystal clear
- CoronaBitmap is blurry, but to absurd level, like 1/8 of res.

Interestingly, if NativeBitmap is put under CoronaColorCorrect (or maybe other nodes too?) same happens, viewport shading is blurry.

Here is quick screenshot, I didn't do anything special, same map loaded into their respective bitmap loaders and the results show it all.

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2019-11-08, 10:33:37
Reply #5

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 505
    • View Profile
Hi Juraj,

I still can't reproduce this, can you send me a screenshot of your viewport configuration -> display performance tab please?

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2019-11-08, 10:43:38
Reply #6

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3704
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Sure, quite a mystery :- ).

Also, Windows 10, latest upgrade&update, 1080ti latest nVidia drivers, no software override (stocks settings).

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2019-11-08, 17:44:57
Reply #7

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9228
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Maybe it's some of the GPU driver features screwing around?
Here's what I'm using.

2019-11-08, 17:46:32
Reply #8

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3704
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Why would it apply differently between Native and Corona Bitmap loaders?

Since my GPU Driver settings are stock I would place the fault on Corona.

It's interesting though, I'll go test it as well.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2019-11-08, 19:22:09
Reply #9

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6018
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I tried it on max 2016 with default Nitrous direct3d 11 driver, texture map resolution in display performance settings is set to 4096 - the difference between bitmap and Corona bitmap can be seen, but it's very marginal, visible only when you zoom in close to 1:1 magnification. Interestingly enough, difference almost completely dissapears when i set interpolation to nearest neighbour, but then texture shifts very slightly in the viewport. Tested on JPG, PNG, TIFF, all 4096x4096 - no difference between formats.

Edit: GPU Nvidia 1060, drivers heavily outdated.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2019-11-08, 20:22:37
Reply #10

Juraj Talcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3704
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Same settings as Marus has in GeForce driver.

Do you guys have 4K or other HighDPi monitor, do you have scaling in Windows on?
This is not scene dependent, I opened empty scene. And it happens to native bitmap as well if I put it under CoronaCC node, but CoronaMix for example is ok.

This will be Corona related, not my windows setup. Max Native works well.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2019-11-11, 10:41:07
Reply #11

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 505
    • View Profile
Hi,

I have a 4k monitor with Windows scaling set to 150%.. Do you have a similar setup?

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2019-11-11, 11:52:04
Reply #12

SmurfN

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
can't contribute anything other then we have been having the same issue since forever and working around it by using max bitmap also.

2019-11-12, 11:31:07
Reply #13

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9228
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Max 2016.
I am afraid we will need a scene file from someone who is experiencing this. The uploader is in my signature. Let me know once the upload is done and what is the file name.

Also attaching my "rig" that can be used to test this.

(Internal ID=421751111)

2019-11-12, 11:44:30
Reply #14

Corona_GK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Hey, so I've tested this yesterday in 3ds max 2020. Upon increasing the view-port texture-map resolution above 4096 and using high res textures I got this result. I've integrated my results to your scene Maru!

Currently using a 6k resolution texture from RDT.