Author Topic: Does Corona allow a "reflection coating layer" now in layered mtl?  (Read 1837 times)

2019-06-18, 11:38:46

lllab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
hi

i wonder if Corona now in v4 allows for a coating reflection layer in the layered material?
so far i still see only a simple mask or slider for mixing one mtl with the others.

but it seem impossible to create some added reflection layer, like a clear painted wood or concrete etc

does this not work on corona or do i have to think this different?

thanks for help, i hope there is a way?

we try to port some materials from our vray libs to make them also for corona,
but the c4d corona mtl yet has some limits yet with layering materials maybe?

in v-ray the mtl opacity lets the mtl shine through to see the material below in blend shader, which is the expected result.
in (c4d) corona the base material gets also transparent, so an unwanted weird "mixed" material that is half transparent instead of layered/coated is the result.

thanks for help!:)
Stefan

p.s the more i try i guess this might be a bug? in case move the thread pls to bug section:)
« Last Edit: 2019-06-18, 12:52:18 by lllab »

2019-06-18, 13:14:56
Reply #1

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1322
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats

2019-06-18, 13:20:24
Reply #2

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1379
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hi Stefan!

If you think it's a bug, could you send a simple scene with the material attached?

Thanks

2019-06-18, 13:22:13
Reply #3

lllab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
i not want to make skin, but real world coated materials(painted or oiled wood, or concrete, for furniture, and so on).
skin mtl isnt really ideal for that i think

what makes a layer shader with 10 layers sense if it is not layering but mixing only?
it seems only missing that mtl opacity should respect the layering, which seems missing(bug or missing feature)

2019-06-18, 13:24:45
Reply #4

lllab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Hi Houska,

thanks,  yes i felt this must be a bug and not intentional.

here a simple file attached, hope this can be fixed soon in a daily version:)
play in the file with the material 1 opacity settings, you see it affects the full layered mtl, not just the layer1(as it should i think,  and as also the v-ray blend mtl works).

cheers
Stefan
« Last Edit: 2019-06-18, 13:36:16 by lllab »

2019-06-18, 13:38:02
Reply #5

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1379
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
I see... Try putting the materials onto the object stacked instead of using the layered material. Because layered material actually blends between the materials rather than stacking them.

2019-06-18, 14:04:45
Reply #6

lllab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
uhm thats very bad if not per 8single) material basis, then each object has to be setup extra etc? a painful workflow. and also not works for material libraries.
how ones saves and reuses such materials then?

why does the corona layer material not work like blend mats in vray and other apps?
i see no sense to mix the sub-materials opacity with the base material, neglecting the layering system

it would make the layer mtl really useful if- at least as option- one could have the opacity blend over the layer below.
as it would be in a real layers material too.
or like in photoshop etc.

many materials in real world need such coatings, and i see no way applying this so every single object with several stacked materials. in big scenes this is not a good way.
hope you understand this is a big workflow issue yet in corona.
« Last Edit: 2019-06-18, 14:22:11 by lllab »

2019-06-18, 15:00:53
Reply #7

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1379
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Well, this is just the way it works for now, even in the 3ds Max plugin. We might introduce a material that will be able to do clearcoat in one of the later versions of Corona, but until now you just have to use the stacking workaround. Sorry for that...

Oh, I almost forgot! What you can try is setting the diffuse to completely black and opacity to 100% on the "clearcoat material" and then mix that in the layered material. That should work too!

2019-06-18, 16:02:11
Reply #8

Gruender

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Cheers guys,

I use clearcoat material quite often and it is not that big of a deal.

There are two ways I set them up.

1. Stacked Material
     -Create your base material as you wish and apply it to your mesh
     -Create the clearcoat as followed:
          -disable diffuse and enable reflectance
          -set the IOR to 999
          -enable opacity and use the c4d fresnel shader in the texture slot, set the value to your liking (1.33-1.5 works in most cases for me)
     -apply your coat material to your mesh and make sure it sits after your base material (from left to right)

2. Layered Material
     -Create your base material as you wish
     -Create layered material and put your base material to the base material slot
     -Create the clearcoat as followed:
          -disable diffuse and enable reflectance
          -set the IOR to 999
     -put your clearcoat the layer1
     -use the c4d fresnel shader in the amount texture slot, set the value to your liking (1.33-1.5 works in most cases for me)

If something doesn't work, gimme a hint and I'll check it.

Cheers...

2019-06-25, 12:28:23
Reply #9

lllab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
"Oh, I almost forgot! What you can try is setting the diffuse to completely black and opacity to 100% on the "clearcoat material" and then mix that in the layered material. That should work too!"

"2. Layered Material
     -Create your base material as you wish
     -Create layered material and put your base material to the base material slot
     -Create the clearcoat as followed:
          -disable diffuse and enable reflectance
          -set the IOR to 999"

thx guys!
 this somehow works as work around, for some materials at least i guess:)
hope the other thing similr to vray blend gets added in future